Nawaz Sharif claims India copied his reforms?

PML-N’s growth reforms were also implemented by India, claims Nawaz Sharif

LAHORE: Enlisting the developmental projects undertaken by the Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N) during its past tenures, PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif said their growth reforms were copied by India as they proved to be very successful.
Speaking in Lahore on Tuesday, Sharif said India continued with the developmental work and hence prospered, whereas Pakistan did not as the PML-N government was dissolved.

“Pakistan was better than India in every sense back then, our currency was stronger, we had more electric power, our economic growth rate was close to 8% while India’s was around 2% to 3%,” Nawaz stated.

“India would look up to Pakistan as our country was fast developing,” he added.

Explaining their current struggle in Pakistan, Sharif said his party is “not struggling for power but for values; for the future of Pakistan.”

“We only want power that can help us make Pakistan a better place,” he said.
Pointing out the problems in Balochistan, the PML-N chief said that the crisis would have not cropped up if PML-N was allowed to complete its tenures. “We had planned to build motorways, schools and hospitals in the province just like other provinces,” he claimed.

Boasting about the nuclear tests done during his stint in power, Sharif said the step brought Pakistan on par with India, which had become a nuclear nation earlier.
“This made Indian leader Vajpayee come all the way to Pakistan to talk about solving issues through dialogues,” he said.
Mocking Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) chairman Imran Khan for his claims of change in a matter of few days, Sharif said these problems cannot be solved in days, it takes years to bring about a change.

==================

Can I just LOL here? Your government was dissolved because you dreamt of becoming amir ul momineen and took panga with everyone when you got power… and another shining example of his failure to understand the basic concept that we need to build a better society rather than building infrastructures and need to invest in social welfare rather than. Hur cheez ka hul? motorway bana do! :rolleyes:

Re: Nawaz Sharif claims India copied his reforms?

NoSharif never ceases to amaze me.

Once a Idiot Always a Idiot!

Did he mean "reforms" or 'forms'?

He may be a crook, but I thought his times were relatively better for Pakistan - that is until Kargil happened. If he had been in power when 9/11 happened, he would have been more forthright in his response. My opinion is corrupt civilian govt that works or seemingly working is better than similar Army rule. I would blame Pakstan's problems on two people - Zia and Musharaff.

And I would blame the two people who brought Zia and Musharaff on. :sweetif: It were the civilian governments that made a mess of all things, and practically paved the way for both dictators. If I had a time machine, I’d kidnap all four while the day they were born and drop them in the wild jungles of Africa. Or the icy colds of Antarctica.

His 1st term may have been better time when he was focusing on economy but the 2nd term was a disaster. He got over confident by having 2/3 rd majority on both houses and was attempting on becoming like a dictator with no regard for judiciary. BTW, he also ran at first call from White House to pay them a visit on 4th of July during Kargil war. Vajpai kept dissing US when they tried to pursuade him and clearly told the Americans it was India's internal matter and US should keep out, whereas, our super duper PM NoSharif caught the first flight to pay homeage to Washington begged Pres. Clinton to help him out. And, yes his govt. was backing the Kargil operation, proof is Mushahid Hussain Syed's statement that "London Se Kargil Tak Futoohaat Kee Khabrain AA Raheen Hain" (he was quoting London as reference where there was cricket world cup in '99 in London where Pak cricketing team was doing extremely well till the semi-finals.) PM NoSharif had even visited the troops up at the border.

No govt. in Pakistan whether elected civilian or military dictator would have been in a position to withstand the US anger at 9/11 and would have done what Mushy did. Pakistan unfortunately has never been in a position to formulate policy independent of big power's influence.

I am not familiar with the evidence you are presenting, but there is enough evidence to prove Musharraf and army was behind it. It is absolutely unfathomable that Nawaz Sheriff would welcome Prime Minister of India at one end and prepare to back stab on the other. It is understandable, why he went running to Clinton. Army’s goal was to gain some quick ground but that did not happen, but they were willing to go for next gamble that is to draw India into a wider conflict. What Musharraf did in Kargil is consistent with his behavior subsequently in other areas. While working with US on one hand he kept making the distinction between what he called Mujahedeen and terrorists. We know the impact of that (and of course Bush’s crooked intension of Iraq) – a mess in Afghanistan and Pakistan.

