^ ![]()
^ so sad. well, atleast she got married again.
THere are these one people we know, and there son is a doctor and hafiz. They go EVERYWHERE to look at girls, and they reject them all- they say the want the want a girl that's realy pretty, a doctor, and a hafiza.
So the rest of us are like, so why do you got to all these girls' houses when you know they don't meet ALL THREE criteria?!
And the mom's always bragging how she gets people saying that if her son would marry their daughter they will give them gold the amount her son'ts weight.she's always bragging about how great her son is, and how religous they are- it's like did you not read the part in Islam that says "be humble".
Anyways, I hope when they find the find that pretty, doctor, hafiza, she rejects them.
This is really bad! They call themselves religious and acting like this..tsk tsk
This is such a bitter sweet thread...full of funnies and sorrows...here is a small story for u..still makes me laugh when I think abt it..
A couple of years ago my best mate went to Pakistan to attend a wedding at his gaaon. There he liked a girl (a neighbour) who unfortunately was not very educated. So he comes back and tells his mom (may Allah give her high daragah in Jannah) about this girl..because the girl was not educated enough...my friend's mom got really upset and used the perfect punchline ..
"Ais to changa si tu kissi khooti nu lipstick laa keh kaar ley aanda"...
Urdu translation (issey acha tha tum kissi gadhi ko lipstick laga kur ghur ley aatay)..lol.. to this day we roll on the floor at her comment..
the rishta never happened...but my friend is happily married now mashAllah
Re: Unfortunated rishta stories.
^ aw man that's mean...
Well I have a really complicated story to tell which is still on its way to being sorted out.
A friend of mine was supposed to get married in Feb 09 sometime and her fiance called her in dec 08(2 months before the wedding) n told her he cud not get time off from work. Well if he did take time off then he'd miss out on some promotions and his career plans will be delayed by a few years (2-3 years). So he 's saying to delay the wedding by another 8 months so instead of feb have it in oct 09. The complicated part is gal's side has done all the packing, shopping, preparation, hall booking, tickets have been pruchased (since they live abroad) and guy's side is not contacting them at all. Guy's family cllled the gal's family 2-3 times to let them knwo tat wedding is postponed (did not ask them for their advice or mushwara --just told them)!. Guy has almost stopped contacting the gal herself.
As u can imagine gal's quite worried and so is her family.
Daal mein kuch kala hai.
Jerk alert
jerk alert ![]()
Men like this need thrashing. Ughhhhh. I feel for the girl and her family. ![]()
a cute rishta story... this happened with me few years back, i was in pakistan visiting my family, first went to karachi and was planning to visit lahore...booked my flight to fly to lahore... my flight was supposed to leave in the evening and it did...i was sitting next to a really cute girl and her niece. everything was good til they told us that the flight will not be able to fly to lahore tonight cuz of fog n weather...so we were back to the airport...spent like 5 hrs figuring out what was going on, meanwhile the girl n I started to talk, i found out she was only 16, n on her way to her sisters hosue in lahore, n also that her parents had passed away recently n her nani n khalas are pushing everybody to make her get married....i was like WHAT!...NO they are crazy u r too young and that they should be looking for a SIL for u (she had a older brother...who was like 25...n single) anyways...back to the flight issue they told us that we would need to come back in the morning and they will try to give us seats in the morning flight...n told us to come early in the morning.
i was back to the airport the next morning ard. 9...and of course she was there too with her niece, she helped me out n we were able to fly together to lahore that day...we exchanged phone numbers ( i gave her my uncles cell # sicne i didn't have a cell) at the airport she introduced me to her sister and other family too (brother as well).
once in lahore i totally forgot abt calling her ( i was visitng my family after 5 years)
anyways guess who i ran into at the airport...flying back to karachi...i m not joking her again...she was like i was trying to call ur # but i didn't work my sisters wanted to speak with ur family. I was like Why? she told me in a very shy voice...for my brother, i really like you and everybody else liked u too, and wanted u to be my SIL. i didn't knw what to say, and just gave her my email address... I was 21 n didn't want to settle down just yet...but didn't wanna say no to her on her face...so did later on on msn :o
haha that is really funny..was the brother cute looking?
a cute rishta story... this happened with me few years back, i was in pakistan visiting my family, first went to karachi and was planning to visit lahore...booked my flight to fly to lahore... my flight was supposed to leave in the evening and it did...i was sitting next to a really cute girl and her niece. everything was good til they told us that the flight will not be able to fly to lahore tonight cuz of fog n weather...so we were back to the airport...spent like 5 hrs figuring out what was going on, meanwhile the girl n I started to talk, i found out she was only 16, n on her way to her sisters hosue in lahore, n also that her parents had passed away recently n her nani n khalas are pushing everybody to make her get married....i was like WHAT!...NO they are crazy u r too young and that they should be looking for a SIL for u (she had a older brother...who was like 25...n single) anyways...back to the flight issue they told us that we would need to come back in the morning and they will try to give us seats in the morning flight...n told us to come early in the morning.
i was back to the airport the next morning ard. 9...and of course she was there too with her niece, she helped me out n we were able to fly together to lahore that day...we exchanged phone numbers ( i gave her my uncles cell # sicne i didn't have a cell) at the airport she introduced me to her sister and other family too (brother as well).
once in lahore i totally forgot abt calling her ( i was visitng my family after 5 years)
anyways guess who i ran into at the airport...flying back to karachi...i m not joking her again...she was like i was trying to call ur # but i didn't work my sisters wanted to speak with ur family. I was like Why? she told me in a very shy voice...for my brother, i really like you and everybody else liked u too, and wanted u to be my SIL. i didn't knw what to say, and just gave her my email address... I was 21 n didn't want to settle down just yet...but didn't wanna say no to her on her face...so did later on on msn :o
bechari larki....she liked u :o. do u know whatever happened to her?
