MY TEN CENTS WORTH--based on my 42 years SHOR SHARABA in Pak-Showbiz;
The film industry in Pakistan was a transformation from the pre-partition era movie making--as the hindu impact and effect took its time to leave Pak-Film scenario--one reason that Syed Moosa Reza had the nick as SANTOSH KUMAR and his brother Ishrat had the nick of DARPAN and some movies did carry a strong hindu customs (which are still persisting.. in fact outside the movies also..like MEHENDI and SANCHAQ ceremonies etc!).
Anyway....TV came in Pakistan on a very low scale--initially in 1963 at Pakistan International Trade Fair...held in January-1963 at the very ground where now stands the PIA Planeterium and the Exhibition Centre bang opposite The Civic Centre behind National Stadium, Karachi.
I saw the NEC B&W TV first ever time in my life at the PIF that January-1963 where a tent TV station was surrected by NIPPON ELECTRIC COMPANY of JAPAN and on close circuit basis..they beamed a play done by school children inside that tent (my younger brother one of the participant) which was shown on some 24 TV monitors placed at various points within the exhibition premises.
27th November-1964 saw PTV Lahore emerge with something which people remember (and rejoice) till date. TALENT unlimited it was...! in DRAMA that had such a strong impact on the Nation--that societies mended their manners and lots of people checked and re-checked themselves.
1947 -- 1964 is 17 years that the FILM INDUSTRY had been commanding the hearts of the Nation on showbiz....with a very weak theatre and stage but a very very strong RADIO..the only source which threatened FILM INDUSTRY..then.
If we technically, look into the matter in dept....some of the famous TV stars in fact had their...if one can say---GROOMING---then it was from the film industry and a large number of artiste from Radio Pakistan.
Now---when the TV artiste had relatively established themselves with a good name and firm footing and were happy with the kind of money they were getting-- there came a halt of the kind that not every artiste was busy all the time as PTV remained in RED (Bank Accounts) for a very long time. This led to the artiste taking rounds of EVERNEW, SHAHNOOR and other studios of Lahore on Multan Road..and the Producers and Directors capitalizing on their helplessness to survive that every kind of role--however buffoonary involved--was accepted by the artiste (even the greats of PTV like Qavi, Ali Ejaz, Badiuzzaman etc...from Lahore had to lay their weapons handsdown before the directors for every movie--however third rated it could be--that the movie being flop---had an impact on them unequivocally!).
Having said that---artiste like QAVI and MUNAWWAR SAEED---succeeded in films immensely. Munawwar bhai as a villian mostly..and Qavi as a 2nd fiddle..sometime buffoonary also..and later most of the time as a Dad, Brother and mixed roles....was immensely successfull.
This led to the thought (on TV Artiste) that owing to their superb performances on mini tube...they will be some gung ho in film industry--and that was a mistake for they (TV Artiste) forgot that playiung 2nd fiddle or buffoonary did not take even QAVI to the level that he be considered a hero or lead character in films. I mean Ali Ejaz' biggest mistakes were his appearances in Punjabi movies with absolutely no head or foot---as a hero. Indeed the movie I reckon must have done big in villages and pinds or even Multan and faisalabad, okara and sahiwal...but Ali forgot that he is not doing a favor to acting in TV...the reason he completely bowed out of TV..and that too after doing superb work--but the movie impact hit him hard--as it did to him in film industry because he got restricted to films like SHEEDA PISTOL, JEERA BLADE etc....! It was in 1970 that I did my first play---Ashfaq Ahmed' "TAKMEEL e ARZOO" with Ali Ejaz as my Dad...and it was then I had told him that he must restrict himself to TV and stay away from films.
