Old Wives Tales

Like:

Don’t drink water after eating watermelon.
Don’t drink milk after eating fish.
Don’t eat dry fruits & nuts in summer.

Please share more, and also share what you think the reasons are behind our grandmas telling us all these big time no nos.

Re: Old Wives Tales

I recently asked my dr about some of them…since I see a desi pediatrician…and thanks God she eased my fears on some:cb:

Example like dont give banana or nice to a child who is congested.

no water after eating dry fruit.

something about the oils drying up in ur gut =/

^^Btw the banana one is true cuz doctors recommend bananas when u have a loose stomach........

i was told that you shouldnt eat certain fish found in Asia with milk…because it can cause white patches on the face. :konfused:

I dont think it applies to all fish

^ I heard the same. Also heard that cantaloupe followed with milk is deadly..

Also heard that rice and watermelon soon after is a big no-no.

I have heard no mil kafter fish, not sure why. But my son's pediatrician also said the same thing. My son still loves his milk, so doc said to feed him anything, everything...but avoid fish/seafood for now, only because he is drinking so much milk. Basically no fish if he's gonna have milk.

I wonder if the no water after watermelon applies to the melons in paki/india only? Becase the watermelons in the states are pretty safe to eat and no risk of cholera/haaza.

I used to have fish sandwich and milk for lunch during my high school years :D Alhumdulillah kuch bhi nahi hua. The stupidest myth I heard during my trip to Pakistan was, don't drink orange juice when you have a cold because they believe OJ is the reason people get flu, etc.

It would be good to have those fishes on the table with a name to them as to know which ones to avoid and which ones to eat with milk.

We might need to do some digging into this one.

Who drinks milk with fish anyway?

==

thandi taseer wali cheezon k sath garrum taseer wali cheezain mut khao..khani hai to 1 hr baad atleast..

don't have boiled egg if u have pimples...

if u r bald use egg yolk oil(yukk)

drink milk with desi ghee/butter in ur 9th month..wud help the baby to slip out of u..

chips khaanay k baad pani mut pio..galla kharab hojayega..

about fish wo koi special fish hai..hur fish baychari badnam hai iss waja say...uss fish k sath doodh,dahi etc...i.e.dairy products nai lay suktay..

Also

• No or very little fish should be consumed in the summer
  • One shouldn't take shower right after having a meal
  • One shouldnt clip nails after maghrib

My Khala used to tell me that never eat water melon with seeds, otherwise watermelon plant will grow into your stomach and come out through your mouth

The thought used to scare the heck out of me

no wonder I am not a big fan of water melon

My dad says the rule for fish is that it should NOT be eaten during the months that don't have an "R" in their name, such as May, June, July, August. So there you are!

With the new wives comes the new wives’ tales. :slight_smile:

Fishy details. Need specific fish information. :stuck_out_tongue:

…And Mango should be consumed only in the months with an “M” in the beginning of it. :naraz:

:eek:

Mango does not even come out in the months of March and May

i think that has to do with the months that fish mate and lay their eggs in. in those months they aren't very appetizing or healthy