Posting Pictures Of Iftari All Over Facebook.....

So I am seeing floods of pictures of incredible feasts and Iftaris all over my fb, this has me confused, isn’t the holy month for sacrifice and humility and what is the point of not eating all day if you are going to gorge yourself on a feast fit for a king at sunset. Rather than feeling the pain of the underprivileged, this makes even someone like me feel deprived. So if the grocery bill doubles than where is the sacrifice and haven’t really seen any of the people on fb work to feed the hungry. So is this acceptable behavior?

Re: Posting Pictures Of Iftari All Over Facebook…

no its not.. log din me sote aur aftari time khaabay khaa rahe hote hain.. and mostly to roza rakhte hi nahi upar se besharam samne hi khaa pee rahe hote hain… :bummer:

P.S: o koi sharam hoti hai koi haya hoti hai koi ethics hote hain etc etc…

you are talking about taqwa [piety] while siyaam [fasting] is fard [obligatory]…taqwa comes with pure intention, fear of Allah and it takes time…bare minimum is the starting point for anyone, even the most m utaqqii person on earth.

My wife had only some fruits, I made her some Roohafza in milk and kids insisted on making her some nachos. This I can totally respect.

Rooh-Afzaa in Canada?
Do gorays drink our rooh-Afzaa ?

I try to avoid eating too much or anything really fancy so that I can pace myself for Taraweeh and other ibadaat. The way I see it is that if someone is fasting during the day, avoiding food and drink at that time then that duty is fulfilled and it is ones own choice how much they eat when they can. For myself, the time is too valuable to just use in eating.

Desi stores have crates of those, I put in milk and add whole bunch Tukh Malanga in it, kids love it. I drank 4 glasses and didn’t eat any roti.

Ooh I do that too, it is literally the best drink to have after fasting, so refreshing and delicious. Although currently we don’t have rooh afza because someone forgot to buy it lol but even just milk, light sugar, and tons of chia seeds with a hint of coconut shreds is so good.

I remember the hadith about Ammal and Niyyat, I feel the purpose of roza is to make you have empathy for the hungry and if you post pictures of feasts that will make even someone like me envious then how is that keeping in the spirit of the month. Actions required have a reason and purpose and if we forego the reason then what good is the action.

The empathy for the hungry is something may come along with it but not the purpose itself. My purpose during the month is to get closer to Allah by developing discipline/good habits to carry on even after the month.

Given my purpose, there are more important things for me to focus on than eating. As for others, as long as they’re eating when it’s permissible to eat, I don’t see a problem with that.

No comments on the bold part. It speaks for itself.

I doubt those pictures are that extravagant as you are making it seem. Also, how do you know that those people don’t have empathy for the hungry or don’t help the hungry. Do you want them to post and brag about their charity work and donations? Don’t judge, live and let live blabla, right?
Good for your wife that she kept it simple. Let the others enjoy in their way.

Too much irony here.

How can one feast and also claim sacrifice? If you create scarcity of food and food prices double then the poor suffer more.

maswak bhee milti hai aur naswar bhee
hukam karookia chahiay:sunnyboy:

mashaALLAH very nice :slight_smile:

dhoti & lota milta hai?? :hehe:

Seriously??!!

Read this :

The purpose of fasting is not empathy. It is submission to Allah (swt) and following his command. Fasting is for Allah.

As kkf also pointed out, fasting is obligatory and taqwa is another level of piety.

Similarly, Zakat is obligatory and anything beyond that is more pleasing to Allah. (this is for the feast and claiming sacrifice part of your post)

Don’t belittle the people who are fasting just because they feast when it is permissible to eat. Their act is between them and Allah.

I never understood the posting of everything you eat outside of Ramzan either; much less the posting of other minute details of one’s life.

Iftar should be simple; that is not only healthier but also makes namaz easier. A full stomach is not conducive to the development of the rooh. During this month, one tries to read Quran and engage in other forms of ibadah, tries to earn forgiveness, etc.

OP, if one is concerned about the sentiments of the poor…then one also shouldn’t mock others for lower socioeconomic status…perceived or otherwise.

Aik taraf to shake one’s head at the overindulgence of food that the poor cannot afford. And doosri taraf kisi ka mazaq urana for thinking that they are poor or can’t afford for their family or shop at the dollar store.

Yes, we ALL get it…that you believe your family and lifestyle to be superior to everyone else’s. But that can prevent one from looking inside themselves to see where their own weaknesses are.

There is poverty based upon circumstances and then there is poor attitude where people maybe lazy, refuse to practice proper hygiene, are belligerent, undisciplined, unstructured etc. These people mostly depend on hardworking people to support them thru their taxes. Most taxpayers have misgivings about such people. Most of the unemployed and underemployed in North America are people not wanting to work. My wife’s BIL is one example, I got him a job and he yelled at young part time clerks, he threatened coworkers, slammed the boss’s door. He has a history of losing it at work. Do I feel sorry for him, Take a guess.

You know your wife’s BIL, but you do not personally know the members on GS. It’s one thing to call someone out for faults that you have seen in real life and it’s quite another thing to use socioeconomic status to ridicule people you don’t know and have never met. And you have made that mistake on this forum, hence you lose validity when you criticize people that have extravagant iftars.

If a person has many posts on a forum it is very easy to know them inside out. Normally just reading a few lines by a person it is easy to know they are negative, angry and a total misfit in this society and they will not make an effort to improve their circumstances. The same way there are many winners on this forum who I can predict with a lot of confidence will have a successful life. Very simple, opinions and thoughts translate to actions which have consequences.