Dr. Shaista

Peace tammy8604

1) You know nothing about me
2) Did I exclude myself from the condition?
3) I did not study medicine, nor did I study to become a teacher
4) Why are you making my general statement in to a specific issue?
5) You did not address my observation as true or false ... did what I say offend you because I was wrong or did it offend because it has truth to it?

May Allah (SWT) give us tawfiq to do more for the poor and give them better chances in life ... Ameen.

yes but you did make this specific accusation for ALL all doctors and clumped them under one category of greedy opportunists, without really factoring in any other conditions. you know nothing about their specific circumstances either.

Ameen to your dua.

I know nothing about you, but it was you who first suggested that doctors should work in rural areas and serve humanity. So I simply asked you if you are willing to live in such an area yourself?
Just because you didn't study medicine or took teaching courses doesn't mean you can't do anythign in rural areas. You don't need any credentials to become a teacher for rural areas as long as you can read and write. Thats more than enough.
I keep hearing people bashing doctors for not helping the mankind and being selfish. If the comment comes from someone who is himself volunteering in some remote village then its still justified. but people who are sitting online and posting on forums are defintly not one of them.

Re: Dr. Shaista

^I thought this thread was about some Dr. Shaista. Whats going on here?

I said,
"People become doctors to be affluent these days ... **Fewer people* are practicing for a desire to treat mankind which comes above everything else that the title brings"*

how does fewer people mean all? My comment was on the trends.

^ what 'trends' are you quoting? I was referring to this part

People become doctors to be affluent these days ...

pretty simplistic approach. read my post on the last page to have a better idea of what I'm talking about regarding generalizations.

^ The important thing to note here PatriotX is that neither you nor I are wrong. The reasons are clear as you describe them and I do not contest them. I made an observation and you are not contesting that ...

In reality we are disagreeing whether these things are considered "inherently good" or "inherently necessary/natural"

I believe it is a greater moral act to do things selflessly and to be a doctor is or according to me a sign of ones committment to people, the best of whom are selfless. My observation was not a stab at doctors rather it is a stab at the whole of society of which I too am a part of and doctors too are part of it.

Sometimes we need to remind ourselves of our own shortfalls

My point is that a doctor does not have to work for free. He/she deserves to get paid for their services just like every other person in every other profession.
It's just unfair when people try to make them feel guilty and remind them that they are supposed to be working for humanity!

^ exactly.
What I see in this thread is US/UK born people critisizing Pakistani medical eduaction and personal choices of doctors. They for the most part have no clue about Pakistan and its institutions but they pretend to be the experts. Pakistan do not have a health crisis because some female doctors do not practice or some male doctors prefer to go abroad. Pakistan does not have a sufficent health budget just as it does not have an education budget. People who have money can get the best treatment and poor go to the Govt run hospitals. And for the last time not every one does every thing for Rishta purpose. Stop obsessing.

I clearly missed a lot.

wow 6 pages discussion on Dr. Shaista :k:

btw i do not dislike her neither like her very much. I liked her dresses in two shows that i watched by chance.

We do not know why she didnt or coudnt continue with her career, so on what basis we are critisizing her?

I could only read few posts in this thread n saw ppl saying that Pakis and Indians could not pass step exams (whatever they are ) in US… well how about US graduated doctors passing any exams in Pak or India? is there any system like that for US students too ? If we do not have the data of those US students appearing in exams outside US, how can we even start comparing US vs Pak/Indian students? :hmmm:

and oh yes let me tell u that, in Pak the doctors really face a lot more tough and hard training compared to may be any other country. Reason being high rate of accidents, many suicides atempts, murders every day, rapes, more ppl felling sick due to low health n hygiene awareness, high birth rate and now days these bomb blasts and terrorism. Dont u think these doctors are on their toes 24/7 and they happen to see and deal with cases which normally in peaceful and secured countries like US wont see generally ????? Sit with a young doctor and ask him/her experiences he/she goes thru her **first **yr of house job and then compare them with yours.

To know it you need to go thru it.

***I just U-tubed her…She is one Beautiful Lady !

Loved her clothes :wub:

Doctor or No Doctor she would stand out ! ***

A doctor at any post,even a head of a hospital department is virtually offering free services to any patient he sees and cures while being paid minimally and working for long duty hours. None of them are guilty of not SERVING the mankind as per their profession's requirement. Anyways,I feel like adding my two cents to almost every post here because being a non practicing female doctor in pakistan and totally relating to the topic, I have a LOT to add but I am seeing that it is totally useless since it is funny to see that MOST of the active posters here in this thread know nothing about the situation and the healthcare system in pakistan, neither they are doctors themselves. They are just behaving like general public criticising a movie or an organization or a sports match on basis of their own judgement and WHAT THEY THINK SHOULD BE DONE instead of seeing it from what is actually happening around there.

Tammy: tum KAHAN sir khapaa rahi ho yaar ! :D

^ hahaha yes its very much sir khapana in this thread but I take it as a pesonal attack when people blame non practicng doctors as part of the the cause of health care crisis which they clearly know nothing about.

who cares

I understand how you feel but since you're still in med school,you are more sensitive to this issue. Time kay saath immunized ho jao gi :D

In Pakistan or in South Asian families people become doctors for money these days, she's probably getting more money than a normal doctor and also the fame so why should she bother working in some hospital?

Waisay bhi in Pak aaj kal kay doctors doctors nahi, kasai hain.

Actually, doctors in pakistan are greedy in general, there's this famous doctor in Sir Ganga Ram hospital who has his own private clinic opened in his house in Garden Town.

He doesn't pay any attention to his patients in the Government's Hospital because they're not paying him any fee but he's still getting a good salary from government, he tells his patients to come to his clinic where he can charge them a heavy amount of money. This is the case with most of them.

The medical profession is so lucky to not have some of you as a part of it...!!!!

Isn't it as simple as anything to not pass judgment/comments about something you dont know anything about...??...
like why is there a health care crises in Pakistan...??
Or generalizing by saying that all doctors in Pakistan are generally greedy and work like 'kisaaii'....?!?!...

There are 6 pages of pakistani doctor bashing going on here so obviously every one is having fun...
Happy bashing..!!!!!
and I hope none of you ever has to go to a Pakistani doctor ,ever...!!