Stalker, there are many examples where very seasoned TV artists **could not make it big in the movies. **
Ismail Shah, Asif Raza Mir, Usman Pirzada, Rahat Kazmi, Izhar Kazi .. and list goes on ..
there are few exceptions like the one that RJ mentioned ..
but no one mentioned the biggest, most beautiful and one of the most succesful exceptions, TV's very own Miss 4 O clock , one and only Babra Sahreef
Shafi Muhammad, Qazi Wajid, Afzaal Chitta, Shaista Qaiser, Atiqa Odho, Talat Hussain, Shamim Hilaly, Zahoor Ahmed, S.M.Saleem, Qurban Jilani, Latif Charlie, Masuma Latif......................kahan takk suno ge...kahan takk sunao'un !! much so much that Sam Pirzada went from TV production/direction to movie production and returned back with 15 million rupees debt ! (on TV her production of a serial from PTV Lahore was amazing in which her sis also acted...I think the name was KARB)
Babra came from movies--to--TV and did a bumper serial "ZEIR ZABR PEISH" of the GREAT HASINA MOIN (ZINDABAD) and exceled. She however, stood helpless in NADAAN NADYA due to the cast like Bilal Sarhadi etc...thought the story was not weak and neither was Mohsin Ali's direction. BABRA went to the film industry from Karachi where she was popular in advertisements and of course the highly sought business on shaadi-biyah celebrations of mehendi and dances etc...with her sister Fakhra. Her major break came when she was betted for the lead opposite Ghulam Mohiuddin in MERA NAAM HAI MUHABBAT...thereafter started the deluge..followed by SHAHIDS and WAHIDS and all sorts! including Ayaz Naik and Faysal as her heros! Her best part is that she transformed herself well--from MISS 420 to LADY CHATTERLEY !
Wait a minute, Babra started from Mohsin Sherazi's "gar tu bura na maanay' as miss 4 o clock which was before zair zabar pesh .. no? She made into movies from there ..
Oh for God's sakes Arjay -- Atiqa has *two **smash hits (out of the 3 films she starred in) *Jo Darr Gaya Woh Marr Gaya and Mujhe Chand Chahiye to her credit...she's one of the big success stories as far as the transition to cinema from tv is concerned!
Talat Hussain performed brilliantly in the last decent film the Lahore film machinery (and not Shoaib Mansoor) churned out called Laaj. If memory serves me right, he won a couple of awards as well....
Someone mentioned Babar Ali who did pretty well till he fell for the femme fatale that is Reema...
And the list goes on...television has given cinema stashes of successful talent and it will continue to be that way as television is the preferred medium for performing arts in Pakistan
Iman Ali may not have acted well in many plays but her acting in KKL was pretty good.. please mock her "fake" accent but it was required for her role..in real life she doesn't have an accent.
Vinny is a great actress, she delivers her roles and follows-thru really well.. can't say the same abt Aaminah, Nadia Hussain, Ayesha Khan..and the rest of the new batch.
Samina Peerzada started-off with television, then direction but her movie Inteha was well received in major urban centers of Pakistan.
Ghulam Mohudin, started-off with television and moved on to movies as well and is now the founder of the Actors Equity in Karachi.
Shafi Mohammed, began his career as a radio presenter then moved to drama's/serials and his movie "Biwi ho toh aisi" was a diamond jubilee film. His last film was Salakhein.. which also did fairly well compared to other movies.
Atiqa Odho, carved a niche for herself with great plays.. but she also established herself in movies like "Mujhe chand chahiye", "mummy", and "Jo dar gaya woh mar gaya"
Iman Ali is a wooden actress but kudos to Shoaib Mansoor for extracting a good performance from her in KKL. Especially in that scene with naseer, she was superb!I thought her accent wasnt bad. She did better than a lot of the other actresses in similar roles.
Oh for God's sakes Arjay -- Atiqa has *two **smash hits (out of the 3 films she starred in) *Jo Darr Gaya Woh Marr Gaya and Mujhe Chand Chahiye to her credit...she's one of the big success stories as far as the transition to cinema from tv is concerned!
Talat Hussain performed brilliantly in the last decent film the Lahore film machinery (and not Shoaib Mansoor) churned out called Laaj. If memory serves me right, he won a couple of awards as well....
Someone mentioned Babar Ali who did pretty well till he fell for the femme fatale that is Reema...
And the list goes on...television has given cinema stashes of successful talent and it will continue to be that way as television is the preferred medium for performing arts in Pakistan
Bhai mere...aap meri baat kiyon nahin samajh rahe--ya shayyad I am not being upto your standard!
I am not contesting whatever you are professing--friend!
My point is that a TV star can never be a glory in movies for very obvious reasons. And one doesn't become a STAR worth the THOUSAND days...by appearing in a movie or two or five even!
Atiqa is one of the most talented person in Pak_Showbiz that I have even declared in my TV talk show--yet to be telecast from VIBE (anyday now). But she couldn't stand the intricacies FILM WORLD is full of.... and sadly..she has not been able to prove her mettle more on big screen... which brings us back to my point of argument (if there is any..!)
However the talented a TV star may be...he or she just cannot survive the intricacies of FILM WORLD...remember that!
However a lousy actor one may be..in FILMS..will always find their way in TV World !
