Weddings on time.

How many of you had wedding on time. The whole function went according to the time u had on ur Invitation card?

Re: Weddings on time.

no one comes on time even bride or groom's family

MashAllah in our family usually it all goes on time... I hope INSHALLAH it'll be like that on my Wedding
I remember went to a wedding once,we were a bit late due to some reason. And they actually had Rukhsati at the exact time, what they stated on the invitation card.I was so impressed.
And yes, i've been to Weddings, where the time e.g is 9pm.. And kisika koi atta pata nahi till 12 am... lol

we are alwsy son time, my brothers walima was wrapped up at 11:30!

and now the limit has been set by the gov at 12.. so it has been great for the recent 2 weddings :)

Do they actually tell u to leave the hall or what..?

^ if its a pubic place, like say a hall or a marquee type of thing, they go to the legnth of turning your generator off lol...

but if its a provate place, like ur farmhouse or house for tht matter its ok...

food laws bhee hain ab

lol at turning off the generators... but its good i guess.

And what are the food laws? One dish, is it..?

Mine was on time for the most part...everything was predictably one hour late but we had already anticipated that much so planned accordingly.

I think you expect that you will run a little late, but so long as everything else is running according to plan there is no reason why the wedding should exceed the planned time frame. It's ok for the bride and groom to be half an hour late, but guests should arrive on time where they should be greeted with the family of the bride or groom depending on which side are hosting!

Umm... only ONCE. The grooms parents were there and all the grooms family. And my family. But guests came late! VERY rude indeed!!!

Well, there is a limit now. Weddings have to be completed by 12:00 midnight so the weddings I went to this season were smack on time. They actually turn off the lights if the function is still going on. It is good!

^ yeah absolutely.. and this happened a few years ago too - i rem my cousins mehndi was in a plot in lahore defense and they turned off the lights at 12!!! and yes we had to leave! ONLY to go crazy in the house lol

but its a relief functions r on time! especially when ur at a wedding JUST to be there.

I've never been to a wedding that has finished on time in Pakistan. At my brothers Walima in Lahore the bhabis family was 2 hours late, we were serving the food when they arrived.

In the UK though, weddings are normally wrapped up on time because of the venue, if you go over they charge heavily per hour for extra use.

My mehndi/wedding pretty much happened on time.

At the mehndi, people were annoyed that the dances delayed the food. I told my parents not to wait! Let people eat and watch -- it doesn't matter. The shadi everything happened on time. It was during the time of food restrictions in Karachi, so we had an early ruksati and then went to a separate place to eat and such. People came on time pretty much because they knew the barat (from the UK) would arrive on time.

oooh with my uncles wedding it was wicked. We all jus stayed over the time! We all were having 2222 much fun! This is in UK yeah..

my sis wedding is coming soon, and i hope everything and everyone is on time!!

LOL @ generators! so what do we say to ppl when its wrap up time?

will they just go or we gonna have to say to them??!! im worried!!!

:rotfl:.. u got to be kidding:hehe:.. I must say my expereince of desi weddings shows that they neednt bother with stipulating a time- however my few experiences of English weddings have on the other hand- I would day rather particular with time:k:

Was it sumthing like, u were not allowed to serve food..? I think nowadays its one dish...

^ Yeah at that time there was no food allowed. We had reserved the Sheraton before the restriction was being enforced. A month before the wedding they started up the law again and threatened to cart off dulhas if anyone disobeyed! Many people still went along with it, but my parents and inlaws did not want to take a chance, and so set up a shamiyana elsewhere. It's too bad too, because in the 3 weeks that we were there, it was the only night it rained -- and it was heavy rain too! Quite an eventful ruksati and dinner we had. :D

awww... but glad all went well. when was ur wedding?
My Mehndi will be in a lawn most probably n my mum's worried, what if it rains.
Barat n Valima in a banquet hall, InshALLAH... :)