Ramadan starts tomorrow inshallah for many of us .. Ramadan Kareem to you all and wish you all peace and happiness .
I have opened this thread specifically on the request of many members , lets share what we have in sehri and iftar every day .. you can share pictures as well .. Please do maintain active participation and make this inspiring for everyone here
i'm unable to fast but i do get up at saHrii time to make tea for my family and a chance to participate in the family sahrii. i take my breakfast early with them and restrict my food intake during the day to observe the Hurmat-e-siyaam.
we usually have the regular breakfast. some have cereal, some have toast, some have paraTha etc...
...this year since the Iftar time is past 9 pm so we decided to just break the fast with khajoor and then straight to dinner after maGhrib.**
i have also decided no pakoras and parathas this ramadan. so today is first sehri in about 1 hour and i am having tea right now and i am full ( just ate something without looking at time)so kind of only tea for today.
these decisions are like **'New Year's Resolutions'****, honestly!
when Ramadhan comes and you actually start fasting, all those resolutions go out the window because hunger and desire to eat anything and everything supersedes all willpower and mouth-watering starts at the first thought of Pakoras and all things yummy for Iftar and before you even know about it, you start drooling all over...lol...and as a result you see your table full of nice iftaar pakwaans. :)
ham insaan haiN is liye nihaayat hii kamzor ul qawaa saabit huye haiN is liye pahli fursat meN shikam sair ho jaate haiN**** :) *therefore, we must NOT feel guilty about it at all :)*
^Yeah you are right. But this ramadan, i will "try" to cut down on fried items, like no pakoras daily, maybe twice a week and wo bhi ziada nahi. I will try to go for baking instead of frying like baking samosas and spring rolls. Also no paratha. Brown bread all the way, though i will go for sides like low fat flavored yogurt or tea or smoothie or something else to fill me up at sahoor.
Good Luck :) but, that's exactly how it all starts when we allow ourselves with little :) i always fell victim to this allowance when i used to fast :(
for sehri tonight, I'll start off with the traditional paratha, omlette, left -over chicken karahi (if husbands wants it) yougurt, chai, water
for iftar ... with such late iftar ... planning on khajoor, water/roohafza, then dinner ... aloo qeema, salad, raita, roti. fruit/icecream if hubby can muster the strength to eat more :D
I had a 1 egg omelette, and some porridge and tea, hubby had paratha, fried egg and last nights leftover salan.
I am really going to try to be healthy this year as far as iftari is concerned and cut out fried stuff as much as possible, however hubby has already said he wants pakora’s and spring rolls tonight
Hubby didnt want any greesy stuff this ramadan ..he wanted brown bread sammich with tea … But I daant him up like a mother and force fed him paratha with keema and green chutni
so poor him, he heard the following phrases from me this morning at sehri :
" nakhray kiye tou you will get it from me yeah? " *me staring with fire filled eyes along with the daant *
" you dont want to behosh ho ki gir right in the middle of the day , do you? " ( he just rolled eyes non stop )
and it was no ordinary paratha .. I mixed two teaspoons of Flaxseed powder in them too .. so it was super heavy …