No boxed gifts please

That is so very wrong.

PPL need money so they write no gift boxes.

As sometimes ppl give big boxes and in that boxes “khoda pahar nikla chooha” wali baat hoti hai.

Aksar aap kay kaam ki cheez naheen hoti so is liaay paisay hi dena bahtar hai jo wo kisi bhi kaam kay masraf main laga saktay hain.

Re: NO GIFT BOXES!

I like the idea of having 'no gift boxes' on a wedding card.

I wrote this on all three of my wedding invitations. We preferred cash over gift boxes but this does not mean that the bride and groom are greedy or want guests to give them lots of money! We didn't need any money, alhamdolilah, nor did we expect anyone to give us money as we just wanted their presence at our wedding.

No one gave us gift boxes in England and no-one minded this. But in Pakistan people found this so offending. We ended with so many unwanted gift boxes.

I won't feel offended.

It's better to give money. Yeah no one is greedy.

How are you and princess?

No menu in the post these days what happen?

I loved your menu?

The main reason i believe that people dont like boxed gifts are because they have to hire a van sometime to take them all back home which can be a hassle.

And also you end up getting the same gift from 3 people. however cash is always better is guess, does not need to be alot but at least it will get properly spent.

Exactly! Lol! :)

I'll reply in your profile page. :)

one of my friends listed that on his card... and when i asked why he said it was the best way to suggest NO gift at all (not even money) but ppl gave them money and gifts...so it didn't work.

I dont think there is anything to be offended by, some of the gift ppl give at a wedding (here in the US ) are something to be offended by.

one bridal shower i went to (where the bride was going to pakistan in few weeks for the wedding) they asked everyone to give cash only since that could be helpful for them...nothing wrong with that.

i think its better to give money cos soo many times people end up with 2 toasters or whatever...iv heard some people give the guests a list of things to buy them and then u choose what ur going to buy them from the list...that way u dont get multiple presents of the same thing...but i think thats kinda sad to be honest..

and for the guest if u say no box gifts it means they dont have to worry about what to buy u..

and i forgot to say...if ur particularly close to the bride and groom im sure they wont mind u getting them a gift...with a personal touch..u know like before the wedding or even after..

^ we can do a bridal registory at a department store, where u pick things, make a list and ppl buy stuff frm that...i think those are great both for the bride/groom and for the guest. the guest dont have to worry abt what to get (they normally have tons of options) and the bride/groom dont have to worry abt getting crazy gifts.

Well,, why would you go to a wedding if ur not going to bring a gift? cheapness zindabad!

If ppl wanna write that on the card, i dont see a problem with it…

I just personally won’t write that on my card, because i want ppl to give me what they feel like giving. Because what happens is that there are ppl who cant give alot and they feel bad giving 15 or 20 dollars but they can find stuff for that price and it looks better than giving 15 dollars.

I know I know ppl are gonna say id rather have 20 bucks than a toaster i wont use, but thats how ppl think.

Plus i think now a days most ppl do try and give cash and if they dont then hey, ill pass the unwanted gifts on :wink:

^do people actually give $15 and $20? ----- no offense - just a question? Is it okay to give that much and not feel "cheap"...

I would start doing that too - hehehe

There’s actually been a pretty extensive discussion about this here: http://www.paklinks.com/gs/wedding/277836-no-boxed-gifts-please.html

^ Well if ure not too close to the bride or the groom and its just one person at a wedding not an entire family i guess its okay to give 20$ but i havent heard anyone give anything less than $50 but if its a young person and is a frind of the bride's or the groom's i guess its okay but for aunty to show up at a wedding with family and gives $20 it would b frowned upon well okay maybe a bit than frowned upon...

Also, i dont think there is anything wrong with "no boxed gifts" listed on the card its actually a great idea bc most brides end up getting dishes or dinner sets and but i think the new couple doesnt need dishes or any house furniture bc im sure that is already arranged by the couple themselves or the parents before the wedding...also this may sound rude but hey paki ppl arent the best gift givers so its best the couple write "no boxed gifts" on their cards so they dont have to worry about carrying loads of gifts to the car or end up with a repeat of the same gift or a re-gifted item.

Im doing "no box gifts" on my invites, definitely!

It helps the couple out, especially ones that might need cash rather then another microwave to start their new life.

Its waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay better then buying a yellow cake stand that the poor couple will feel horrible even giving someone else.

They can get what they want with that money and your mission is accomplished. I mean, your boxed gift would be something you would want the couple to use right? Well, here they can buy it themselves.

Registries are excellent, IMO.

Another idea Ive seen that Im thinking of is instead of getting money or gifts, I would like for all of my guests to donate to my local masjid. My best friend did that, loved that idea.

I never had a problem with it and never thought twice about it when it was written on a card.

I have to write it on my card b/c i am moving to another country right after my shaadi (hence i cant really transport the stuff) and im living with my in laws so getting appliances/dishes/random house stuff doesnt really help since im moving into a fully furnished house!

I don't mind it either.

I really wanted to do the whole "NO BOXED GIFTS" thing.. but what I have noticed is that regardless of you putting that on your card, whoever wants to give you a gift will give you a gift. And if someone is going to spend $20 on a gift, it doesn't mean they'll give alot more in cash. In the end, I'd rather open a gift than open an envelope from a family of 8 with only $20. However, I will keep it in mind as to what to give THEM on their wedding ~!!! (and I'm not ashamed to admit it !!!)

ive heard so many kala jadoo related stories with gift boxes...maybe thts y ppl write tht?

:CareBear: Never heard that one before!! I dont think it has anything to do with jadoo, they just prefer cash thats all!

I think these days its not really needed to write it anymore, because everyone almost always give cash anyways now, regardless of what it says on the card. And of course there will always be some who will give a boxed gift even if says not to. I personally dont like seeing it written on cards, even though we always give cash gifts anyways