Tantawi calls for a ban on niqab

Re: Tantawi calls for a ban on niqab

Niqaab IS farj.One must refrain from inventing their versions of religion.

So what authority /authencity does the fatwa have when its given under a dictator????

I’m sure you follow any fatwas by Taliban mullahs, right? :rolleyes:

Learn how to speak proper English and then get back to me.

There is no such thing as a universal "Islamic culture". No one wants to be Arabized like you. It's not my fault you sold yourself out to the Bedouin Wahabis while ignoring your own culture.

^itni proper english mujhe bhi nai ati, lekin khair i will try :)

dhj786, what is your problem now? Kyun aap apna sar khapa rahay ho is silsalay mein.
Obvious hai that you do not like niqab, then good for you,, nahin tau na sahi.

Lekin those girls who wants to waer it, let them wear it.

Are they doing anything wrong? no they are not!
Is it anti-islamic? no it is not.
Aap ko dard hota hai? Nahin na.

I always hear from people: *live and let live! *(I.e. when somebody wants to do anything inappropriate like eating haram hamburgers, and you try to make them understand thats haram. Then you ll get to hear: live and let live).

So plz, Live and let live! :)

Last time i checked, this was not an English class which i was attending :)
Or am i wrong ??

Secondly thori si education is not a harm u know.
Without knowing someone ur accusing him of being Arabized that is totally not proper i think.

Just look what language you talk and how personal you get because you have nothing sensible to say: You!! You!! You!!.

To correct you (again!!) Arabization has nothing to do with Islamic culture specially universal Islamic culture. And only hand full of Muslims are Wahabis. They are hardliners but still they are few percent of the total Muslim population.

If there is such thing as Islamic art :)
Islamic litterature
Islamic history
Islamic science
Islamic civilization
Islamic empire

Then there is Islamic culture sweetie.

i do agree with Tantawii to some extent...our indo/paki Hijaab [burq'a] has nothing to do with islam. islam meN aurat kaa pooraa jism satar hai sivaaye haath paauuN aur chehre ke. ham indo pakistani log har cheez kii extreme meN chale jaate haiN. loose fittiing clothes...YES! but burq'a..NO!

Oh yeah right
i will tell you what i follow and what i don’t follow. lolz

Anyhow whatever i follow or believe does not make what you say right :slight_smile:

I follow Islam i don’t follow Taliban or Mullah’s

It seems your more obsessed with Mullah’s and Taliban then i am lolz

I bet you also dream about them i would not be surprised.

Niqab is not farz. It's not even sunnah. Look up the hadith's. There is a clear hadith which outlines what exactly remains uncovered, and the face is on the list.

In the Quran, I believe its Surah Nisa, requires that you as a female communicate so that they may see your face.

As per Islam, you are required to show your face.

Lekin Niqab gunah bhi nahin hai na.
Let those women who like it, wear it.

We people dont have problems with women with uncovered heads etc,
why so much fuss about niqab??

this is exactly what it should be and thats what i also said.

i wudn't go that far to say that its REQUIRED TO SHOW ur face...i wud say...u MAY show ur face**

You are right Gudia i totally agree with you but that is not the issue here
the issue here is wether one should BAN / Forbid and even fine the person who is volunteerly willing to wear niqaab.

If you talk about Tantawi he is doing this under a totally dictatorial, autocratic and brutal regime of Husni mubarak, what value does his Fatwa have???

If we believe in freedom of speech then we must tolerate others.
if something like this happens in Europe then i do understand because it does not fit in the European lifestyle but still majority of the Western countries tolerate niqaab.
Even USA tolerates it although 911 happend in USA.

if USA is not banning it then what is the purpose of Egypt to ban the niqaab.
If you ban something then it always have opposit effect.

Fatwas are a joke imo. Muslims need to start thinking for themselves instead of e-mailing a Saudi sheik for a fatwa on whether clapping is haram.

To correct you (again!!) Arabization has nothing to do with Islamic culture
This is news to the Persians and others who had their local culture Arabized by Arab imperialism. What is called Islamic culture is in reality very Arabized and increasingly so as the Saudi's are financing another wave of Arab imperialism, especially in Pakistan. That said, there are still some differences between the interpretation of Islam in various places but those differences are shrinking. Look at Pakistan and its Wahhabization/Arabization over the past 25 years.

It seems your more obsessed with Mullah's and Taliban then i am lolz
What do you expect? Just two weeks ago an Islamist plot to kill people near his home was disrupted. Of course those of us in the US care more about Islamists than those in Poland or Honduras. The US is the chief non-Muslim target of Islamists.

We people dont have problems with women with uncovered heads etc, why so much fuss about niqab??
An uncovered head is not an asset when committing a crime. Niqab is very convenient when committing crime. In Philadelphia we had 3 robberies and a murder fairly recently committed by burqa/niqab women (well, presumably they were women...).

Why so much fuss about women covering their heads? Why no talk about men covering theirs?

If you ban something then it always have opposit effect.

I agree. This is another problem with the ruling.

The US allows it because it believes in liberty; Egypt doesn't (what Muslim country does!????).

Where are u from?
which country?
lets start from there mate :)????

hehehehe
no anwser?

oh i am sorry you must be busy searching other anti Pakistani or Anti Islam article to COPY PASTE here. I can wait patiently.

US (hence me saying "those of us in the US"), my parents are from Pakistan.

Ahhhhh

and may i have the liberty to ask wether your a Muslim or not?

I am pakistani living in Holland and i am a Muslim. its only fair to tell you about myself.

I've always wondered why people think it's farz when at the most holy place of all at Hajj a woman is instructed to** not cover her face** (tho I know some women get round this by having their niqab not technically touching their face using some sort of cap thing)..

Having said that I don't think it's right to ban it outright, just as I don't veil I don't think it's fair that other women should be forced to remove the veil either.

If it's not farz, and if there is evidence to suggest that its not even sunnah, then is it not SIN o attribute any blessings to the act of covering your face?

Because then, you're making up your own rules. And making up your own rules and attributing them to God, is actually severely punishable. Be grateful that those of us on the non-niqaabi side are being lenient about allowing you guys to run around and say that niqaab has any benefit to your salvation, Islamically. Becuase if tables were turned, the niqaabi-type would not be so kind in their approach. We'd be hanging by our necks in the middle of khooni chowk.

So, if he's coming out to put a ban on this, I think he's justified. Just like if someone spread a rumor and said something crazy like "Wearing the color Black has Islamic significance", then its appropriate to come out with a statement that says "Wearing black has nothing to do with Islam".

I think that's what he's going for. The trend of niqaab has had a very negative effect on our community, and as it is not remotely even sunnah or required, it should be removed, as it is having a negative effect on our people.

You people are not getting the point
Most of my liberal, non religious and atheist friends are not pro banning niqaab or burqa
that would be "NAzism" they say :) honestly.

They believe that its freedom of speech and and thats what democrazy should stand for to protect NOT only the right of the majority but Primairly to pretect the RIGHTS of minority :)

So if the madames in black are not hurting me or you then who are we to tell them or force them not to wear niqaab or burqa or whatever.