Violence in Karachi [all threads merged]

Re: Violence in Karachi [all threads merged]

Karachi is in Sindh geographically, why do you have to drag "culturally" when there is no context here, look like you hate Sindhis so you don't want to associate name of "Sindhi" with Karachi. You can call Karachi a bengali city for all I care.

But I did not call people from other parts of city "foreigner" in the sense that they are from another country.
You should stop putting words in my mouth.

When you say "foreigner" that is what it exactly means, looks like you have convoluted dictionary.

Well that's precisely the context in which Karachi is not a Sindhi city. Geographically and politically it is a part of Sindh. But it is not actually a Sindhi city.
Similar to Quetta which is not a Baloch city, even though in Balochistan.

No. That is not the ONLY meaning of the word foreigner. Go consult any online dictionary, for God’s sake.

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/foreigner

[for·eign·er  [COLOR=#333333] fawr-uh-ner, for-] ](http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/foreigner)http://sp.dictionary.com/dictstatic/g/d/dictionary_questionbutton_default.gif Show IPA
***–noun
***** 1.**a person not native to or naturalized in the country orjurisdiction under consideration; alien.
**2.**a person from outside one’s community.

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/foreigner
](http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/foreigner)1: a person belonging to or owing allegiance to a foreign country
****2 **chiefly dialect : one not native to a place or community

^ there is a thing called "context" too.

Peace Captain! This is only dictionary context. PPL even use different interpretation of Qura'n for supporting their personal views.

Khoji bhai! I just wanted to understand how Sindhis are not native to Karachi as against the migrants from India. Can you plz share the period (number of years) a person has to live in a particular city for calling him a native. If I'm not wrong a person who born in a city is not to be called native of that city. Isn't it?

What do you think which is the original community of Karachi. Sindhis, Balochis, urdu speaking ppl (who still use surnames / titles like delhiwalas, bombaywalas, Ludhyanwis,Lakhnawai,etc). I thought some nice person in this thread has agreed that Karachi belongs to all communities. Plz help us searching that nice person instead of repeating your point that Karachi is not a Sindhi City!

I don't have to search for that nice person. Because it was ME who said that Karachi belongs to all communities.

So now you know that I did not say that Sindhis are not natives to Karachi. Please show me any post from me where I said so.
What I said was that Karachi is not a specifically a Sindhi city.

Everyone else than Kachhi,memons, kathiwaris,Parsis and Makranis are 'foreigners'
Is it clear now

Khoji bhai, before agreeing that Karachi belongs to all, who said that ppl from Larkana & Nawabshah are foreigners in Karachi. No one should have hesitation to recognise Karachi as Sindhi City keeping in view the geographic, political, historic factors. Why ppl use term Interior Sindh and always avoid accepting Karachi as a part of Sindh. We never heard terms like interior Punjab, interior Balochistan, interior KPK.

One more point, I agree that Karachi has become metropolitan and everyone living here (whether he is a Punjabi, Balochi, Pathan, Sindhi, Urdu speaking ppl, etc) should own it by not saying others foreigners /outsiders but by showing concern on its situation and not supporting criminals on the basis of any political affiliation. All the parties have some criminal elements and they should eliminate such elements, if they really own the city.

NO. Everyone of the above is a part of Karachi. They are not outsiders.

Sorry, It is Makran area, You call it land of Baluchs.

I said that too. And it is because people from Larkana and Nawabshah are as much the outsiders in Karachi as people from Multan and Badin. But when someone from Larkana settles in Karachi and has his domicile from here then he ceases to be an outsider. Then he becomes a Karachiite.

Historically Karachi has been a part of Sindh but history is relative. You go far enough in history and you will see that these boundaries of Sindh did not exist at all. So history is relative.

Anwer Sahb, and what is the origin of memons, Kachchi, Kathiyawaris. Aren’t they are Sindhis by origin!!!

By the way, there are many Sindhi speaking Memons living in different cities of Sindh.

Domicile wohi document hai na jo chand hazar rupe ke aiwaz ek bengali, ek afghani aur shayad ek indian ko bhi Pakistani bana deta hai. :hmmm:

If history is relative, then Pakistan main mojud ilaaqe aaj se sirf 64 saal pehle Hindustan kehlate the, mere khayal se Karachi 64 saal se kahin ziada arse tak Sindh ka part raha hai… Agar aisa maan lia jae to phir Karachi Sindh ka hissa hai ya nahin…

So,...... in other countries foreigners become citizens, and in Pakistan, citizens become foreigners???

I am not talking of Oregon, I was talking about the land and no one of them is Sindhi , They are little different.
How ever Pakistan was made by Sindhis and Bangalis only.
Punjab didn't vote for Muslim league, Even KP.
KP people came through direct public opinion, Referendum.
And Baluchistan,
Thanks to Khan of Qalat,

What about Shoaib Sidal? should he be brought in???

What do you think where the Deebal (the main port of Sindh at the time of Arab conquest in 712 AD) situated. Wasn’t that a port under control of Sindhi Army. It was our present day Karachi my dear Khoji.

“The area of Karachi was known to the ancient Greeks by many names: Krokola, the place where Alexander the Great camped to prepare a fleet for Babylonia after his campaign in the Indus Valley; ‘Morontobara’ (probably Manora island near Karachi harbour), from whence Alexander’s admiral Nearchus set sail; and Barbarikon, a port of the Bactrian kingdom. It was later known to the Arabs as Debal from where Muhammad bin Qasim led his conquering force into South Asia in 712 AD”

How far you want me to go in History to prove that Karachi was and is part of Sindh for centuries?

KARACHI: The Commissionerate System has been restored in the province of Sindh. An official statement on Saturday said that Acting Governor of Sindh, Nisar Ahmed Khuhro, promulgated three ordinances on Saturday which will be effective immediately.
Accordingly the Commissionerate System, Sindh Local Government Ordinance 1979 and Police Act 1861 have been restored, the statement added.
The Acting Governor repealed the Police Ordinance 2002 and signed an ordinance to restore the Police Act 1861.
In view of this, the system which bifurcated police operation and investigation into separate departments, would come to an end.
The statement said that this was causing inconveniences to the people in redressal of their grievances.
It said that the Police Order 2002 was enforced by the then president Pervez Musharraf without seeking the opinion of the people and that at that time there was no political government.
The elected government taking a judicious decision has restored the Police Act 1861.
The Acting Governor has also approved the restoration of the Local Government Ordinance 1979 under which several local bodies elections were conducted and people got opportunities to dispose of local bodies affairs according to their wishes.
The Local Government Ordinance 2001 was also enforced by the then president Pervez Musharraf against the wishes of the people, the statement added. Only Pervez Musharraf was authorised to amend this for nine years.
There was a lot of debate on this issue and the government has now resolved it in accordance with the aspirations of the people.

The Acting Governor also promulgated the law for restoration of the commissionerate system in the province.
He promulgated the ordinance amending the Land Revenue Act 1987 thus restoring the commissionerate system in the province.