Dr. Shaista

I hate her.

Here is why:

She should not be called DOCTOR Shaista. She’s not practicing. She used up a medical degree for status purposes and is now running a friggin talk show, aur woh bhi, simply a ripoff of Nadia’s show, on a TV channel.

That’s not what you do after you go to medical school.

The reason why I raise this issue in this forum, is because I’m seeing an increasing number of girls go into the medical field - they go through medical school, and the parents think its some joke. Like, ok, lets make our daughter into a doctor, so she gets better rishtas, and then when she gets a rishta from a high-hitter, she can withdraw from medicine and sit at home. LOTS of girls now sitting at home, who at one point were in medical school.

Do they deserve to be addressed as “doctor”??? They don’t practice. This woman doesn’t even friggin run a show that’s health related. She runs a show that (oh wait, she doesn’t even RUN it, because she isn’t directing or producing it), that banks on interviews with Meera to survive.

I don’t understand. Why do we as a community give these phonies any respect?

Re: Dr. Shaista

You are just jealous of her called doctor and that she is famous :D

I think if someone put enough effort to go through a medical school or may be a Phd. program then they deserves every bit of it and no harm calling them Doctor .

But she's not practicing, and has no qualms about it. She is so friggin HAPPY about her decision to be a show host as oppose to actually practicing what she's learned to help people.

Reason why this really angers me, is that Pakistan has a huge healthcare crisis (along with a crisis in nearly every other civil department), and they're running low on numbers of doctors. First off, you have a limited number of seats and getting into a school is competetive. Then on top of it, many people leave the country. On top of that, the trend is that girls end up getting married and the in-laws make her (or she chooses to) drop the career.

It happened to a cousin of mine- she got married, and after 6 months, hubby told her "no more".

I mean, WTH. What kind of society does this to people??

And do you really need the "doctor" title to get a high-hitter rishta?

What fazooliat. You should go to med school because you want to be a doctor and you want to practice medicine. Not so that you can enhance your rishta CV.

I hate her because she is annoying in general. Whenever I see her shows I am hurling bad stuff at her.

and on the flip side why women go nuts over a male doctor's rishta ?? :D

I think if it is true for one side then it must be true for other side too . Yes I do agree that a lot of girls do get their medicine degree because of rishta issue but a huge number do practice it even before and after getting married . Its really hard to realize people's intention before they get into medical school . For this same reason in Pakistan they use to have the quota system between male and female students in medical schools . Now I think if you don't practice it , then you have to return like 3 lac rupees .

Btw on the same note I also have friends who are doctors and engineers and end up doing CSS and end up working for government offices .

what is CSS?

Chaloo Shaanpatti n Showbaazi!

What is shanpatti?

Central Superior Services Examination

WTH is that?

This is also a useful link . w w w . g o o g l e . c o m

It's a Mumbaiya term for over-acting and attention seeking!

i like her sooo much..she is so graceful :D...and very gracefully runz the show...to practice or not to practice is her own very choice..but the work she is doing is great :)

I quite enjoy her show. It's a lot better than Nadia Khan, and she is classier too.

but I do agree with the whole doctor thing. I'm sorry, but it seems like a joke to become a doctor in Pakistan. Like what's the point if you aren't going to practice?

Do doctor's in Pakistan go through the same rigorous training doctors in North America have to go through? Just curious.

Oh ok thanks Gulnar!

I'm not really sure how rigorous the training is - I do know that many folks educated in Pakistan have a hard time passing their step exams here and some have to try multiple times. Maybe that's a reflection of the training there, or maybe its more of a language barrier? Regardless, the Indian candidates have a way easier time, so maybe there is some level of quality improvement that can be accomplished in Pakistani medical schools.

It also varies by which med school you're talking about. Aga Khan's program is good, and they try hard to minimize this problem with desi girl's scapegoating out of the program because of marriage issues.

You can screen as much as you want, but fact is, that today, the candidate will tell you in her interview that she is committed to the field, and then later will renig and withdraw from med school, because MIL wants her to sit at home and make daal-roti. It happens often.

What disgusts me about this woman, is that she is upper-middle class, and as she is working, clearly her inlaws didn't pull her out on accords of sitting at home taking care of kids.

She chose to get a medical degree, then chose not to practice it, and we are still calling her a doctor? For what? She's not practicing and she made it a total joke to go to medical school. So that she can sit on a public TV show and be referred to as Doctor in every other sentence?

Do you guys not see that as sick?

I feel like throwing a rock at the screen every time she is on, and I hate it when my parents watch her show - I'm like....comon...she gives hard working female doctors a bad rep.

If you feel so strongly about it then why do you even bother to watch the show...??
Just dont watch it..!!
You wont feel this bad then...:)

I agree that many girls give up medicine after marriage for various reasons.But you need to get the facts straight about medical graduates from Pakistan not getting through the licensing exams easily...

Cheers...:)

Do you have the numbers on how many pass Step 1 in terms of foreign med grads and how many land into competetive residencies compared to american graduates? I assure you, american grads do better on the exams.

Not because the training may be bad. Maybe the exams are skewed more towards the understanding of what an american grad experiences in their clinical training, vs. what you see in other countries. Treatments and management depends on resources, so Pakistanis may answer the questions differently based on how medicine is practiced in a developing country.

you were not comparing AMG's vs IMG"s....!!
You were comparing Pakistani vs. Indian graduates...

I never said that IMG's do better than AMG's because I know my facts very well...:)

Indian vs. Pakistani - that's based on personal experience and seeing the sheer numbers of practicing Indian grads today compared to practicing Pakistani grads.

It would be interesting to see the numbers. I seriously do think a higher percent of Indians pass compared to Pakistanis, but then again, like I'm saying, the culture of Pakistani female med grads of not practicing after marriage is fairly popular. I can't tell you how many girls I know who were brought over from Pakistan, married to men raised here, and they gave up their career - they didn't even bother taking step exams here because they knew their role has now changed into that of a sole caregiver to their families.

Going back to the question - is that FAIR?

I wish women were better screened in Pakistani med schools.

Paying back 3 lac is an interesting concept, but how many of them really pay it back? Once they go abroad and live with their husbands, how many of them are able to default on that agreement?