Quota system-is it justified: split from Karachi blood bath

Why is it that everything in Pakistan has to boil down to who is punjabi and who is “muhajir” and who is not? Is it too difficult for people there to look beyond their parochial interests for the sake of the country they inhabit?

It is one thing if you have a “quota system” for minorities/disadvantaged groups; it is quite another if you have a system where the relatively better off groups are the ones benefiting from such a system. Both “muhajirs” and punjabis come under the latter category so it is amusing that they the ones with an enviable share of quotas reserved for them.

Is it possible to have quotas for Sindhis and Balochis while at least the punjabis and the muhajirs compete on merit? I think it is. After all there is a thing known as affirmative action where the disadvantaged groups receive priority to an extent but other groups do not have a fixed share of seats in colleges/jobs allocated for them in advance. It is win-win situation because it allows upward social mobility for the disadvantaged segments of society, diminishing resentment, while still ensuring that meritocracy is not completely stripped off in the process.

I think I missed the memo on that. It would be interesting if you could substantiate your outrageous claim with some facts or statistics.

Pakistan was created on the basis of “Pakistan ka matlab kia, la illaha illala” so assuming these “upians and cpians” were muslims, did it occur to you that there might have other reasons that drew them to Pakistan? Hindus and Sikhs continued to pour into India well after 1940s and it was not exactly the lure of jobs in India that propelled them to leave their ancestral lands for good.

From someone whos father was offered a ticket by MQM to contest elections, i wont expect anything different than what you wrote above.

I agree with you on this. The qouta should not be on basis of ethnicity but on basis of social circumstances like for students studying in village schools or inhabitants of far off areas etc. Neverthless, my father and uncles came from villages, studied in village schools and yet competed with city dwellers from Lahore, Pindi, Islamabad on merit and became engineers, economists, army officers without help of any qouta.
The point here is that a priveleged community considers itself as discriminated against, i don't buy that.

O.K, lets not scrap it, but at least we can reform it. As it stands now, it benefits a certain type of Lahori (the Model Town / Defence lot) who use to it to get jobs in the government, while almost all Urdu-speakers struggle to get anything. I am quite happy for a 20% quota on those who are deprived or belong religious minorities, while 80% should be on merit. It would go someway to reduce the tension in Karachi, and in the long term support for the MQM.

Icon,

My lot are orignally from Rohtak, (they would love to speak like Lukhnawis!!!), and I can tell from personal experience, that the Shaukat administration tried there hardest to keep the Ambala Division refugees (non-Punjabis like Meos etc from East Punjab) out of the province. Sarah Ansari has written quite a bit on this. But lets not get stuck in history.

I am pretty sure that there are no quotas in the premier institutions in India. May be Queer, Punjabee, Bitto e.t.c can confirm it, but I am sure the IITs are exempt.

Re: Quota system-is it justified: split from Karachi blood bath

Faculty quota system prevails in IITs, says Sibal

Quotas are route to inequality at IITs, IIMs - dnaindia.com

Your well of the mark here.There are more mohajirs in north and central punjab then in seraiki belt.Lahore has more mohajirs then multan and bahawalpur put together.Infact hyderabad has less mohajirs then lahore.check out the stats before opening your mouth.

Muhajir (Pakistan) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

1. Karachi, Sindh 6,500,000 (identifying themselves as Urdu Speakers)
  2. Lahore](Lahore - Wikipedia), Punjab 1,000,000
  3. Hyderabad, Sindh 700,000
  4. Multan](Multan - Wikipedia), Punjab 225,000
  5. Rawalpindi, Punjab 175,000
  6. Sukkur, Sindh 150,000
  7. Bahawalpur](Bahawalpur - Wikipedia), Punjab 125,000
  8. Mirpur Khas, Sindh 125,000
  9. Nawabshah, Sindh 100,000
  10. Islamabad, Capital Territory 100,000
  11. Sanghar, Sindh 75,000

Note: Figures are estimations based on the 1998 census of Pakistan and are rounded up to allow for slight population growth since the time of the report.

wrong there are quotas in india.They have quotas for dalits(untochables),minorities and other caste based reservations.

I think the discussion should not go on to ethnic divide which is futile.

Quota system promotes it and that is a fact.

One question for many people here who are immigrants outside Pakistan.

Will they like the same system outside Pakistan for themselves and be discriminated based on their immigrant status and population, as opposed to get the entry to schools and jobs based on merit?

Yes or No?

diwana bhai, there are two facets of this issue, one is: people caiming that MQM's support is due to qouta system. It may be partially true, but, atleast its not true at present. Proof is that qouta system issue has not been raised by MQM with its allies PPP,ANP.

Second is, if qouta system should be abolished. Affirmative action for underprivieged has been accepted as norm in many parts of teh world, i feel there is nothin wrong with it. I do agree that it needa major change to ensure that truely underprivileged people get the benefit and not the rich of under privileged areas.

and he denied it, at least some moral values are left. But i don't see the connection between my post & mqm ticket??

Punjabism is an issue it was before and it is today. And quota system promote discrimination it must be gone !

^Tusi theek ho paa jee

^ mehrbani janab, tuawadi !

Kakey,

If you read carefully, it says Parliament is debating a bill to extend quotas to IITs. So as things stand they are exempt.

As I have said, I am happy with affirmative action, but the not corrupt bankrupt system we have now.

Icon Sahib,

One of the unique aspects of Muhajir nationalism, and a Dutch anthropoligist Verkaik has done a good study, is the deep dislike of the quota system. The MQM mobilised the Muhajirs by there intial opposition to the quota system. So with out understanding the quota, you cannot understand the situation in urban Sindh.

I doubt the figures for Lahore, as there is tendency among urban Punjabis to claim Urdu as there first language. And secondly, what are the percentages, how much of Lahore is Urdu speaking. I have several relatives in Multan, and Muhajirs occupy distinct neighbourhoods.

As far as I know, Lahore is one of the most homegenous cities in South Asia, so need for Bal Thakray or Shiv Sena like organization. My wife is Lahori Punjabi, of mixed Kashmiri and Arain background. My Susrali tell me even caste wise, its mainly Kashmiri (Butt Mir etc) and Arain (Chaudhary & Mian). Both these castes ape the Muhajir culture, teach there kids Urdu, eat Paan and listen to ghazals. My wife speaks better Urdu then me. I suspect a lot of the Urdu speakers in Lahore belong these communities.

:cb: Muhajir ‘culture’?? :cb:

Pathans, Sindhis, Balochis, Pathans, Punajbis have a long and ancient culture. ‘Muhajirs’ do not.

Chewing paan and speaking Urdu is hardly a ‘culture’.

Do not make Muahjirs look silly by making such immature and unfounded statements

that’s despicable dude, they rightly cry !

I know bhai sahab what you are saying but quota system has nothing to do with underprevildged. (It is based on population) It is a shield which people use to support this unjustified system.

The system should be helping underprevigliged not encouraging it. Lets face it. The system as it is has not helped underpreviliged areas to have sufficient motivation to become better.

Many countries try to get handicapped people deaf/mute/ physically handicapped individuals through some quota and that is fine. These people have no choice and are left behind due to natural causes.

Glad to see you are for a major change.

My question is largely unanswered.