Pakistan captaincy

power has more attraction than even money.

We as a nation thrive to be at the TOP, 2nd position does not matter much to us. Classic example can be seen in our daily life when kids comes and tell parents "oh dad I got 2nd position in the whole class", instead of appreciating him/her mostly our first question is "why not first?" or "how many number did guy at first position got?" and so on ....

oh bhai…kiya baat kartain hain aap - ..she was atleast in her 30s back in the early 80s…then…
so she must be in her late 50s now…
aunty written all over…

I wonder about you know…:hmmm:

Was the 30 when she did Tanhayaan?

means I used to have crush on old ladies :frowning:

Astaghfirullah… may Allah guide all of us to the right path…

there is no way Shehnaz was in her 30s in the early 80s. she did Ankahi around 81-82 and she was in early 20s then. when she did Tanhayian in the mid 80s, she had just gotten married. she was probably in her mid to late 20s. so, she’s probably in her late 40, early 50s now.

and btw, what is wrong with aunties? I have been into aunties for as long as I can remember. anyway, coming back to Shanno, she and I are meant to be - if not in this life, then definitely in the next. she will always be my one, true love. though I do a have a soft spot for Faryaal Goher as well.

Everybody wants 'power' but without accountability, when team management is run on ad-hoc basis they can't have accountability in place. Currently our captain is not as much accountable but has more power in deciding the team, also, who doesn't love khalifa-giri :D

Re: Pakistan captaincy

1. Captaincy does have its perks. Captain has a much greater earning potential. Captain gets more endorsements. Captain has PCB's ear. Captain can pick and choose players. Captain can appear on TV program's such as captain's corner, etc. and be paid handsomely for it. Only the captain is allowed to speak to the press.

2. The reason we play musical chairs with captaincy is that we do not respect authority. Our culture of calling everybody bhai, and showing great deference to 'elders' doesn't mend well with the requirements of international sports. For a younger captain, it's almost impossible to
    call someone "Yousaf bhai, Shahid bhai" and then berate them on misfielding/ underperforming/ throwing wicket away. Younger and older players do not mix well socially, which hampers team-building and camaraderie. Graeme Smith was appointed captain of South Africa at a young age. He did not have any problems taking charge of the team. They call each other by their first names or nicknames, no bhai this, bhai that. For Australians, all teammembers are equals and "mates", no Ponting bhai, no McGrath bhai. Michael Clarke had no problem admonishing and throwing Symonds out because of breach of discipline.

3. Shahnaz Sheikh is a former Pakistan hockey player, and Olympian. You may marry him but spending your life in wedded bliss with him in Pakistan isn't likely to happen. You should consider Europe.

Jang is saying Younis is not interested in playing in domestic trophy matches to show form. He is fishing around these days -

kick his A$$ … he should not be drafted into the team directly. He wana fish? FINE, its his choice but he SHOULD prove his fitness and form (yeah AND FORM)

^^ I would say that same - but you have Mr. EE-Jazz butt at the helm - YoYo wants to throw his career away - then let him - after one or two season he will want to prove himself and come back...

^^ When we have sifarshis such as Imran Farhat in the team, what justification is there to have a class act like Younis having to prove himself? He may not have scored runs in the last few months, but remember only a few months prior (against SL) he was scoring double and triple centuries. Form may be temporary, but class is permanent. We will definitely need him in Australia, when Farhat and Shoaib Malik will be once again found to be lacking in both class and technique.

good point. I didn't think about programs like Captains Corner, etc. and I suppose even if the captain isnt the highest paid member of the team, he will likely be in the top bracket.

3. Shahnaz Sheikh is a former Pakistan hockey player, and Olympian. You may marry him but spending your life in wedded bliss with him in Pakistan isn't likely to happen. You should consider Europe.

not the Shehnaz I was talking about. I've met the hockey player. not my cup of tea.

I was talking about that gorgeous woman who won millions of hearts when she starred in Tanhayian and Ankahi. that is the woman I'm in love with.

yes, Younis doesn't have much to prove as a batsman. he's class especially in test cricket. but if the guy doesn't want to play, then, he can't be forced to play. similarly, asking someone to captain the side who either can't handle the various requirements of the job or is not hungry enough for the job is a recipe for disaster.

