Thats exactly what my naani told me and so I never wore a nath on my wedding. Then there was this aunty telling my Mom a bride doesnt look like a desi bride without nath. I showed her! lol..
lol come on.. no offense, but that's such an irrelevant reason not to wear one. i have to take sides with the aunty. brides look more traditional "dulhany" when they wear naath. just my opinion! :)
I would never wear one! It's just so weird to me and I can't imagine how it would be to eat or if someone accidentally yanked on it. Ouch! But they do look nice on some brides.
i always thot abt da "yanking" thing..lol ..that scares me...but i wud want 2 wear one tho...some brides can really pull them off :)
Re: Wearing Nathni (nose ring) but my nose isn't pierced - Wht to do?
Actually got my nose pierced esp cz i love the big naths...
but now i've heard so many stories and even saw few brides who had so much trouble taking in and out... Now im thinking not wear one... why not enjoy ur day rather than taking all the pain on ur Big day...
I love the lil stud i guess i'll b wearing that on the big day.. :)
jab tumney apni naak chidwai hai to phir nath pehenna , your nath will be the centre of attraction for guests on your wedding day , aur waise bhi raat mein tumhari nath jo utaarega ,tumhey pain to hoga hi ,actually you can't avoid pain .
i didnt wear one for my wedding. on the walimah my mother in law really wanted me to wear one but i had a cold and knew the nath would irritate me. NOW, i sort of wish i had just worn it cos yeah you cant really wear it any other day lol.
Nosering (nath) is a beautiful ornament worn by the south asian brides. It looks quite unique and pretty. Wearing nathni means virginity of the bride...on suhaagraat bridegroom takes away the virginity of the bride, by removing the nathni of the bride as the nath symbolises that the bride is virgin. Among all the jewelry, the nasal ornaments are perhaps the most seductive, it is believed that there is a close connection between the nathni and the male sexual reflexes.
does wearing a nathni on wedding has a meaning? ya aise hi pehnte hai'?
yes, zunerha wearing nathni means virginityof the bride, on suhaagraat bridegroom takes away the virginity of the bride, by removing the nathni of the bride. Nathi is the most beautiful ornament worn by the south asian brides as it looks quite unique and pretty. Wearing nathni means virginity ... and the bride wearing nathni symbolises that the bride is virgin. It is believed that that among all the jewelry items, the nasal ornaments are the most seductive, it is also believed that there is a close connection between the nathni and the male sexual reflexes.
well in 'Bhatias' ( Indian Sindhi subcaste ).. they wear nathani's outside their own wedding as well. Like if they are attending some one else's wedding all the females guests will wear a small to medium sized diamond nathani. I have seen this a lot here in Bahrain and Dubai.
And oh my wot diamonds. But Bhatia's / Sindhis ( the Indian ones ) are known to wear strictly diamonds and pearls.
Like every year when we go to the temple of Janmashtami ( Lord Krishna's birthday ), the Bhatia ladies are decked in HUGE diamond earrings and nathani's / or solitaire nose pins. My friends mom she wears a two carat solitaire nose pin on her nose daily. Phew. My nose pin is only .35 cent. But VVS1.