Talat Hussain...a master actor (my buddy of late 60's) but remained limited on big screen despite memorable roles (INSAAN AUR ADMI and TRAFFIK and I also salute him for that wee bit role in JINNAH where his performance in last round..with Chris Reeve...is amazing...when he talks about his wife..Hafeez Fatima who was killed...yet shouts PAKISTAN ZINDABAD!!! which literally brought tears in the eyes of many including myself..present there during shoot with Akbar (Ahmed) Bhai...)
Babar Ali or Saud or Momy or Gullo....were never as consistent as Mohd. Ali, Waheed Murad and Nadeem or even that bloke--Shahid ! ever thought WHY?
I never saw the movies you talk about---and i wonder why????
YOU are W.R.O.N.G ! and currently Shoaib is working on a script for a project he has in hands (NO its not KKL-II..!)...where he has no intentions of taking a hero from TV World!
IMAAN ALI ko kiyon nahin banaya...Shoaib Mansoor ne? because Imaan Ali is a bad actress and a good model !! She or Aminah Haq or Vinny..do not know the 'hijjay' of acting!!
I am not contesting your this point!
uncle Iman A.C.T.I.N.G k hijjay to janti ho gi jab hi to shoaib mansoor ne usay choose kia..anyways this is my personal opinion,i dont want to offend u
..Aur mujhe iss lafz ki hijjay nahin aati ! aur na hee samajh!
COMPLETELY...agree with you on "MY PERSONAL OPINION" word!
some of them got success like Shoib Mansoor. others i donot know.
Yaar aap tou aik aisi baat kar rahein jiska kiya jawab ya comment de.. mujh jaisa showbiz walla!
Shoman has just done one film direction KKL and that too for a TV network. He has never been a film director. So we cant discuss him in the sense that we are talking about those who went to BIG screen and progressed as a stay name there--as a hero etc.
Yes...there have been (limited) DIRECTORS...famous DIRECTORS from the BIG screen..who made it to TV productions and proved successfull there too!
Then we have people who were singers or stage actors who tried to make it into films .. Sajjad Ali, Mohammad ALi Sheiki, Omar Shareef, I think I heard that even Ali Haider tried or maybe it was a drama he acted in
The only TV singer who did make it to some level in film industry..I thought, could be none but ALAMGIR. All others were just endurance! Ikka Dukka Gaaney...and no consistency like Ahmed Rushdi, Mujeeb Alam, Masud Rana etc etc.....BUT then again..only ONE hit song can keep you alive for decades...e:g S.B.JOHN and "TU JO NAHIN HAI..TOU KUCH BHI NAHIN HAI...YE MAANA KE MEHFIL JAWAN HAI"...aur lets take SALEEM SHAHZAD..." MUHABBAT KE DEEAY JALLA LOU..." both going to film singing from Radio.....(checkout my thread titled SOME ARE OLD & SOME ARE NEW also!
Regarding ALI HAIDER...he is one bloke who still (and strongly) believes that he is SIXTEEN going on SEVENTEEN !! as far as doing roles for TV plays is concerned!
Sheiyaki (actual pronounciation) may have been good as a singer (mainly remembered for MEIN BHI PAKISTAN HOUN and ALLAN FAQEER DUO...)
SAJJAD ALI...as CHIEF SAHAB got fame and maar...both!
OMAR SHAREEF an icon on stage comedy and TV shows...but acting?....HELL NO !!
ALAM is doing better--the last time I spoke to him from Frankfurt where I convinced the Pak Community for some help on Kidney that they promised they'd revert soon....for Alam's transplantation in Abudhabi...Insha'Allah soon.
and speaking of Alamgir, why the heck PTV’s official website has no mentioning of Alamgir in its list of singers or under Hit Songs … it has (I am sorry to say) every lalloo panjoo and they missed Alamgir all together. That guy was the pioneer of what we now call pop singing in Pakistan .. who can forget **Albela Rahi **.. this is so disturbing not to find his name on the list
Arjay, sorry to say, but you've got this totally wrong. I say that despite the fact you still consider me a "friend" for which I feel sincerely honored.
There are countless TV to film success stories. Television is a more sophitisticated medium that requires actual acting and not the butt-wiggling they do now in films. I mentioned Atiqa, and really its not my fault if you never saw her films -- maybe you were too busy watching bollywood with your superstar friends from across the border -- and well Atiqa has chosen some really good scripts in film which is why she's been so well received there. In Mujhe Chand Chahiye she was there is like 50% of the frames, and carried more weight in her performance than the other two ladies Noor and Reema, and despite being cast in a middle aged character she did extremely well in the film that proved to be a major hit. In Jo Darr Gaya she was also the main female character,a nd the film did well. I mean I can't blame her if she didnt do more films given that 80% are Punjabi-Gujjar/Arayein formula types. But she did makae a career out of cinema. Now I hope Arjay Uncle -- my good friend -- you don't want to see her wriggling her butt to some Naseebo number in a Punjabi film, do you?
Saleem Sheikh, Resham, Babar Ali, Shaan [in his second coming], Humayun Saeed [4 films -- 1 hit, 1 average, 2 flops, better success rate than the 5% recovery rate for Pakistani films] and the list goes on. TV artistes usually do pretty well in films, its just that when their films don't rake in money they are noticed more because they are already regarded as established folks.