Physical abuse possible?

Re: Physical abuse possible?

Paheli, you're a great poster and I respect you.

However, if this was all face to face and a abused woman came to me the last thing I would do is tell her more horrific stories. I think I'd be able to make my point without telling her ''hey you can be mauled ya know''.

Please don't take offense as I may be wrong but its just my view!

^there is obviously differences between Pahelis and Lateefays :hehe:

Shak:

Thank you & I appreciate the feedback. No offense taken. :)

In this particular situation, OP is not abused (well, emotionally maybe...but so far, not physically). However, as soon as she signs the papers and starts living in the same house as him.....then she'll be in the exact same position as his two sisters and mother. Heck once she's in his house, he could easily hold her prisoner (I'm sure we've all heard of stories of this).

My goal is to prevent OP from becoming another abused woman. Because she herself has not experienced the physical violence yet, her "love" for him is making her blind to the danger she's putting herself in. The story I mentioned was a family we knew very close. The Pakistani man who went crazy was friends with my father for over 20 years. I knew his wife and both the boys. The wife had confided in my mother that they were having problems.....but of course, the people who knew about the problems couldn't even imagine he could commit such a horrific act and never advised the wife to take serious precautions.

Perhaps my method of dealing with OP comes from personal experience but the mistake my mother made....is the same exact one I see people make over and over again in these situations. The warning signs are almost always there but no one wants to believe that someone can be capable of going nuts one day. No one wants to talk about the worse case scenario. If my story scares the hel* out of OP then that's good. She needs to wake up from her la-la land (ie. all the "love" she has for him and the "good times"), and realize just how easily she could become just another statistic.

all other things aside, only this thing is very disturbing , honestly speaking this is enough to ened the relation, i know its not easy it will be painful but seeing the whole scenario it can be more painful after shadi.

with all due respect, after the feedback you’ve been given, you’re making excuses for yourself and your own life. it’s not going to affect any of us whether or not you choose to listen to sense or go on a “feeling” that will go away with time. i think your feelings are mostly manipulated by the different sides of him and that’s pretty sad because you cannot allow yourself to ignore or look past his indiscretions, especially those which can prove fatal to you in the future and travel on the coat tails of hope that he won’t treat you like he does to his family.. which is apparently “not a habit of doing it all the time” it shouldn’t be done AT ALL.

if he had any respect for you or any other women, then he wouldn’t so much as raise a finger on his own sisters and his own mother. not even once. that is not what a man is, and if you think or hope that he will change after marriage then more fool you.

as far as parents are concerned, there comes a point where you can’t care too much on the reputation of your family and try to put that before your own safety because evidently this is serious and your fear and emotions throughout your posts clearly show this. you’re gonna have to man up a little and rip the band-aid off as fast as you can for the family. people will always talk instantly, in the long run atleast you’ll be safe.

why am i talking like as if i have any idea of what i’m saying. ignore if you wish. peace homeboys.

after reading your posts and rest of the replies given to you....i would just say....you have been blessed with the opportunity to end this relationship for your own sake....if a man can say before marriage that he would not like to see your parents and not feel happy if you would visit them....if a man can ask for jahaiz...which makes him totally less of a man....if his parents dont treat your parents and you well even before the marriage....and after all this you go ahead with it...then khud paon par kulhari marnay wali baat hay...

marriage does not work with lovey dovey , i cant live without him, i wont let you go easily etc etc types of statements.....it requires lots of effort on both the parts....why do you want to make things difficult for you? once you get into this situation , you will regret big time for ignoring these signs.....living with a new family and man is itself a quite diffiicult thing...requires lots of adjustment and compromises...but living with a family and man who dont respect you...your family...lie to you...disrespect even each other will be like living in hell.....talk to your parents...tell them your concerns ...i am sure they would want to be respected by your husband and his family....and they would also want them to respect you as well..not beat the hell out of you:)....getting out of this situation right now is more easy than surviving in such a horrid situation so please...think and make a wise decision.

