Re: Dr. Shaista
lolz......okay Mr Mature.
I don't understand why is it so wrong for doctors to charge money to see the patient?
And the reason why good doctors charge more is because they have so much qualification. They spend their whole lives studying and passing more and more exams and in the end they DESERVE money for all their hard work.
A specialist at AKU charges Rs.800 per visit. An average salon for women in karachi/lahore these days is costing about Rs1000 for haircut! I hear people spending a few lakhs atleast on their weddings. All those things are worth spending money on but a doctor doesn't deserve money. how fair is that?
whoever is calling doctor a greedy qasaai is clearly not in touch with reality.
Okay after reading your post I feel I'm not in touch with reality. Happy?
In Pakistan or in South Asian families people become doctors for money these days, she's probably getting more money than a normal doctor and also the fame so why should she bother working in some hospital?
Waisay bhi in Pak aaj kal kay doctors doctors nahi, kasai hain.
People become engineers, lawyers, accountants, architects, or businessmen ALSO for money. Everyone chooses their profession to earn MONEY. Thats whats keeping us alive and the world moving forward.
Yes, reality check is what you need and maybe a short course in economics to learn about supply/demand and prices.
I'm not teaching my kids so that they can earn more money. May be you should learn that there's something called "liberal arts".
It's God that keeps us alive and the world moving forward. :)
Oh yeah money is evil. If you didn't have money, how would you buy a computer, pay for your internet connection and post on GS?
If people weren't working for money, they wouldn't work. DUH!
Oh yeah money is evil. If you didn't have money, how would you buy a computer, pay for your internet connection and post on GS? If people weren't working for money, they wouldn't work. DUH!
I didn't say money is evil but getting education only so you can earn more money is something not ethical.
I don't agree that people wouldn't be working if it wasn't for money because then there wouldn't be any humanitarians and volunteer workers. So yeah, there are better people than me and you out there.
Besides, the richest people in the world are not employees of some hospital or engineering company. So the desi thinking of becoming doctors and engineers to earn more money is rotten.
Dr Shaista ka hitchkiaaan lai lai ker bura haal ho gaya ho ga aab tak ...cut it off guys :)
…Its not about the lady any more…
Its some people’s incessant need to have themselves and their point of views imposed on others as to be 101% correct…!!
hmm..logo..jo kehna hai keh lo jaldi jaldi..I can see this thread being locked soon ! :D
She looks like a radi doctor to me who manage to pass by cheating and ratofying which then gets erased as soon as they get out of the examination hall...but still put Dr. in front of their names just to impress people and fake their intelligence she doesn't seem smart nor intelligent nor does she even know much about her own area of study...
I HATE HER TOO, a complete twit and did you see her presenting skills with kareena, she was almost drooling and asking silly questions and what happened to her salwar kamiz attire she normally wears, when it came to interviewing kareena, she was wearing some silly dress,KAREENA was wearing the salwar kamiz..lol....
she copies nadia khan to the hilt, even programmes her toilet breaks makes sure shes doing a number 2 same time as nadia...
sick annoying woman..
Ok, so it is clear from people who are posting with experience and know-how of the field in Pakistan specifically, that medicine isn't as lucrative as people make it sound.
However, is it not true that a lot of girls go and get their MBBS with the family's intention being that she'll fetch better rishtas? And then when that rishta is fetched and consummated, there is no further need to actually practice the knowledge you reaped in medical school? Is that actually fair to the system? Is it fair to the rest of you guys who when you get sick in Pakistan, you have to wait in a long line to see a doctor or get a procedure done or you are charged an arm and a leg for it, or if you want to see a female doc, it might be difficult, because they all friggin' got married and are making pakoray for their fat arse hubbies and MIL's?
I HATE HER TOO, a complete twit and did you see her presenting skills with kareena, she was almost drooling and asking silly questions and what happened to her salwar kamiz attire she normally wears, when it came to interviewing kareena, she was wearing some silly dress,KAREENA was wearing the salwar kamiz..lol....
she copies nadia khan to the hilt, even programmes her toilet breaks makes sure shes doing a number 2 same time as nadia...
sick annoying woman..
*wow...another dr shaista super hater! *
However, is it not true that a lot of girls go and get their MBBS with the family's intention being that she'll fetch better rishtas?
maybe some parents have that in mind...I haven't come across any such people yet...
But landing an admission into a professional college...be it medicine or any other field ...requires brains...!!
and then to sail through college again needs brains...
so it actually isn't that easy to just wake up one morning...decide to spend some good $$ and some good 5 plus years just so that awww we will get a super duper rishta....
There are girls,working professional jobs,earning great money,in their 30's and still not married..so why do you think they were never able to 'fetch' rishtas...??
Or what about people who want professional bahus for their sons and then request her not to work after marriage...??
You just cant blame a girl gone to med school or her parents for that....now can you...??
There is a lot more to the 'rishta' process than just having 'I went to medical school' on your 'rishta CV'...
i would have to agree with PCG, roughly 70% of the females in my husband's graduating class are mothers of 1-2 children, and never even bothered to take usmles..the ones who remained in pak are all married...ie not working.
its sad..because pak govt partially pays for the students' "seats" in med school..and all that govt money goes to waste. Instead the 'seats' should be given to those pakistanis who will stay in the country and practice medicine.
sick annoying woman..
hey nadz is back
Ok, so it is clear from people who are posting with experience and know-how of the field in Pakistan specifically, that medicine isn't as lucrative as people make it sound.
However, is it not true that a lot of girls go and get their MBBS with the family's intention being that she'll fetch better rishtas? And then when that rishta is fetched and consummated, there is no further need to actually practice the knowledge you reaped in medical school? Is that actually fair to the system? Is it fair to the rest of you guys who when you get sick in Pakistan, you have to wait in a long line to see a doctor or get a procedure done or you are charged an arm and a leg for it, or if you want to see a female doc, it might be difficult, because they all friggin' got married and are making pakoray for their fat arse hubbies and MIL's?
It's very obvious that you didn't bother reading any of the previous posts but had the urge to post something so ridiculous like this.
You keep mentioning how it's so bad that girls aren't practicing medicine and theres a shortage of women doctors! How many times do I have to keep repeating that the shortage of doctors is in rural areas NOT in the cities. How many highly skilled highly qualified male doctors practice in villages and rural areas?Why would anyone want to live without running water or electricity be it man or woman?
The long lines you just mentioned are seen only in govt hospitals not in hte private ones*.* Wanna know why? Surprisingly enough,** it's NOT because theres not that many women practicing, it's because govt CANNOT hire so many doctors since their budget is so tight.** They hire less doctors, hence the long lines.
If you walk in to any private clinic and hospital in the major cities of pakistan, you can see a highly qualified doctor right there and then. Thers NO long lines! Have you ever even been to a hospital here?
And who the hell is charging an arm and a leg here? I had my surgery done few months ago for about Rs25,000. Thats less than $300! In US, the same surgery would have costed atleast $2000. Thats how cheap healthcare is in pakistan. It's still unaffordable by a vast majority of pakistanis but whos fault is that? It has nothign to do with women not practicing.
FYI, it's not hard at all to see women doctors here. As a matter of fact, theres barely any male ob/gyn in pakistan. Most are females! I have never heard a woman complain that she didn't get to see a female doctor. Yes in remote villages it's hard to see a doctor all together, forget male or female.