stupid old me!

Re: stupid old me!

Hey Nadz! Let me tell you the other side of the story. I have a very friendly & strong bond with my brother too. We have many things in common and have lots of fun and cute bro-sis times when we are together. I too had the insecurity that what if my bhabi to be comes out different and doesnt really let me spend time with him or maybe would alter my relation with her. But no! what she did, and i salute her for this, was she made me her best friend. She did everything possible to let things as they were. She would go shopping with me, ask me for an opinion on every single cloth she would wear, what jewellery to go with which dress, before going for the honeymoon she and i both sat down and decided her clothes for each of the 10 days, we selected wedding photographs together, we bopught gifts for my brother together, we cooked together, I even cleaned her room with her, if my brother was out of city i would sleep with her and we would talk all night, we sms each other every single day. She made sure I was given the priority. If ever i wanted something, she made sure my brother got it. E.g. i wanted to change my mobile and i just said it once but she kept pinging my brother for it till he got it for me. When he and i were together, we would have our cute bro-sis talks & cuddles and just sweet stuff. She never made faces, instead she became part of them. She started participating in those jokes, laughing on them etc. She takes pictures with us, kisses, cuddles all that like she would do to any of her own siblings. Masha Allah

The key was - she participated in every single thing of the house! she gave my parents time, she made them tea, food what ever, she talked to them, she discussed clothes or other family stuff with my mother. In no time, she took our love! Now we cant imagine the house without her. I dont know when my someone-i-merely-knew became my bhabi then my friend and now my sister. Masha Allah! Masha Allah! My famiyl is great to her but i'd give more credit to her for working hard on her relationships. Never has there been a day she complained. She took control over everything by showing interest. This is just an example you can learn from.

I think you have to work hard on your relation with your nand and your parents-in-law. From what i am seeing fromyour threads is that you arent really doing anything extra that would make you part of the gang. Suggest things like - aunty chalain aj hum donone shopping chalte hain, aunty aj nameyourbaby did this cute thing, with your nund talk about her interests.. if its make up tell her good brands, good stuff, show her your clothes etc. This way you willa ctually have more people to talk to and enjoy with. You wouldnt be complaining all the time, plus you wouldnt even make your husband go crazy. Try and take initiatives and dont hesitate too much. Your marriage has already been for quite a while that they would judge you much for what you are doing so just go ahead do stuff - Cook! talk! Discuss! shop! watch movies! do everything with your in-laws.

^ Mashallah your bhabi sounds like a gem and it seems you guys have been good to her too!

Masha Allah she is. She really put in a lot of her time, love & effort for this outcome. And yes my family treats her like me and i love that. I dont understand nadz, why should you even be jealous of it. I feel relaxed that after i will get married, there will be some one who would take care of my parents and my brother. I feel good that she wouldnt let them miss me that much.

Also - She just has a few months to live with her brother & parents, let her have those the way she wants. Its a little compromise from your end but which will put you in good books in future. Now is your time to be the best bhabi - start shopping with her, find new designs for clothes that she can make for her wedding, take her to beauty parlours for survey, get nice wedding gifts for her, if its her birthday make her a cake and do special things. If you make her feel special, your husband will recognize your efforts for sure.

Such posts reveal that there is still hope and not all DILs and in-laws are villians as majority of the posters in GS mentions them to be. It requires hardwork from both the sides and the hard work can pay off.

HOW was she in the beginning? thing is its harder for me since im their niece, and the MIL uses that against me cos im from her husbands side not hers. shes all acting. she says things to my mum. and me. shes always going to not like me cos she doesnt like anyone from her husbands side, although she tries to hide it.
they already have assumptions of me, and she says things like oh ur mum is the same....( in anything i do that she doesnt like)...so its harder. yet shes as sweet as pie infront of her husband and mine to me.

she will be be very nice only to later on throw it in my face. for eg- she took my daugfhter into her room and tried to make her slp.
the next day she told people ohh saari raat i was looking after the baby, she only sleeps with me, im so tired i havent slpt, her mum was alsp all night without a care in the world...

