Surname and Marriage

Re: Surname and Marriage

this shud help a few more…

A Wife Taking Her Husband’s Surname

Question: Dear scholars, As-Salamu `alaykum. Concerning names, is a woman supposed to change her family name to her husband’s name after marriage as it is in the West?

Name of Mufti A Group of Islamic Researchers

Content of Reply Wa `alaykum As-Salamu wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatuh.

In the Name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful.

All praise and thanks are due to Allah, and peace and blessings be upon His Messenger.

Dear sister in Islam, we commend your pursuit of knowledge and your keenness to seek what is lawful and avoid what is not. We earnestly implore Allah to bless your efforts in this honorable way.

As regards your question, the adoption by a woman of her husband’s family name is a purely cultural practice that has nothing to do with Islam. It should be known that, “the adoption by a woman of her husband’s family name when she marries him is a token of her being subordinate to him. Historically speaking, a woman was in a position of total subordination to her husband. In Islam, she suffers nothing of the sort. She retains her own family name because she is allowed to act independently of him. If divorce takes place, she returns to her own family. In Western countries, even after divorce, she continues to be known by her husband’s family name. This is strange indeed.”

(Source: IslamiCity.com - Islam & The Global Muslim eCommunity)

However, as far as Islam is concerned there is nothing wrong if the wife uses or be referred to with the surname of her husband.

In this context, Dr. Muzammil H. Siddiqi, former President of the Islamic Society of North America, states:

“There is no specific tradition of last name among Muslims. Sometimes the people take the last name of the family (Qurashi, Hashimi), sometimes they take their last name from their profession (Qassab, Najjar), sometimes they take their last name from the city in which they are born (Makki, Madani, Shami, Masri) and many other ways. The proper way in Islam is that the person should be known by his/her name and the name of his/her biological father. It is not required for a woman to take the name of her husband, but it is also not forbidden if she is recognized as the wife of so-and-so.”

Dr. Siddiqi further adds:

“It is permissible for a woman to change her last name after marriage. A woman can introduce herself or others can introduce her as the wife of so and so. In the ahadith, we see that the Prophet’s wives were sometimes referred to with the names of their fathers and sometimes as “wife of the Prophet”. These things are more based on cultural practices and whatever is convenient can be done. What is forbidden in Islam is that a person refers to him/herself as the son or daughter of someone other than the real biological father. Allah says in the Qur’an, “Proclaim their parentage; that is more equitable in the sight of Allah.” (al-Ahzab: 5) The Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) said, “Whosoever will claim the name of anyone other than his father will not even get the smell of Paradise.” (Reported by Ibn Majah)”

Excerpted, with slight modifications, from: PAKISTAN LINK: Largest USA based Pakistani newspaper – Latest News about Pakistan, Breaking News, World News

Allah Almighty knows best.

Wow are you that insecure as a man that you need to feel that there are thousands more research projects going on to replace men then to replace women?
I highlighted that point to show you that the way the word feminist is been used in this forum is highly inaccurate and down right offensive. But you turn it into a competition is that what really matters? Well I hope they find an infinite number of ways to eradicate women and only one way to eradicate men so you can feel even better about yourself.

I was also merely highlighting the point that such behavior can be found on both the ends of the spectrum.

Peronally, I believe "wajood e zan se hai tasveer e kainat main rang" but ofcourse for me, that refers only to nice, polite, and modest girls....not the nightmarish ones.

Is there an english translation of those pearls of wisdom

A very rough translation is that the universe has its colors due to the presence of women.

I cant imagine taking my husband's last name as my own and he never asked me too. Once someone was taking down my number and they had written my name as my first, his last, and it honestly looked soooo weird to me, like it wasnt me, it was another person. So I crossed it out and corrected it bu writing my own last name, and she was like huh why'd you do that? And I was like, because THATS my name
I find the hypernated names become very popular now among young Muslim women getting married these days, but I find that weird as well!

And dont worry, your kids wont be confused or think you arent their mommy because you have a different last name --kids are way smarter than we think!!
My SIL has kept her own last name and her kids have her husband's name. If you say her name with his last name, they start to laugh and are like thats not mommy's name! and will tell you what it is, her first and her last, not his

I think thats a generalised observation. I live with my mother and father in law - my husband (only son) pays for everything in the house and I work full time also - but my money is my money and no one has ever asked for it - but I still think to save for our future. My father in law actually told my husband to get his own place when we were getting married but i declined as well as my husband. My husband bought mashAllah a big house for us four to live in and we wouldnt even have to move if we had four children later on lol - I dont even cook/clean on a daily bais - my mother in law always does this and i help out. In the long term they are going to get older as they are in there 60s - but at present I know when it comes to having children - they will be more than happy for me to continue with my career and they can help raise my children. Because if i lived alone - i question if i could afford full or even part time child care? and the love grandparents give is much much more than we can give our own children. Also as a daughter, I personally wouldnt like it if my brother left my mum alone when he got married - I think us girls often forget how we have mums as do our husbands and we should treat them equally. There are decent in laws out there - who are not nosy/intrusive.

that was refreshing to hear after all the horror stories on here lol

Silsila i always think this way too, that i wud not like my brother n bhabi leave my parents and live somewhere alone.... I think when u have this thing in mind you have more love, respect n u care for ur in-laws... im not married yet, but InshAllah i hope n plan to live with my parents-in-law... And you've given some lovely points..

I haven't changed my surname after marriage.

My husband did ask if I am going to change it or not but I told him that I will not change and we never argued over it. But yes in the hospital I have registered my name with my husband's name as surname so that my baby could have his name as father's name on his/her brith certificate. this was a problem that I encountered when I was resgistering myself they told me to get my name registered in such a way. Other than that I am using my father's name as surname in all my business correspondence as well and yes on facebook I have included his name as *myname fathername- husbandname *, its a simple win win way to write my name.

I had changend my name after my marriage...I felt like I wasn't myself anymore...I was having two surnames...A few months later I have changed my name again...Only my dads name....