i know not everyone will agree, but personally i find it incredibly offensive
i mean i know people are supposed to give gifts and all that, and it sucks when people give shi**y gifts, especially ones you know they were just regifiting to get rid of garbage in their own houses, but still a gift is just that-a gift, not an obligation, and people can give you whatever they want
When the next family member of close friend is getting married, i'm gonna b in charge of the invites and ensure that the following is written in large bold type on all the invites:
I really don't think that these days you need to write anything on the card. Then again, it depends on your community/city. Like someone said above, box/gift giving is out. It's just easier to give cash even if nothing is written on the card.
If someone did write that on an invitation, I wouldn't think it's rude. That's just me though. We have gotten invitations like that in the past and it just makes the job easier for us as guests as we know what the couple wants.
I also completely agree with Khawateen's post. I moved to Indonesia and was married in Pakistan. Boxed gifts I received in Canada are still sitting here. I can't carry this stuff with me across the world. Boxed gifts we received in Pakistan are still sitting in Pakistan. Again, it is not practical to carrying these items back with us to Indonesia.
People should be practical and sensible IF they wish to give a gift. Yes, I am aware I will get my head bitten off for criticizing a "gift" that was received, but I don't care. :D If I can use common sense and be practical when giving gifts, then I expect the same of others.
dont undermine my understanding of the issue. i already made it clear that i understood both sides and that different people feel differently about it.
exactly- including you and i.
so why're you taking my opinion on this topic so personally? i suggest we get back to the conversation at hand, and stop derailing this thread.
exactly- including you and i.
so why're you taking my opinion on this topic so personally? i suggest we get back to the conversation at hand, and stop derailing this thread.
[/quote
i wasnt referring to your opinion i was referring to your narrow minded attitude about the topic.]
People should be practical and sensible IF they wish to give a gift.
yup! i agree.
and i also agree that giving boxed gifts at weddings is sort of becoming outdated now. so perhaps the good thing is that the first wave of people who said "no boxed gifts" has trained the general population to only give money? and eventually we might have to stop putting that line on invitations altogether? woo hoo! there is hope for the future :)
If I can use common sense and be practical when giving gifts, then I expect the same of others.
Exactly!
Seriously...i never knew it was such a big issue. If i had to do the invites all over again i wouldn't give it a second thought, and whatever invites i do get..i don't really care what it says, ill give whatever i want any way. PS, i'm all for gift cards :)
I dont think its tacky............I've seen people give Christmas dishes on weddings, or those stupid fruit trays, and fruit trays are so popular that you will end up with 20 of them as wedding gifts.
I would recommend do a wedding registry........I'm doing that, you can put cheap items and expensive items.........
I've seen people write "No boxed gifts" but you shouldn't put it directly into your invitation card, maybe have another card stating "Please no box gifts".....
i would never ever do something as tacky as write down no boxed gifts.
its too presumptious and inappropriate.
i was having my rukhsati overseas a few weeks back, had a 100ish people wedding, and you know what, almost everyone gave cash, mashaAllah.
ive noticed “no gift boxes” has become such a big trend on wedding invitations now! i hear so many aunties talk and say “uff kitnay bookay ppl hain” do u guys think its right or wrong?
ive heard so many kala jadoo related stories with gift boxes…maybe thts y ppl write tht?
acha acha now got it. nahi idher sab chalta hai balke people love if their are gifts and not money. jewellery is number one nikkah/rukhsati/wedding gift here.. .