so its hard to fit into a family like this. u mashallah were a very loving family from the start. i dnt have that. they are not tooooo bad, its just alot of b******* really, she doesnt like. and thats that.

how long did it take to to fit in? it takesa year ive been told to fit in?? properly?in the beginning u just observe them alot. lol

the thing is that while u r indeed having problems...you have it a lot easier than most...but i can understand that since they are your problems and ur facing them...they are huge to you.

but whichever way you look at it...you CANNOT and will never succeed in controlling anyone else's actions or feelings or outlooks...the only person you have any control over is yourself.... no one is saying its gonna be easy or that it will happen overnight.... it will be HARD you will be so frustrated at times that u will wanna say CHUCK IT but if you want urself and those around u to be happy YOU unfortunately are going to have to make an effort that no one else seems to be making...YOU are going to have to bend...YOU have to take the initiative to bring about any kind of change...

it will be next to impossible to please ur MIL, but u'll do it anyway FOR YOUR HUBBY who you love...and believe it or not he loves you too...but you're driving him away by behaving like this...he's getting frustrated cuz hes pulled in all diff directions and as his life partner he expects u to be supportive...and YES you will have to be supportive even if u feel like he's doing nothing for you...because when you take the first step...he will see it and he will reciprocate...but you have to make the start and you have to be patient...because like i said aint gonna happen overnight...may take 1 week may take a month maybe 2 maybe 6, probably alot sooner once SIL is married....but it will happen... its not going to be like this forever.

it will take him a while to realize ur making an effort...once he does he will be more open to reciprocating...right now ur im sorry to say being a minor annoyance for him who is not helping anything...but once he realizes ur actually making efforts he will realize that ur his partner his support and his strength and he will start making the effort to be yours

you have to do this for YOUR SANITY and HIS

ok.

so wt shall i do. 0

The things HAPPY GO LUCKY suggested in her post #61

and then some

i.e. try not to leave baby with MIL (trust me she's just gonna complain when u get back)

if you do leave baby with MIL when u go out leave detailed instructions but in a nice manner in front of hubby..."Ma ji agar baby roye toh (do this)" "agar baby diaper ganda karde toh (do this)" make sure if u leave baby with MIL you come back sooner rather than later...

if MIL makes a big deal about anything let it roll of ur back...old ppl have a habit of complaining anyways

i dunno i could try and give u all kinds of advice specific to ur situation but at the end of the day you are going to face a varied amount of situations and you have to try and figure out how u can make things better by ur actions

try to develop a relation with ur SIL...IN FRONT of hubby please...even if she doesnt reciprocate at least ur hubby will know ur trying....

ur efforts (while they may or may not bring ur in laws around) ARE for sure going to bring ur hubby around...

ppl have given u lots of advice on how u could have handled some situations u have faced in a more positive manner...take those suggestions and apply them...

ull end up much happier than what u are right now because (1) you are going to be working at bringing about a positive change in ur life and (2) ur going to end up with a hubby who is more attune to you ...and that is what you are ultimately wanting anyways

Nadz, on a serious note, have you been to a doctor? Are you sure you are not suffering post natel depression?

post-natal depressio- cant be, i was fine in the uk, has nothing to do with my baby, i love her more than anything.

thanks for all the advice guys, i think il let u know something else- my own daddi was my step daddi, not my dads real mum, so she treated my mum and us kids like utter crap. we never got any love from her. even now- she died last year- my mum adored her, did everything for her, mum thought maybe now 30 years later she may have atleast appreciated my mum, but even in the end she wouldnt eat food cooked by my mum....anyway...

so my daughters daddi is my MIL. and u know the issues i have with her. seeing as im not used to and never had any love from my daddi, i find it odd/annoying/unsettling when i see her loving my daughter.....

does this make sense...i feel like its all a drama for her to later tell her friends/family how much she does for her grandaughter.

i shall try making more of an effort infront of hubs, but have i told u guys she my age, not younger. if she was a chuld or teenager, i could try harder. seeing as she is an adult, i feel really odd trying to be her friend like im in kindergarten....does this make sense?

