What should I do?

Re: What should I do?

We could've done that but we know how she is. She'll say ok but later still do what she wants to do because no one can say anything to her. My husband has had this conversation with them before but nothing ever changed. Actually, she tends to create more drama when my husband says anything to her. I've never talked to her about anything and I doubt that I will. She takes everything negatively. Even if I tell her to pour milk in the chai because I have to go to the bathroom, she replies saying stuff like that she's not my maid and I shouldn't even THINK of telling her to do that....when the chai is for HER! So yeah, that's how negative she is.

She's only going for 8-9 days, so there's no welcome party for her but hubby already told her we'll have another party with OUR friends, aunties/uncles too but no, she wants this one! From what I know if I tell her I'll have another one when she comes back with my friends ONLY too, she'll still want to be present in this one! I have no clue what she thinks! Hubby already knows how she is but of course can't say anything at all and never has.

Agree with Peony. You aren't doing anything wrong by inviting your friends over, and shouldn't feel guilty about it. Tell your MIL politely that the party will go ahead as planned. If your MIL REALLY wants to meet the friend (who's moving to another state), you can always arrange another meeting, maybe simple chai & snacks at home or a meal outside.

Hubby even offered her that but nope, she wants nothing going on in this house when she's gone. Btw, my BIL will still be here. He's not married and currently staying with us. Also, the friend that I'm throwing this party for has never met my MIL, so I don't think MIL cares about "meeting" her before she leaves. It's not about my friends, it's about me and how she wants a reason to humiliate me in front of others.

some posters.. seriously have you guys ever read her previous threads?

What should I do?

Sigh unfortunately sweety, there's no right or wrong answer here. It comes down to you having a conversation with your husband, making a decision and living with it. I feel for you but I also feel you are keeping yourself in this mess by letting her have power over you. No one but yourself is at fault, but I'm not going to beat you down about it because I know how hard it can be too, but to me that's no excuse for you or your family to not have intervened and allow for you to live your own life just a little. This woman needs a hard awakening but all I can say is may god reward you for your patience because I don't think any amount of advice will make you change your approach.

Hmm slowly convince your hubby to give you sole ownership of the house you are currently living in, find a job which pays outside the house, and also make it clear to your hubby that while he is their child and is welcome to put up with his parents controlling behaviour you are a human with self respect. I am not well versed with the legal system but if she's calling you bad names and taunting you repeatedly can't you threaten to make a case of long term emotional abuse with the local imam or court, I know this is extreme but sometimes a mild threat like this can work wonders.

Oh I know what you mean, and you are right. But I meant more for people who are calling OP mean and making her sound bad because she doesn't want her MIL there - well, haven't we all at some point want to just spend time with our friends? What's so wrong in that? Elders also have their elderly get togethers. Kids have theirs. So why can't the OP? Just because you are not including your MIL in ONE event, which you want just to be that of friends, doesn't make you evil. Esp when in OP's case her MIL is....well, crazy doesn't even begin to explain. But anyway, so that's where I was coming from.

Your situation really does suck :(

If you dont want to handle all the drama that follows having a party at your home (considering your BIL will be there to witness it), then how about you have a party outside the home... how about a BBQ/ picnic in some nice park. Prepare the food at home and enjoy it with your friends outside.

And stop making her tea, stop washing/ ironing her clothes, stop picking up after them. Do what needs doing and go to your room (and lock it from the inside).

She'll scream and cry and if she/ anyone else confronts you about it then tell them its not farz on you to serve her. Yes she'll come out with maa-baap ka darja etc etc, but tell her politely that she's not your mum, so all that really applies to their son.

If she swears at you, quote the verse from the Quran that tells you not to.

If she screams at you for leaving the house to check the mail (!!!), let her.... smile on your way back into the house and ignore the rest.

She'll eventually (iA) get tired of being mean given her "old age"

You being a good submissive bahu has got you nowhere, so dont you think its about time you started living for yourself? (and dond pay heed to what makes the rounds in your community, just live your life).

Also, if you get time offer namaz-e-haajat. It really helps.

Do you think she would actually go ahead and call everyone you've invited and tell them the party's cancelled? If she really wanted to do that, how feasible would it be? Does she know who's on the guest list? If you think that's a possibility, like others have suggested you could just call or email the guests and let them know she'll do something like that but disregard it. From your other posts, I assume this wouldn't be a surprise to most if not all of them and with your little confirmation, it shouldn't really cause much confusion either.

What he/she said. I'm all for respecting parents and all that. But this type of interference from her part is unacceptable. As far as the MIL having to accompany you to leave the house and all that stuff, is it imposed by the in-laws or the husband? If it's by the in-laws, then I suggest you start standing your ground. You have a duty towards your husband, but not the in-laws. So for the topic at hand, I suggest you go ahead with your party. You don't need to bring up the topic, especially in front of your MIL anymore. That might avoid some immediate drama. When she goes, have it as planned.