Manmohan singh started the reforms in India in 90's. He was born and lived in pakistani punjab. NS is from Pakistani Punjab. may be, just may be they went to the same kindergarten and thats where MMS overheard NS's reform in the sandbox.
Makes sense.

PS. Now we can blame NS as well for price hikes etc.

^^

Where did you get this information…Were you too in the sandbox:biggthumb:

Miansaab app bohat jokelay hain. stop it please!

since, they have nothing better to do, they just come up with these silly statements.

Can anyone suggest reading material about the Kargil issue and how Nawaz and Musharraf battled to control Pakistan.

As they say “Naqal k leyee bhi Aqal ki zaroorat hoti hai”

seems like India did not copy the reforms properly hence they have prospered warna …

If i was a pakistani i would have voted for miyan sahab, despite what he did with kargil.
he is a changed man and he would be better than courrpt mr 10 and Mr cluless. after his regime a new regime would emerge which will bring back pak to its feet.
it took decades to make all the problems pak has and it wont be one govt which will solve them.

my fake vote is with miyan sahab

No offense intended, man, but good thing your vote is fake. :hypo: Nawaz Sharrif along with his peers in politics is the worst thing to happen to Pakistan. The beasts that have been roaming in the power corridors of the country for the past 30/40 years have crippled Pakistan down to such a level that I expect anything to happen, anytime. The way things are, nothing would surprise me. Not by an inch.

Kargil wasn’t “Miyan Sahab’s” worst mistake. It was Musharaff. Or him trying to be a self-proclaimed Ameer-ul-Moomineen. Or him banning long hair on TVs. Or his parents bearing a fascist one-man show son that he calls his brother. Or the billions stolen as “Qarz Utaro Mulk Sanwaro” without any audit. Or him giving support to “Mr. 10%” and dare I say her title - “Corruption Queen” - support time after time. Or his running of his party like a de facto dictator. Or the cheap short-term publicity schemes that do no good neither for the country, nor for the population. Or his ugly fetish with needless construction projects, whether it be roads or bridges.

As for his “atom bombs”, they time and effort that went into it all, and the prevailing public sentiment after India’s explosions, even a dog, horse, or a monkey sitting on the seat of the prime minister at that time would have given the go. The biggest reason he did not take the $5 or so billion offered to him was because this was once-in-a-lifetime chance to earn limitless billions. Pity his plan did not went as he planned. If he planned, that is. I can’t decide what’s the worst attribute of Nawaz Sharrif - the fact that he is a clueless “bonga”, or the fact that he is the most innocent “munafiq” person in Pakistan. I’ll take Mr. Clueless, any given Sunday over him, thank you very much. And hold the mayonnaise!

Yup, good thing, like I said, that you have a fake vote. :flowers: My honest (and not-so-humble) $0.02.

He will be drooling for a full 5 year term, imagine how much money he can loot and transfer in 5 years compared to his only 2.5-3 years of prior terms? This time he will make sure that he really becomes "ameer-ul-momineen", if not that then at least 'ameerul-riches'.

i am not saying he is good, all i am saying is he is lesser of the evils.
he looks like a changed man with lot of experience behind him.

Superman: no matter what the internal reality is, for the outsiders the head of country is responsible. i dont care if your wife calls shots at your office, but since it is your responsibility , you will be blamed.

Well I’m not saying he isn’t to blame. :yawn: The reality is that Sharrif is the biggest culprit for the war along with Musharraf. Even bigger, when you consider that he was the biggest authority, the head of state, as you said, at that time. Yes, countless lives were lost, resources wasted, and both countries suffered as a result of that skirmish, which could have been avoided if Sharrif wasn’t such a clueless entity.

But what I meant was that this wasn’t his biggest mistake, he committed tons more, which ultimately were even worse than the Kargil war. As far as countries are concerned, you only have to look at where things started to go wrong, and name the people that were there when they did. For Pakistan, the worst stretch of period was the 70s up till now - and Nawaz, along with others was (and is) at the forefront of all the destruction.

With the way things are going, it will not be long before corrupt people like him are shown the door from Pakistan politics. My only concern is that how long will it take, 2, 5 or 10 years? The winds of change will come, but they have to be quick. Because, really, neither the society nor the country itself can afford what it has had to go through these past three or four decades.

Lesser of the evils, or not, he still is evil. :no: And the cronies around him are worse. So no, no, and categorically no.

Sharif will be as bad as Zardari. Only difference is Zardari got full 5 years to loot, which fortunately for us hasn't had