understand your hesitations but you, yourself have identified that your relationship with ur daadi is coloring ur view of how ur daughter's daadi behaves with her... ur situation was different...ur daughter's is different... there is no reason to doubt the love ur MIL feels for her own son's daughter..it's just ur own issues with ur daadi that are causing u to feel that way (good thing is you Identified that urself, so every time you find urself thinking that way grab urself by the shoulders give urself a good shake and say stop it nadz...ur daughter's daadi is not ur daadi...she honestly loves her granddaughter)

as for ur SIL, i understand ur hesitation there too...but no matter how old an SIL is even if she was older than u...u should try to bond. like you would with a new girlfriend you were trying to make close friends with ...and the only reason why i said you should make more efforts especially in front of your hubz is so that even if no one reciprocates your efforts at least hubz will be witness to the fact that you have been trying...this will make him feel more protective of you...but dont make the mistake of being friendly in front of him but mean behind his back...

and for the record...I understand what you're going thru... i dont think ur stupid and i dont think ur exaclty over-reacting...if i was in ur shoes i would feel alone and scared and i would be turning to the only friend (my hubz) i wud think i had in what i saw as a "slightly" hostile environment, a bit of a minefield...and if he wasnt there for me either I would be depressed and screaming inside...

i understand

but we are all trying to get u out of it...unfortunately its the scared person who's going to have to do all the work (at least initially) to get herself out of this feeling of fear, frustration, and loneliness...like i said you have to take the initiatives or else you're going to be stuck in this situation for the duration ur in Pakistan...and maybe even if u move back to the UK....better to swim...rather than sink...init?

Ok just now I told hubby let's take ur mum out for dinner as its mothers day in pak tomrow I also suggested a gift and later I offered my chocolates I had bought from uk to the sister in law because I knew shje liked them now me mil and sil are sitting in one room and both ask eacjh other if they want a milkshalke I'm sitting there no oone asks me sil makes the milkshake and brings two glasses one for her and her mun. I found this rude. This is the kind of behaviour thye do wen hubs and fil are not at home. Block me out.

ok that is rude! maybe u shud have said to yr sil jokingly that "mein bi idhar behti huwi hun............mujh c bi puch lo" or something like that. bt i m nt sure how wise that wud b cuz im nt married so i dnt know if tht cud bakfire at u.

i dnt know wat to say to this, this is weird cuz ok fine i assume from yr posts yr mil was against his son marrying you but its done now. no need to make things worse by acting stupid like this.

I agree that is rude, they should have asked if you wanted milkshake too.
Nadz you are going to have to face facts, they don't like you. You can't control their behaviour you can only control your own, yes it is mean for them to block you out but why can't you get a life of your own that does not revlove around been accepted by them. Be a bit selfless, be nice to them and expect nothing in return, find your own happyness.
Get out there and establish yourself as an independent women responsible for your own happyness.
You could learn to sew and start a home business selling suits, that way you could meet lots of new women.
Tutor local children in your area in English, you could pick up lots of pushtu from the children too.

The truth is Nadz if you were happy within yourself nothing your mil or sil does would affect you.

let them... if you can let it roll off you back please do....and keep doing ur thing....u took the first step and i think thats great...i told u before u may not get a good response from SIL and/or MIL but at least u will get one from ur hubby...a little while down the line...

Ok so I made extra effort today I kno my nand likes the chocs I got from uk so I offered her some told my husband to get his mum a gift for mothers day tomrow and we take her for dinner etc wenever I make anythn I always offer anyone else. Even if they not in the room I'll go to their room and ask. Today just now she asked her mum and both asked each other if they wanted a milkshake. I was there no one asked me she $made it and bought 2 glasses one for her and her mum. I was sittn there and she nor mum had the politness to ask if I wanted some. This is wat their like wen hubby and fil not around.

That is almost word for word your post #75, why are you posting the same story twice?

lol at post # 75 and 79.. really nadzzz really??? you are so much fun like always!!!