Good article - I don’t know how much weight to attribute to the site though -
Younus Khan “Shut up and Stop Laughing”

Get in line dude....

The problem has always been desi coaches and managers who are sifarishi. Whenever we have had a desi coach..usually Intikhab or Miandad - they create groupings in the team. Next, the PCB had a revolving door policy with Managers..meaning every tour there would be a new manager...some PCB officials buddy going on foreign tours - the guy would have no management experience, nd because he was sifarishi to begin with...he didnt care if there was any discipline or not.

That, together with the uneducated nature of the majority of our players...ie half of them have never been to school or graduated from it, leads to lack of discipline and players thinking they are bigger than the game and each other....which ultimately leads to captaincy changes, as everyone thinks they can be captain and everyone has their own agenda.

Poor PCB management, poor desi coaches, sifarishi managers, and uneducated players - all contribute to this mess.

In the present day scenario, Pakistan has no choice but to make Yousef test and ODI captain till the world cup is over. There is no one else who can do the job. Afridi is a hit and miss...people are in love with him at the moment as he is doing well, however he is perfectly capable of self destructing and taking the whole team down with him. He is not captaincy material. Yousef is a world class player, he has done a lot for Pakistan cricket, and while he may not be the greatest leader out there....there is no one else in the team who can do the job with the class that he is capable off.

Agreed 100% - strange thing that :D

one thing I don't completely see it your way is -

I think for T20s and ODIs, Afirdi can do just fine - they fit his mindset and level of discipline. Plus he has grown over time. He can ride the wave on his bowling since he should not loose that unless there is an injury (God forbid). Plus his batting could alway deliver a 30 odd and an occasional higher score. He is great in the field, and keeps the spirit alive. So it won't hurt PCB to give him a series ODI such as the one in Australia as skipper and see how he performs..
Keep MoYo for tests.

Have you seen her lately? Not much difference in the two Shahnazes.

you really should be banned from these parts for being so disrespectful to the love of my life. don’t you have a cat fight to break up or a cooking recipe to share back in your section?

when I look at Shanno, I don`t see with my eyes… I see with my heart. to me Shehnaz will always be the Zara Ahmed from Tanhaayian as pictured below…

now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to find a corner where I can be alone with my tears and the memories of my beloved Shanno.

Afridi's bowling has improved leaps and bounds...but he's primarily in the side as an allrounder...at number 6. If he was batting at 7 or 8 then he could get away with the odd 30 and a few wickets...but considering our lineup, the team expect a lot from the number 6...given the usual top order collapses....I think as Captain he may struggle against top sides...Australia is still the best team in the world in my book...especially at home...as it is, people expect him to hit 6s and 4s each time he goes out to bat...there is a lot of expectation..add the captaincy to that and you`re asking for trouble...

Khair..I could be wrong...but I just think the captain needs to be someone who is a world class performer....Yousef fits that bill...Malik never did, and I dont think Afridi would either....

Younis Khan's tantrums and physco behaviour really screwed us over...otherwise we could have had Younis as the ODI captain till the world cup, and then had someone like Kamran Akmal take over...but thats Pakistan cricket I guess...drama drama and beghairaat behaviour!

^^ True - One issue though - you are working with a premise, Captain = World class batsman. This premise can be easily disproven if the captain is a great bowler and can lead in the field with high spirits and great fielding feats. Wouldn't you agree? :) Its not lilke it wasn't done before. Even today, Vettori is a bowler first and then a batsmen. Wasim was a bowler and he could bat. Some thought he was an all rounder.

Every country and team are different. Given our current team, what you really need in a captain is some one who can lead from the front in one form of the game, batting or bowling adn be energizing in the field. Since ODIs and T20s are short termed and need a burst of stroke play that turns the game or that of lethal bowling, Afridi can fit into that.

The game of cricket has changed so rapidly and even more changes are being planned. One captaining style will never work any more. Even aussies think of atleast T20 seperate from ODIs and Tests.

Anyhow, I hope, just like the rest of us, that we can find a captain that is a great balanced act. :)