Re: Karachi's business is dying at the hands of extortionists (and police and governm
sometime hints are enough to understand the puzzle. Guess who are those elements which don't like from day one that MQM is in power in Karachi and Hyderabad?
Please be elaborate, who would those elements be, keep in mind all stake holders of the city are in power in Sindh.
Re: Karachi's business is dying at the hands of extortionists (and police and governm
sometime hints are enough to understand the puzzle. Guess who are those elements which don't like from day one that MQM is in power in Karachi and Hyderabad?
Yes yes and those men that came knocking on my door asking for money and threatening me in Shah Faisal #4 were not men but aliens from Mars with lasers in back pocket that could also shoot bullets, supporting MQM. Those same men, I mean aliens raped and killed, all under the hand of their supreme commander in chief living on Mars.
But maybe those aliens were not from Mars but Punjab, in disguise?
^ has MQM abandoned bhatta khori now?
That is a wrong question here. Even if some MQM members are involved in forced chanda, the reason the traders are protesting is more than that. This chanda or bhatta has been in practice since long but there were never any such protests from anyone until only a few years back. It shows that a new element was added to the scene.
And to get the answer about this new element, one needs to see what traders themselves are saying, and what is being discussed in the courts. As my above posts show, both of them are saying that the major reason of this madness is political appointments in police.
So if this problem is to be solved then this real cause should be addressed. Just abusing a party of our dislike is political point scoring. Nothing else. Such abuses won't help solve the city's woes.
Altaf Hussain claims establishment backed elements are behind extortion in Karachi, if he knows the culprits why doesnt he disclose them?
MQM is not the only political party here. ANP and PPP are also major stake-holders. Why not ask the same question from them as well?
Besides, MQM at least is quite vocal on this issue. Why are others so quiet, as if this is not their concern at all?
When it comes to power sharing then everyone starts claiming Karachi, but when solutions for the problems being faced by the city are discussed then everyone looks the other way.
Besides, I say that instead of quoting politicians like Altaf, we need to see what traders themselves are saying as to who is responsible for it.
What's the difference between altaf hussain's allegation that establishment based elements are spoiling Karachis peace, and TTP saying the same that establishment is killing innocents to make them look bad.
"@AleemMaqbool: in his audio message, pak taliban's hakimullah mehsud accuses ISI of carrying out attacks against civilians to make the militants look bad”
I am waiting for the day when taleban will do a jehad against terrorism.
Altaf Hussain claims establishment backed elements are behind extortion in Karachi, if he knows the culprits why doesnt he disclose them?
MQM has been in bhatta-khori business for I don't remember how long, may be 18-20 years? But it never went out of control this much. Situation in Karachi is REALLY bad, so bad that even qurbani animals are not safe from being victim of bhatta-khori. IG Sindh gave a statement that no qurbani animal was killed and I could not stop laughing at such idiotic statement from "IG".
MQM is torch-bearer of bhatta-khori business, but creation of Aman Committee by Zulfiqar Mirza has threatened MQM's position as bhatta-leader. There are reports that the recent factory fires were result of the same too.
Situation is unbelievably horrible. Lyari gangs has started to reach MQM's strongholds in search of their victims who used to do business in now-Lyari-gang-jurisdiction.
The problem as everyone guessed is complex; it involves police, rangers and political parties both PPP and MQM while ANP also has its hands in the honey-river but share is small. I have many many examples of victims looted, victims go to police then police either turn them away 'ooper se order nahi aya investigation ka' or in case of pedestrian/non-business-person victim police harass the victim even further.
Re: Karachi’s business is dying at the hands of extortionists (and police and governm
Well, even if it is true, you seem to be enjoying it a lot.
Seems like abusing MQM is more important for people like you than to help Karachi in its woes.
Karachi’s business is dying from collaboration of police with extortionists. And yet instead of discussing how it could be stopped, people like you would rather abuse others.
It just exposes the hatred people like you have against Karachi in general and against MQM is particular.