The possible reason why a TV Artiste has not been able to make it big in Pak movies--could be that Waheed Murad, Nadeem, Muhammad Ali, Shahid etc commanded the movies so strongly that many thought Ghulam Mohiuddin would fail too....and when he was departing for Lahore for Shabab Keranvi's MERA NAAM HAI MUHABBAT.....I held a dinner in his honor where PTV's Mohsin Ali, Shahnaz Siddiqui, Khalid Saeed Butt, Salim Jaffery, Sumbul, Zeenat Yasmine...all advised him that he should come back right after the shooting is completed and continue with TV....much so much that his would-be Munawwar Sultana (Sultana of Khuda Ki Basti) also became shaky on her decision to marry him.
When Gullo's movie was released and we saw it first day first show....it was the opening of new chapter in his life--that he still lives in lahore with Munawwar and his four children..two married daughters...etc...and has done over 200 films... that now he is back to TV. This was a rare tareen case! and the only reason why Gullo was successfull was that there was only ONE channel of TV in Pakistan !! and that he got his break as a HERO which could have turned him into ZERO had the movie failed--but as LUCK would have it---viewer's were hungry and thirsty then and not much of COMMERCIAL SERVICE had started.
All the others who jumped to films--before GULLO---jumped as Buffoons or 2nd fiddle or some clown--that they were not able to show their real talents--which I have every reason to believe--they had.
Javed shaikh's case is a long history. When he made DHAMAKA..he knew he was taking less risk as the movie then was done at hardly 2 lac rupees and JS himself was a director also..plus he didn't go from TV...he went from Radio with his wife Zeenat Manghi as his Noor Jehan. The reason why Javed made it big--later--could be attributed to the CARROTs like Salma Agha and Neeli he used to attract the viewers--and the hype of Bangkok shoots and mystery stories--which somewhat worked for JS...that he eventually made YADKH and said he to me once--that he didn't have the idea that YADKH wiull be such a giant box office hit....and i told him with sarosh as choreopgrapher and Sonu as singer and outdoors involving Spain and Geneve....it was expected (much as I lamented not accepting the role of Badar Khalil's husband..Dad to Veena !! in the movie which Javed also felt). The mistake which JS did in KAKN was that he involved his entire family in the movie. IMO--Behroze and saleem never fitted what they did in KAKN. Humayun was a good pick but he was overshadoweed deliberately at some places plus the weak story-- was the main culprit.
Eventually....the entry of JS in Mumbai's huge world BOLLYWOOD is something so enchanting which shows how the talent and taste is professed and upheld by our neighbors.
CURRENT ERA------Shaan has been successfull BUT he is not from TV. He got a break basically due to his mom; Neelo or Perveen and his marhoom Dad Riaz Shahid..a highly respected Director ( ZARQA fame..) plus Shaan has looks, style and a certain ambiance in his approach--followed by Moammar Rana the able son of former Test cricketer Shafqat Rana...but he too didn't go from TV fame! Lets say he got lucky in YDAKH of JS.
Humayun saeed also went from TV and FAILED I should say in films--basically due to the fact that he is more accepted by viewer's on mini tube then the 35mm screen and perhaps----his acting gets bereft in films---on TV his is par excellence and superb. Not all the viewer's could be goof--to evaluate him as a bad actor. His rivalry with Adnan Siddiqui is now known--in fact on many forum's that Adnan is using his contacts to write against Humayun...that I know of! Adnan can never make it to movies---and MIGHTY HEART will not take him toi Hollywood or Bollywood or even FOLLYWOOD at Lahore. Adnan is my relative...his Dad is my Mom in Law's cousin...his sister is married to my father's first couysin...his other sister is married to my best friend's brother--who runs CLIPPERS at DHA-V. Adnan is a nice lad--but bad actor if compared to Humayun Saeed. Facts are facts as Humayun is a failure in movies---super success in TV.
I see no future at all for any Pak_Showbiz artiste however popular he may be---in Pakistani Movies! I do promise you that!
FILMs are by and large----more awaara then TV.
TV will or may accept FILM ACTORS.....FILM will not...TV ACTORS!
Raju Jamil