Sehri and Iftari Today ...

Re: Sehri and Iftari Today ...

not having any luck with sehri, I didn't get up again :(

Iftaar dates, our fav fruit chaat, few pakoras with poodina dahi, and guava juice.
dinner corn pea rice with beans and salad.

I made pakoras with grated potato, thinly sliced onion, dill, coriander, mint, turned out great. The only thing is there shouldnt be too much besan, should be just enough so that veggies are peeping through, otherwise they become very mote mote pakoras.

Hubby is travelling for business will be back on sat inshallah, hoping to make a toot paro iftari and dinner that day :)

Today at Sehri, wasn't hungry at all as I think I ate too much at iftar lol. But-Day 3Sehri - a few pakoray again with ketchup, some watermelon, small bowl of cereal and water.Iftar - roti with chooza salan, couple of pakoray, cucumber, mango juice and a strawberry tart.

Yes CB, I made lemonade with fresh lemon, water, and sugar and added a couple tablespoons of Rooh Afza in it. it was really refreshing. Hubby loved it!

This is the Pakora recipe:

In 2 cups of besan add: 1 tsp salt, 2tsp crushed red chilies, 2 tsp crushed coriander seeds, 1tsp red chilli powder, 1/2tsp baking powder, 1 thinly sliced onion, chopped spinach, 4-6 green chillies, 1 large potato cut into thin small triangles.

Mix everything with approx. 1 cup water. let it sit for 1/2 - 1 hour. (add the onions just before frying or they will become soggy!)

Deep fry and enjoy :)

These pakoras taste just like the store bought ones I used to eat in Karachi :)

missed sehri last night - alarm didnt go off :(
iftari: rooh afza, 3 nacho bites (literally :D), khajoor
then dinner .... baby spinach/mushroom/walnut salad+smoky sweet honey mustard dressing, fettuccine pasta+shrimp in a mild citrus sauce

chai, vanilla cake with strawberry filling.

yesterdays iftar: lots of watermelons,1 roll and few tbsp of macroni.

sehri:1 glass milk added 1 tbsp of tukh malanga (sweet basil seeds) 1 apple and a shami kabab sandwich i added 3 leaves of spinach and some shredded cabbage in it to make it more healthy and filling.

Re: Sehri and Iftari Today …

Awww sorry to hear you didnt wake up :frowning: Hope the roza goes well today inshallah … it should be your husband getting excited for the toot paro iftari , but at the moment its me jumping with excitement and I dont even get to eat that aftari … tough luck :frowning:

I like the mention of chooza salan :cb: … is it any different from chicken salan? though I know out of guilt for the poor chooza’s dying young , I would never be able to make the salan myself .. but out of curiosity just asked the question :@:

Thanks so much SaKs .. I will try it inshallah one of these days :hugz:

Apple , her cheez ki counting hi kerti reti ho :emmy: you need a hearty meal … Do you not get Flaxseed in your part of the world? add a teaspoon or two of that in yoru cereal or sammich in the morning .. its good fat so wont stick to your body and will give you that fuller feeling for longer …

I did alright, iftari was: a grapefruit, a piece of chicken, some salad, and snacked on fruits and low fat yogurt. resisted the urge to eat cookies :@:

Ehle, pooor nachos why would you do this to them .. they must be feeling so unwanted , just 3? :no: … Nachos ka real mazaa : finish a whole pack off frantically in less then 30 seconds :yummy:

you had cake :crying: … I was all adamant all day long i will have it … and right after eating biryani … I couldnt even take a saans properly, I was so full … just watched the cake for a good 5 minutes and went to sleep :frowning: :frowning:

I had a paratha with coconut yoghurt this morning for sehri and large glass of Vimto :@:

**will try to add flaxseeds in my diet INSHALLAH :rolleyes: but i add 1tbsp of this thing in my cereals / oats poridge

:cb: 3 bites cause if I feed my husband more then that he cant/wont eat proper dinner … but yeah I’m with you … I would rather have nachos and a whole lot of them too!
:rotfl: @ watching the cake … you must’ve looked like a naadeedi billi … :smiley:

you are definitely gonna shed pounds :)

At Iftari yesterday, i had 2 dates and water. Followed by butter chicken, mixed veges, boiled rice (half plate), half naan and 1 Gulab jaman :yummy:

At Sehri today, i had a date, one vanilla waffle, 3 almonds and a cup of tea!

yup I totally looked nadeedi billi :lifey: I had no choice … you know its like you want to have that sweet goodness all day long and when finally you can have it , you still cant coz you are too full :naraz:

Sehri today: Bran flakes, Fried egg and toast, lamb sausages, tea and water
**Iftari today: **Onion pakoray, lamb samosa, peas chaat, aloo takari roti

Butter chicken :yummy:

iftar: samoosa with imli chatni, ganji(someone sent for iftar) in south india ppl make this, gangi is between porridge and kichri, it is savory, this one had bit of qeema in it too, it was quite light and soothing kind, 2 dates and fruit chaat. I am stuffed today :)

Dinner, my son wanted McDonald, so I had 6 inch tuna sub with jalapenos, and sweet onion sauce.

For some reason I don't had the wired cravings I used to have during ramazan, the weather is super nice and cool, pata bhi nahi chalta rooze ka mashallah.

Where do you live ? Australia ?

INSHALLAH :@:

Iftaar : 1 khajoor , chicken biryani , kheeray ka raita , dahi baray.

For iftar today I am thinking of making pakoray coz hubby’s been asking me since 1st of Ramadan " aaj pakora nai hai bi " … I will give into him wish today :hmmm:

I think i will have a croissant with pakoray … not the best combo in the world but got no choice , there’s tonns of them croissants left in the fridge and before they go off might as well eat em up..