Physical abuse possible?

Darling you need to RUN! And i bet it is damnn hard with family involved but trust me it can be done... Ive come out of a potentially failing relationship and i thank ppl on this forum for helping me out... Pls u deserve better so just try to get out of it... I know 8 months seems alot.. But its better to lose these 8 months than ur whole LIFE!! :)

So he hits/abuses all women around him basically? Umm..yes something tells me that chances are, he could one day turn and do the same to you. I dont care what they were fighting about..there is never a need to hit, espcially not push and shove your own mother.

I talked to my phupho, I was strongly feeling the need to talk to somebody in my family as they would have the same value system and same standards...she agreed he was impatient and aggressive, but she said it isn't anything incurable in her opinion. She said I've been behaving too meekly and I need to take a stand otherwise it will be difficult later on.
She did raise an eyebrow on hitting his sisters/mother but when I told her ami abu know about it and they din't say anything she was quiet, however she said I should discuss it with them once. And also that I should tell my parents about the fights we were having so that if later on it becomes a big issue they should know we were having some troubles otherwise all the frustration would come out at me.

So I've decided to give it one more go. Everybody deserves a second chance, and like DC said, humans aren't maths equations we can't judge them just like that. Yes I agree hitting one's sisters or mother is not acceptable, but as I said its not a habit, its not like he does it every week or every day, he did it once in a lifetime. And I can think of a plenty of things that I do with my family and my parents that I would never do with him and he could judge me the same way too. Secondly, it is possible that my in-laws were exaggerating in the first place.
And you forget, he's my cousin. If I was engaged to somebody from outside whom I din't know, I would've probably run without even giving a second thought. Another thing which kept bothering me was the fact that I had done istkhara when my mom fixed the rishta, we weren't engaged until about three months after that. So I had that time to force them out of it even though they did so without asking me. But I was totally satisfied after istkhara.
I've decided to talk to him face-to-face about this issue specifically, either his response and reaction will satisfy me, or it will create more doubts.

I still have an year before the wedding, and I'm keeping my eyes more open now. Also I wasn't talking about the lovey-dovey thing, I know life cannot be spent alone on love. But what I meant was he's been caring and respectful to me.
I haven't spoken to my parents about it yet, but I will inshAllah talk to them too in some time.
Meanwhile, Im trying to change my behavior a bit too, as my phupho suggests. And I think she's right, I've been too much of a "Allah miyan's gaey", I need to be stronger, there's a limit to compromise and we're not even married yet.
So let's hope, things will improve InshAllah!

Inspite of what everybody here said, deep inside my heart I did not want to leave him. On the outside I was boiling with anger, I was even thinking of leaving him I was hating him...but deep inside I could not think of leaving him, as opposed to what a lot of people were saying here. So everything was confusing me.

As for the jahez issue. that's sort of complicated too. That's my parent's concern, I told them already and its upto them to deal with it. They can decide if they want to end it.

I was not making excuses, I was confused. I could not decide what to do.

Paheli00: Maybe I'm just weird, but that story din't scare me out of my wits. lol :D

To all my friends, your support and advice means a lot to me, I cannot thank you all enough for supporting me. I know that if at any time I will decide to quit from this relationship, I will not be alone :) Thank you so much <3

I know I'm a really weird person...

First, the most important life lesson you will ever learn: no one changes. And men, they least of all change. I don't mean it in a bad way, but when people say "oh woh shadi kay baad biwi kay asar say badal jaye ga", that is the biggest lie and bull that has ever been concocted. One can learn to hide things, one can learn to keep their mouth shut. But what a person is, they will remain that.

Second, you will always be an Allah ki gaye. And you know what will happen? A couple of years later, when you have your first child, you will come back here, start another thread with another nick, and basically say that my husband has been abusing me and is being mean to me, and he doesn't care that his mother or sister or our child is in front of us, he still raises his voice/hand at me. You're not being weird. You're just being a statistic. That is another reality you need to accept.

