Posting Pictures Of Iftari All Over Facebook.....

Re: Posting Pictures Of Iftari All Over Facebook…

I started adding flax meals to our drinks, it makes it really filling, provides fibers, omega 3s and proteins.

There are many hadith about not eating too much, here is one.

A good faith will not promote anything that will create disharmony. Many people eating too much will result in many people going hungry. Supply and demand equation will mean food prices will go up and poor won’t be able to afford sustenance.

[TABLE=“width: 100%”]

Narrated Nafi’: Ibn 'Umar never used to take his meal unless a poor man was called to eat with him. One day I brought a poor man to eat with him, the man ate too much, whereupon Ibn ‘Umar said, "O Nafi’! Don’t let this man enter my house, for I heard the Prophet saying, “A believer eats in one intestine (is satisfied with a little food), and a kafir (unbeliever) eats in seven intestines (eats much food).”

Don’t be jealous if someone cooks or has better food pics then yours :stuck_out_tongue:

To each his own , ramadhan comes once a year and everyone has its own way of doing it

Supply comes with demand

It’s a trend and many just blindly follow so

There are plenty who have posted simple pics of iftari anyway

Don’t think it’s right to judge a person religiousity​ by their iftaar

My post clearly points out that fasting is obligatory and the purpose of fasting is not empathy.
I do not condone posting pictures of food anywhere or even eating in public if you can’t give what you are eating to all those who can see you eat it. Nor do I condone eating till you are about to vomit. But, fasting is an obligatory action, A pillar of islam.
You had your facts wrong. The purpose of fasting is not what you think it is. As well as, people overeating while breaking fast is not the reason others are poor. Islam not only promotes Zakat but makes it obligatory.

You had your facts wrong and that is all I wished to correct. Whether you are willing to change your mind and become more flexible or stay judgemental is totally up to you. I will not argue over it.

All that food (although you are also exaggerating) is not for one person only. People usually open their fasts together with family and friends. Just like how you have posted how your children’s friends love your excellent cooking skills so they often come over for dinner, hence you make sure there is enough food for everyone.
Bilkul aise hi doosrun ke rishtedaar dost atey hain unke ghar khaanay.

Not as if you don’t know that already though.

Also, there are many Ahadees about how one should not lie, be arrogant and brag. Did you not read those?

I doubt if goray drink rooh afaza but yes, it is readily available in stores of sub-continent origin. Interestingly, it was on sale ($3.99) the other day (last Friday) at an Indian store.

I will be a bigger man and admit that I am envious and miss my days of glory where i would be invited to Iftar parties with a spread rivaling those of kings. Pakoras, samosas, fruit chat, dahi balas, kebabs, chicken mutton, pulao, naan, sharbat..hai kahan gaye woo din. But then greed is immoral, Prophet (SAW) has said many times do not eat till full stomach and he did set an example of that.

If supply came with demand than 800 million people wouldn’t go hungry. Why can’t we judge people gorging where their brother is starving?

Did you read the Ahadees about making false accusations? I don’t consider myself a religious person and am aware of my flaws. I do take issues with when people claim religiosity but their actions maybe only self-serving. People would love inviting us over so I have been to many parties where it was a gorge fest. At a gora 100 dollar plate dinner you get to pick one main course whereas many of these parties had several main courses eg, kebab, Korma, Tandoori chicken, pilau etc. And this after lavish Iftari of samosa, dahi ballas, fruit chaat, pakoras etc.

I consider myself very humble, I picked up garbage outside my showrooms and didn’t ask my assistants to do it. I cook, I clean, I mow and shovel. I have seen arrogant men who eat, do dakkar while their wives pick up their plates.

Yes I have read. But where have you seen me making false accusations about you?
It doesn’t take much money at all to make several dishes, especially the ones that you mentioned. Seriously. Let people enjoy things. It doesn’t make them less religious, neither does it mean that they are not humble or whatever negative name you want to give them.

Ji, aap tau humbleness ke namoonay hain. If you google the word ‘humble’ then solely your name and pictures show up on the first 5 pages.

Aho … kis rang ki dhoti aur kis siza ka lota chahiay?:chai:

You accuse me of lying all the time, although it really doesn’t matter to me. I just see it as a reflection of your own values. I teach my children to never make accusations without 100 percent proof. Bridgette once told me that a person who is untrusting should not be trusted.

The menu you described seems pretty standard, especially in the context of a dawat. The iftar portion of it is neither very expensive to make nor that time consuming (unless perhaps quantity becomes a factor). There may be some scope to argue that it is extravagant if this is all for one person or a small family, but certainly not in the context of dawat where there is a large guest list. Even then I don’t see it as a basis to complain about anything nor to judge anyone.

Do you really believe that this type of eating is resulting in a short supply of food in general? Practically I can see that being the case with one or two items but certainly not the general availability of food being affected and causing people to go hungry.

This thread is like we start objecting on Christmas why they waste so much money on decoration, food, wine etc.

Unless we are strictly following all Islamic values (actually not even after that), who are we to judge and criticize others on posting pics of food or whatever. They have their lives, their food, their FB page. If you dont like it, just remove them from the feed. Thats all.

And religion is a deep subject. Just googling and copy/paste doesnt make anyone a guru. Otherwise listen to those who know more.

Says one who himself cooks 3 KILOs of Meat at one time! is that acceptable empathy towards the Poor? :hypo:

There are articles after articles about holiday weight gains during Christmas and there is an amazing drive for charity and for giving toys and gifts to less fortunate children. Most big celebrations here ask for a donation for the food bank. @Captain_Obvious there are people who are overeating and 800 million hungry people so it is about distribution. There really needs to be awareness about eating properly in our culture which is plagued by heart disease and diabetes. Look at the pakora platter this loving wife posted on Facebook she made for her hubby. It is more like a cardiac arrest in a plate. Just that plate is like 1500 calories and the meal sherbet, pilau korma is yet to come.

Wait…wait.

So you just copied these pics from someone else’s Facebook???

Please confirm only in YES or NO

Sagar it was 6 kg my friend, we just finished the Nihari today. I ate it for 5 days straight and mostly eat one food item at a time. I was involved in the gorge fest before and almost killed me. Most peeps were consuming 5k cals in that meal. Sometimes I cook a meal to eat for many days

Yeah that dawat circuit is a killer man. I am walking hiking 10 to 15k a day to undo what the dawats did to me.

I get them in my Facebook feed from random people I don’t even know. I dont know why I get them, I guess they are public sites.

Ahan..So you my friend do copy pictures from the FB posts of others to GS.

Well, that explains it all.

Is it only pics or life stories as well?

Of course, every second brown kid was a PADI certified scuba diver at 14, competitive kayaker etc for me to steal pics from. Do you know any? let me know. I am guessing they are the only Pakistani competitive kayakers in North America.