WHO will SIT on front seat......

Re: WHO will SIT on front seat......

hmmmmmmm, you are lucky if this is the ONLY problem you are having with your MIL!!!

Look at it this way, at least you two can sit in the same car and come back home in one piece! :D

Dude ya wouldn’t be saying this if u were talking bout ur parents. big deal if a parent sits wiv their child :smokin:

May be I am not understanding the problem because I am not a girl, but I'll imagine for a second that I was a girl (:D). I would make a big deal out of it if I was going to hold hands or make out with my spouse while on the front seat when the parents are present in the car.

I mean at least you are in the same car, as JL said, and I wouldn't care if I am not in the front seat because I can talk from the back seat and front seat passengers can hear me and respond. Let's not be typical desis and make it an issue of prestige. What difference does it make whether you are in the front seat or the back seat?

When you have kids, you'll be sitting in the back seat any way to be with the kid, then what? I just don't see it as a big deal.

now I have finished imaging being a girl and I am back to being a guy

Re: WHO will SIT on front seat…

Sitting in the backseat has a lot of safety benefits… think positive. :smiley:

What you can do is damage the seat belt… that will surely make her rethink about sitting in the front seat. :hehe:

*apni jaan kis ko pyaari nahi hoti? *

yep, I agree, it shouldn't be made into a matter of prestige or ego. It's really not that big of a deal, i wouldn't make an issue out of it, even if it bothered me, but unfortunately women are just possessive creatures :p.

I am saying this generally, but I feel for the guy who is stuck between his mom and wife. It's not easy to create that balance, and make them BOTH feel important at the SAME time!

I know some MILs are very possessive about their sons and feel that because they raised them it’s their right to enjoy the fruits of their labor in all possible ways. Sitting in front gives them a feeling of ownership and superiority. I wonder how they’d feel if their MILs were sitting with their hubbies in the front seat… hmmm.

However, she may not even realize that this can be considered an issue so perhaps her intentions are not to hurt you at all. Just a matter of habit.

I often volunteer that my MIL sit in the front, sometimes she agrees sometimes she prefers to sit at the back.

Anyhoo, I think if this has become bothersome, talk to your hubby and tell him that you enjoy sitting with him and would like a few opportunities if not all (:bummer:) as you don’t want to start a conflict or put him in an awkward situation either. Maybe he can tell her some day that he’d like his wife to sit in front…

Meanwhile, don’t worry. Remember little things affect little minds. And though this is truly a crazy situation, become bigger than the problem and let it go.

I know it’s easier said than done!

yea kehna asan he karna muskil
jab koi is problem me hoga tab me puchungi keh kesa laga
aur specially jo itne larke yahan bol rahe hain unchi unchi batein

Yesterday we were invited at a family's place. My brothers and I left in my car because we had to stop at a bakery to buy a cake. My parents, wife, and sister left after us in their SUV to meet us at the bakery. When we met in the parking lot, I didn't ask my wife to get out of their SUV and sit with me in my nor did she ask them to hang on because she had to join me.

Before going to the family's house, we went out for lunch. My parents were going to sit in their SUV with brothers and sister. My wife asked me to ask my parents to come sit with us in the car and I did. She was going to let my dad sit in the front while she was going to sit with my mom in the back. However**, **my mother asked my wife to sit in the front with me even after mrs. insisted that it's okay, she'll sit in the back.

And this is not because we don't live with our family. We used to live with them for 1.5 years and most of the times my wife would volunteer to sit in the back because it freaking does not matter. Most of the times she would sit in the back with mom because dad was sitting in the front. but if it's only me, my wife, and and my mother going somewhere, then my wife always insisted that my mother would sit in the front with me. Mrs. would sit in the car in the back seat so that mom has no choice but to sit in the front.

It all depend son the GIRL how she takes this "problem", whether she takes it to heart or not make a big deal out of it.

So I am not just saying "oonchi oonchi baatein", I am speaking from personal experience.

^good for you. THEY chose to do this. One of the sons stayed in the family home they could have stayed 100% with 1 son and daughter in law at home but they chose to spend time with ALL their sons. That way they got to be part of all their children's lives and spend time with all their grandchildren. While also never being a total burden on 1 family.
Living in a different country from their home, I'm unbelievably grateful that they did this, otherwise I would have only seen them a few brief times before they passed away and would have barely known them.

If all you can do is compare this to some stupid bollywood movie then i feel sorry for you.

:biggthumb…:k:

Wow geez woman .. how abt u relax a lil bit! I said ON PAPER not tht it was in real.. Yes on paper it does not sound good to live at different places all together and not have a basic home, I would def. not wanna have such life and if you cant see tht point of view, then I feel sorry for you!:halo:

how about you stop being so materialistic?
they had a ‘basic’ home, they just chose not to stay there all the time. and anyway, i’m sure they would have seen all their son’s homes and ‘their own homes’ too since that would be their right as parents. when all your kids are grown up, married with children and you have accepted the fact that you are going to kick the bucket sooner or later you won’t care to keep a house. hopefully you will care more about spending time with all your children.

ur mom asked ur wife to sit infront ..SEEE then how can u get my problem haan.i have never been asked to sit at front.my point was that if my MIL sits with his hubby ,then she should also give me chance to sit in front.but i think thats life MIL and DIL cant accept eacthother ,atleast 80% i guess.

If this is your biggest problem in life, you are one lucky person.

I always thought that tractor is best family transport :chai:

Somehow i don't think this is her only problem, hence that's why she's complaining. i'd give the thread-starter more credit than most of u are giving......

You know what, next time just say, "Aap aage bet jaye." You're letting her sit there, but you're also the one giving permission. That might send the message that you are being polite but in control.

^if the MIL is samjhdaar, she will understand and create more probs :bummer:

But it’s a great idea :slight_smile:

Nazoo, I understand your problem and I completely agree that her asking you to get out and go sit in the back was COMPLETELY WRONG. Yes my mom sometimes asks my wife to sit in the front but look at the other times when my wife insists that my mother sits in the front and she will sit in the back herself :)

What I am trying to say is that there are bigger issues that women have with their MIL. It is up to you whether you let this minor thing bother you.....OR.....you choose to ignore it. I would say simply ignore it, it will make YOUR life better. If there are other major problems, don't ignore them and raise your concern. So in this case if you think of this (sitting in the front) as something minior and you CHOOSE to let your MIL sit in the front, it won't bother you that much. Since my wife CHOOSES to offer the front seat to my mom, it doesn't bother her because she's not asked to sit in the back. Preemptive strike (offer the front seat to her before it's taken away from you) is the best option here, in my opinion.

In our desi culture, parents see it as "respect" when it comes to who sits in the front. I bet if your husband, his mother, and father were going somewhere and your husband was driving, your MIL will let your FIL sit in the front seat. It's all about "respect". Do I agree with that thinking? No I don't. But is that how it goes for most desi families? Unfortunately yes.

BINGO!

Sorry I didn't read this reply before typing my long post, but this is exactly what I am saying. If you choose to offer the seat yourself, then you are LETTING her have the seat, as opposed to HAVING THE SEAT TAKEN AWAY.