Third, knowing that he is family, that should be another reason for you to back off. Rishtay family main shadi karnay say strong nahi ban jatay. They get complicated even more. And sometimes they become easier to break than a spider thread. Koi kisi ka laihaaz nahin karta jab logon ki zabanain chalna shuro ho jaati hain. No one cares that you were their khala/chachi/phupi's beti. All they care is that you're another person married to their son/cousin/bhai etc. What they will say, keh zaroor is nay kuch kiya ho ga tabhi larkay ko ghussa aya ho ga. And the reality is, everyone knew about the behavior beforehand, but that is a distant, almost an amnesic memory.

Right now is almost a honeymoon period for you, that's why it's all rainbows and butterflies. But it will end. Sooner than later, and then you will wonder why didn't you act then when there was still a chance. There is still a chance. Take it. Do not for the love of God be another statistic. You're right now behaving exactly like anyone who is in an abusive relationship. The abuse may not be directed towards you right now but it will soon enough.

However, if you do want to do what you want, and ignore the advice of so many others who have been through your situation, then sorry to say, you're being a bit naive and foolish.

I apologise in advance if I come across as nasty.

The guy has known his sister and mother much longer than you. A guy that puts a hand on his mother esp and his sister, I am sorry, but is a disgrace. A mother's place is above everyone else. Fact.

Second, if he violated the most sacred relationship i.e. hittinghis mother then I am sorry you are setting yourself up for failures. ''My husband abuses me, like i knew he did so before marriage to his mum and sister but I cant really leave him what do I do''. Lets hope we don't see a thread like that in the future because then YOU'LL be the only to blame. The other side (him) has shown you how he is, now it is upto you to react.

Secondly, cousins. Lol. Desis have such a misconception that somehow cousin marriages infer some massive loyalty. The fact is in a normal marriage if you separate you lose your inlaws and husband/wife. In a cousin marriage you lose inlaws, spouse, and you lose a chacha/taya/khala relationship and inadvertently cause a lot of friction with other members of your family and in this case when people separate their own family ends up hating them. So just because he's a cousin you think it somehow makes him more trustworthy? That statement is bizarre because he's hit his own sister and mother and betrayed one of the most sacred trusts with his own blood yet you still think he's trustworthy?

As I said sorry for being harsh but well.

Give the bloke a chance.

(just seeing if reverse psychology works)

itni lambi lambi posts :eek:

You've got to be kidding me.

I dint mean that he's a cousin so he's more trustworthy or it makes people talk less, what I meant was I've known him for a long time, not just these 8 months and not just as my fiance. And yes I know I'm not just going to lose my inlaws but the two families are going to break apart, thats one of the reasons I want to give this relationship a second chance.
Another reason was, I'm not giving him a chance and getting married to him right away. I've still got a whole year ahead of me. Im also going to talk to my parents about the physical abuse and see how they respond, I'm also going to talk to HIM about it and see how he responds. And I repeat, asking him will make the situation clear to me as to he really hit his sisters, or was it just my MIL making up stories.
What Im not doing is end the relationship right away and maybe later on regret that I did not try my best to keep it, Im just giving it some more time and see what happens.

Im not expecting him to change. I just want to be sure of whatever I decide. Yes I realize it was like honeymoon period right now, but I cannot convince my parents until Im sure myself. Im just buying more time to help me decide, Im putting myself in a neutral state-of-mind as opposed to earlier, when I was doing anything and everything to make the relationship work. Being neutral will help me see more clearly, and it will be clear to me what I should do. Yes I know the sooner Im out of it, easier it will be for me. But this is what I've decided for now. Wait and watch.

Not at all Shak, you're not being nasty or harsh :)

Has your MIL ever given you any reason to think that she does not want this marriage to take place?

Not directly, but my fiance told me that things were quite strained at one point and they were thinking of breaking the relationship off. Though she keeps saying hum ny khatam kerny ky liey nahi kia, hum kerna chahty hain torna nahi chahty. But MILs rarely speak honestly do they