Exactly I totally agree. When I get to that age I sure as hell don't want to be called old. As they say 40 is the new 30, 50 is the new 40 and so on. She is young enough to have her own friends and a social circle that she shouldn't need the feel to always tag along with her DIL. Or maybe THAT is the problem. She feels young enough that she thinks she can "hangout" with her DIL;s friends. Whatever it is, I really think BusyBee she should speak up this time. Obviously don't be disrespectful but you are an adult and you can make your own decisions without having to always wait for an "ok" from the MIL.

look how she speaks about her mil .. " i told my husband to get the adults thier own party so we can 'deal with her' " .. its always im so nice im so sweet i never did anything i never talked back its all 100 % her that is bad and evil and i am 100% innocent .. please the way you refer to her you are not as good day as you are making yourself seem .. those mellow types of dils who take everything and dont say a peep dont talk crap about their pils and refer to them the way you have. nobody is dumb here.

This house is in my hubby's and my name. Hubby also bought them a separate house which is in my hubby's name but they don't live there even though it's bigger than our house. They come to stay for 9-10 months and their house is locked! Their "excuse" is that they're getting old and MIL can't handle all the housework alone and wants to stay with her kids. BUT, she doesn't stay more than a week with any of her other sons or her daughter, just us. Even the other sons and daughter come to stay with us since MIL/FIL are here. I didn't threaten her but a couple years ago we all did have a meeting with a Mufti because that's the advice hubby got from our local imaam. Mufti sahab advised to give me a separate house and told MIL to not interfere and all that good stuff. She agreed but only for a month may be. Then again, she went back to her behavior. I can't threaten anything because hubby won't like it either no matter how bad his parents are. He already tells me to ignore and all that, even though he knows how they treat me.

It's not about having it at home or outside, the main thing is she doesn't want me to enjoy alone with my friends. She needs a reason to embarrass me or humiliate me. Last night hubby told me to cancel the party and have someone else have it at another friend's house so we can tell MIL that we were invited and we didn't THROW the party. He just casually told MIL oh we will cancel the party but another one will have it at their place, and she's like "khabardaar mere bagair kisi dawat mein gaye to, jaan nikaal dungi tumhari". And of course there'll be other girls whose parents/in-laws MIL knows, so word will eventually get out even if we decided to do so!

And if I stop cleaning after them, the house will be like a dumpster. I did that once coz my cousin does the same thing and she advised me that. But no, didn't work in my case. The dishes from the whole week were piled, the laundry was overflowing, it was just a mess! MIL is clever, she knew I wanted her to do it so she used to put even more clothes than her regular in the basket. Eventually, she started yelling and calling me names and I had to do it because I couldn't stand the mess either.

YES, she WILL call the people, she has done it before. But she didn't do this type of thing of canceling but called them to see where I was because I didn't take her with me. I had a doctor's appointment and had to mail something out, and she was sleeping when I left. It was not here though, we were in a different city back then so not with this circle of friends. She has all the phone numbers of my friends, even the ones she's never met or talked to. She made me give her the whole contact list of my friends numbers. When I asked why, she said "kabhi zaroorat par sakti hai". Oh and also, whenever we have a dawat at home where aunty/uncles are also invited....she says she wants to call everyone, even my friends. She calls and invites everyone, even my friends that she doesn't even know or has talked to ever.

And taking her everywhere is not imposed by my husband. Actually, my husband doesn't impose anything but when she throws tantrums, crying spells, quoting quran/hadeeth, hubby gives in and tell me to do what she says. Like in this case, hubby agreed to have it without MIL and when MIL found out, he said "up to you but ammi naraz hojayengi" so, he basically meant "no". He never gives me a direct response, it's always "up to you, but ammi....." If it was up to me, I wouldn't be where I am today. Now, I told him, I'll have the party this time, I don't care what ammi says after she comes back, we can have another one after she comes and he goes "deal with it yourself when she comes back, don't tell me if she says anything to you". So basically, he wants to stay out of it. But when something happens, he tells me do as ammi wants and ignore everything. 

Actually, she does FEEL young. She compares her clothes to mine. I once said "ammi yeh color thora young logon ka hai" and she's like "tumhari maa budhi hogi, main to young hun". My mom's the same age as her! She even says to some colors like agar "tum pehan sakti ho to main kyun nahi" even though she has to wear an abaya on top anyways! Oh and most important part, recently, she has started to go to MY friends houses WITHOUT telling me. Some of these friends work, some don't even have parents/in-laws at home, just husband/wife/kids. She calls them when she's on their way! A couple of them she went without calling them first, after being in the U.S for almost 14 years!! Some of these friends I'm not even close to, to tell them how MIL really is. So these friends call me and just give me hints of how inappropriate it was for my MIL to "stop by". How embarrassing is that? Of course, I can't even tell this to MIL because she will throw tantrums and blame me that I don't want her to go to my friends' house or I'm making this up or something!

