And you don’t.
What do you do?
Let’s say the income will make the difference of a modest household to a household that can afford bells and jingles.
?
And is this kind of thing becoming a trend in the desi community?
And you don’t.
What do you do?
Let’s say the income will make the difference of a modest household to a household that can afford bells and jingles.
?
And is this kind of thing becoming a trend in the desi community?
Re: Your Husband Wants You To Work
It all depends what kind of life you want, i mean if you are fine with a modest middle class household and you dont have to work then thats awesome, but if you want a lil fancy lifestyle and branded clothes and annual vacations etc. then there are only 2 options, either you marry a guy with a 6 figure salary or work as well :D
P.S in the end i think it should be the girl`s choice, cuz as far as i am concerned i am responsible for the livelihood of my family and the expenses, luxury will inshaAllah come later.
can't answer the frst two questions ... but hte last one i think its not becoming a trend ... in all hte families i kno women are the ones who want these bells and jingles and wanna go work to get them ... men are usually happy with their modest house holds and housewives
it depends on how much of a financial help i can be. If it will greatly influence the well being of our children, or even our lives (not materialistically... more realistically), than why not?
akhir parha likha kisleeye hai?
also depends on what kinda job he recommends
huh? why would he recommend the job? shouldn't the woman know what kinda job she wants or is suited for especially if she's educated..
^ not always.... and what harm does guidance do?
guess depends on what stage of her career she's at... anyone who has a professional degree and has worked for a few years should have a pretty good idea of what kinda job he/she wants...
no1 should be forced to work if hubby is struggling then mrs should help um out
^ yeah... but lets say, ur off on maternity leave, and before u went on leave, u were a pretty technical person... a developer lets say... once ur back, ur just not feeling the motivation... hence some good sound advice from the hubz might come in handy....
who says that educated and professional people dont need good advice now and then? why else would u marry an equally intelligent (if not more) person?
If i wanted a fancy lifestyle i wudnt marry a guy that cudnt provide it me. However if i didnt want it and then decided i did want it, then it wud be up to ME to work. Not nag my husband. Otherwise i wud be on GS with a thread 'my husband divorced me bcoz i wanted gucci shoes' hhhmmm....
y shudnt women be expected to work the same way men are expected ?
on one hand you ramble on about equal rights, then you on the other hand you wanna live in pre-historic times and receive preferential treatment solely based on your gender
PCG, whats with so many opinion poll type posts?
y shudnt women be expected to work the same way men are expected ?
on one hand you ramble on about equal rights, then you on the other hand you wanna live in pre-historic times and receive preferential treatment solely based on your gender
by that argument, i guess u would then expect men to do an equal amount at home too then?
women shouldnt be expected to work... but when a need arises, or if she wishes to, then she shouldn't be condemned for it.
Equality aint about doing the same as men or watever, its about having a choice.
Are men expected to go home and cook a meal and bathe their children before bed? or is that just a duty a women/mum needs to fulfil regardless of the fact she works or doesnt?
I have no issue doing such tasks.. but have issues with ur thought process
Well first thing would be to talk about it and discuss it. What suits one couple, does not necessarily suit the next Farida/Khalid.
Sometimes it is not just about the financial aspect but helping to keep the spouse more active, occupied and independent. It does not necessarily have to be a taxing job but something which keeps the spouse away from doing chores day in and day out.
^ i agree. when i was younger i used to think womens work aint even hard. (housework) as i grew up oh my was i wrong. Hav you ever cleaned the house top to bottom? cooked a full meal? cleaned up the whole kitchen? Its hard work let me tell you.
^ its not really... seriously
Physically housework can be exhausting and hard work but I think keeping the mind stimulated is just as important as is maintaining a home.
^ its not really... seriously
Really? i guess it depends how big the house is tbh.
But whatever
^ i guess so.
All im saying is, if ur at home and if thats all ur doing, it shouldnt be THAT hard.
Looking after a home is a responsbility that doesint require too much brain power.. maybe a little just to get urself organised... if u had said, looking after a kid is hard.. i would have saluted u right there and then.
^ I dont have kid maybe thats why i didnt say it.