Lolz if nything he’s being supported by his family fully. It angers me when i start thinkin bout the situation as i’m really close to teh family and know how excited they were bout it.
I don’t know wat’s happening but i’m angry again!
^^ the brother was ok looking, i really didn't check him out, anyways the sister added me on msn and we chatted few times but when i said no for the rishta, she got mad and i think blocked me on msn.
Ladies I have a really really twisted "unfortunate rishta story" that I need to post here but I am going through a similar phase of SHC - need to pull it together so I can post it. Soon time.
jaldi jaldi kijiye please...:)
I have a funny/mean story to tell. AH, Im engaged to be married now to a wonderful guy who loves me just the way that I am (Im not fat, lekin itni pathli bee nahin hoon!).
Anyway....some time ago, some lady in our neighbourhood called my mom and said she knew someone who was looking for a girl for her son. So my mom said, ok give her my number. The aunty started calling my mom, and each time she spoke with my mom, she would ask, "is your daughter gori?", "is your daughter pretty?" "is your daughter skinny?". I dont know why my mom kept talking to her, I told my mom after that she shouldnt have even let that lady come to our house. anyway, she came over to our house with her husband, and her son. Her son was short, dark and bald (but I still gave him a chance, because Im a nice person!). anyway, the whole time the aunty was staring at me, asking me my hobbies, so I told her I like baking, and cake decorating (those are some of my hobbies). Then she told me, "Oh no, you shouldnt do baking or cake decorating, those things make you fat!". I just looked at her thinking....you look like a whale, and you are telling me that I will be fat!!!
Anyway, after one week, the aunty called my mom and said, we really like your daughter, and we want to do this rishta, but before we do this rishta, your daughter has to lose 30 pounds. My mom got so mad, she said, ok tell your son to grow some hair, then we will think about this rishta, and told the lady dont call me again.
. My mom got so mad, she said, ok tell your son to grow some hair, then we will think about this rishta, and told the lady dont call me again.
Go Mamma Saimab!! Some of these aunties of sons just turn off their brains when they go through the rishta process!
I'm glad this thread is back! I remember reading it a long time ago! It's a classic. If gupshup had Hall of fame of thread, I would vote for this thread!
this has to be the FUNNIEST of them all ![]()
One of our family friends daughter (she half gori and half paki and very pretty), got engaged to a guy from pakistan, and she sponsored him and everything. Well then somehow she managed to overhear a convo he was having with his friend in paki. He said something along the lines of 'Im only marrying her to get permanent in Aus'...So after hearing that she stayed quiet, told her dad and got him deported.
Anyway she was over paki guys but she loves the paki culture and can speak better urdu then me...lol..so she was convinced to give a paki guy who is a docter a try. She bought him over and got married. At the start everything was happy chappy but then came the time for him to recieve his citizenship. This was 4 years later. He started ignoring her, wont come home, some say he was the reason she lost her child when she was pregnant, he was makin so much money that he was just arrogent.. Anyway, he was just emtionally torturing her so she left him.
So then she was really over paki guys...But now mashallah she's married to a syrian guy she met through work. They had a love marriage and she is finally happy...Im happy for her as she's been through alot but it just makes u so weary of guys from overseas...
^ nice
glad to know that she is finally happy in her life.
When my engagement happened a friend of mine attended it . She is pretty & she loves wearing western clothes too. So my daughter’s grand mom liked her for her other son and started asking her wired question , the 1st one she asked was in which year you were born
she did not even now why she was asking her that question , she was just interested in having her biryani lol ! khair , she asked her all sorts of questions. Then the next day I got a phone call from them for more enquiries , I told them clearly she is not interested in marriage right now (I knew she was not interested & neither was her family) but no they said we are interested. They kept on pushing me ! Khair , next day I got a call my daughter’s father and he said we have rejected her because she wears western clothes LOL !!! I said you could have only rejected her if she was interested but she was never interested. It happened a zillion times that they looked a girl liked her , decided that they will get her married to their brother without even asking the girl or her family , told everyone else in their family too kay humnay larki dhoond li hai but when they actually sent the rishta , the girl & her family rejected ! They always thought that they are too good for a NO so every time they finalised the rishta among themselves and then faced embarrassment.
This is what happened with a friend of mine !
She got engaged to her cousin some 6 years back. The guy was working in UAE. He used to call her everyday and they were very good together. I myself heard so many conversation of her with that guy and I was of the opinion that the guy really loved her. Khair , for first 2-3 years he delayed the marriage saying that he first wants to build his family a house in Karachi so he can not marry . She & her family said OK ! The house was finally constructed. Then he wasted so many months saying that he is on training and he can not come right now as he would not get leave. Then he started saying to her I won't bring you to UAE till I buy you a house here , I want to keep you well ! She agreed . He wasted 6 years like that only. Finally , my friend & her family lost their sabar , I don't know how they found out but he was already married to someone in UAE and he was just playing with her. I think the girl was someone from his workplace. Anyway , last I heard that he is childless and all fertility treatments have failed and now he wants to marry my friend again so that he can have a child.
People can be pathetic & mean to any extent !
Go Mamma Saimab!! Some of these aunties of sons just turn off their brains when they go through the rishta process!
I'm glad this thread is back! I remember reading it a long time ago! It's a classic. If gupshup had Hall of fame of thread, I would vote for this thread!
Thanks but ....
Gosh thread back again .. I want to go back and delete my stories.
But lets see if I have anymore.