I'm just done with all this. I just want peace. I don't even know how to get out of this mess, which I created myself and decided to marry him even when my parents told me how his family is!

LOL! Seriously, you make me laugh. First of all, I don't know where you're quoting this from but that's NOT what I wrote. And secondly, I never said "me me me". Read everything first. I always wrote what I said to my husband because I barely talk with MIL, and I always wrote whatever I told MIL too, and I always wrote what MIL replied. I don't want to make myself "seem" good. I am how I am and your opinion won't change that! Have you ever read any "crap" that I talked about my PILS? It's real situation that happen, I'm not saying anything to them. Thanks for your reply though, I very well know no one is dumb here :)

maloom nahi kay yahan per kissko zabardust *Phanttii *ki zaroorat hai??..zayadatii kernay walay ko? yeh zayadatii sahnay walay ko?

I'm curious to know, what ayaat and ahadeeth does she quote to you? If it has to do with respect/honor/obedience for parents, then you can smile and tell her that none of it applies to you and her, because it doesn't. To your husband, sure, but not to you. Also, if your husband left it up to you, it's up to you. Being the third party spectator who only knows as much as you've mentioned in this topic, I say go for it, don't be shy. Heck, throw another party and maybe another after that.

I agree with Peony that the more you let her push you around, the more she will. You put your foot down, then that's the first step to a better situation. Of course I'll never advocate abusing/adopting bad manners but you have to polite but firm at the same time.

OP, your life sucks. instead of worrying about small issues like this party, getting yourself depressed, only to see no change in your MIL. it seems like you've tried all the usual DIL techniques. why not make a big change? I mean, get a job! Or if your degree right now doesn't allow u to get a better job or hubby is too proud of his money and MIL doesn't want community log thinking that DIL is working outside the home, get another degree! go for a masters, go to med school, law school. whatever.

this will allow you to get out of the house, obv without MIL. make your own friends, live your own life, time away from inlaws. it will be something your husband can be proud of you for, something your MIL has no control over, and something that will help you personally in the long run if something horrible happens (divorce, death, etc)

there is NOTHING more powerful than knowledge.

You MIL needs help! No, Seriously I am not saying in a bad way. She should see a psychiatrist.

And I think you need to start taking a stand. How can you even stand this situation? It's not a crime to marry someone of your own choice. And how do you plan on bringing up a child in this toxic environment when you have one? People have already given you really good advice in this thread and in your previous threads. Now it's up to you.

I didn't understand what you mean? :(

She quotes the ayah about parents how Allah says "parents" "right after" Allah. And she mentions "right after" literally like 5-10 times! She doesn't say it to me anyways, she says it to her son, indirectly telling him to "make me" do as she pleases. Obviously, hubby is not "throwing" the party, I am, for my friend. So, she doesn't want hubby to agree with me or side with me that's why she quotes him that and other hadeeths like when Prophet Mohammad was asked who has the right to your goodness and He replied three times with mother and then the father, and jannah lies under your mother's feet, etc. She keeps repeating "maa ka darja to baap se bhi 3 guna zyada hai, doosre kis khet ki mooli hain" lol.....she has repeated this line over a thousand times since I've been married to him, sometimes just randomly out of context. I agree with all these rights to parents, and that's why they've never heard a word from me, but she uses it in a blackmailing way. And hubby being the person that he is, listens to these hadeeths/tantrums/other drama and changes his mind to whatever he had said yes to before. He always agrees with me first and then says oh ammi said no now, so now just ignore it or forget about it.

The funny thing is she tells her own daughter about how she doesn't need to do anything for her in-laws because "Islam" doesn't force us too. She even tells her daughter that "shohar ka kaam bhi tum per farz nahi hai" and basically, my SILs husband launders his own clothes and even cooks his own breakfast before leaving to work, SIL doesn't even work and her kids aren't very little either. There are many things her own daughter does that if I do, I will probably get killed. She's known in the community for being a pious lady, gives dars, always attending masjid programs, and other things so people believe her when she tells them anything negative about me, stuff that I've never even done or said. Oh and the other day, she even said "agar mere bagair koi takreeb hui yahan to dekho main kaise tumhari naak katwati hun sabke saamne". And I don't doubt her when she says this!

Don't you talk to her like that. She was born and raised in USA and has a professional degree. Did you know that? The fact the she was born in USA, makes her levitate above the desis back home, and if that alone didn't command respect, she also has a professional degree. It would be totally understandable if you had said that to someone who was born and raised in Pakistan, but oh the audacity to say that to someone of her credentials.