What's the difference between altaf hussain's allegation that establishment based elements are spoiling Karachis peace, and TTP saying the same that establishment is killing innocents to make them look bad.
Why do you want to make it an MQM-bashing thread? This topic is about Karachi business dying at the hands of extortionists. But instead of talking about the reasons why it is happening, you continue to bring other non-relevant factors in the discussion?!
Is MQM bashing more important than helping Karachi?
Why do you want to make it an MQM-bashing thread? This topic is about Karachi business dying at the hands of extortionists. But instead of talking about the reasons why it is happening, you continue to bring other non-relevant factors in the discussion?!
Is MQM bashing more important than helping Karachi?
You are acting so naive.
MQM started the practice of extortion in Karachi. Please deny that.
MQM thrived on extortion. Please deny that.
MQM brought Kalashnikov culture to Karachi. Please deny that.
MQM has been in government for decades. Please deny that.
MQM is now crying about extortion when others have learned the craft too.
If you believe MQM is a non-relevant factor in this discussion, then I seriously doubt your ability or intent to discuss bhatta khori in Karachi.
MQM has been in bhatta-khori business for I don't remember how long, may be 18-20 years? But it never went out of control this much. Situation in Karachi is REALLY bad, so bad that even qurbani animals are not safe from being victim of bhatta-khori. IG Sindh gave a statement that no qurbani animal was killed and I could not stop laughing at such idiotic statement from "IG".
MQM is torch-bearer of bhatta-khori business, but creation of Aman Committee by Zulfiqar Mirza has threatened MQM's position as bhatta-leader. There are reports that the recent factory fires were result of the same too.
Situation is unbelievably horrible. Lyari gangs has started to reach MQM's strongholds in search of their victims who used to do business in now-Lyari-gang-jurisdiction.
The problem as everyone guessed is complex; it involves police, rangers and political parties both PPP and MQM while ANP also has its hands in the honey-river but share is small. I have many many examples of victims looted, victims go to police then police either turn them away 'ooper se order nahi aya investigation ka' or in case of pedestrian/non-business-person victim police harass the victim even further.
I think I agree with most of you said above. I also pointed to it in my post no. 19.
For many reasons, MQM workers have been involved in forced chanda since long. But it was always in manageable amounts for traders. This is why no trader or businessman ever protested against this chanda.
But the situation went out of hand when Mirza spread weapons and licences in tens of thousands in the city. He created Lyari his stronghold. So now these guys also started to collect money from businessmen. They were ruthless. And police has been helping them due to similar political leanings.
The combination of the two has made life impossible for business people in the city. This is what every trader has been pointing to.
forced chanda
main sadqay jaon.... 'forced chanda'.
This is why no trader or businessman ever protested against this chanda.
How could they? Nobody wants to die and be stuffed in a 'bori'.
...So now these guys also started to collect money from businessmen. They were ruthless. ....
Mirza walay log 'ruthless', MQM walay 'chanda'. Very objective analysis I would say.
What stops you from saying both MQM and PPP have been thriving on crime in Karachi? Both have been part of provincial and federal governments (MQM specially). If they have not done anything about it all, then it is both of them to blame. Why absolve MQM when it is always in the government and never accepting any responsibility of governing? Why are you blaming Police? They just do what bhai log or saeen log tell them to do.
Now that PPP is doing what MQM has been doing for decades, aap ko businessman sey hamdardi ho gai hai achanak! BTW, Mirza's PPP and MQM are Allied and MQM is part of the government. If you still think MQM is not relevant to this discussion, let me know and we talk about possibility of life on Mars.
You are acting so naive.
MQM started the practice of extortion in Karachi. Please deny that.
MQM thrived on extortion. Please deny that.
MQM brought Kalashnikov culture to Karachi. Please deny that.
MQM has been in government for decades. Please deny that.
MQM is now crying about extortion when others have learned the craft too.
If you believe MQM is a non-relevant factor in this discussion, then I seriously doubt your ability or intent to discuss bhatta khori in Karachi.
You are saying things similar to me. But our analysis of situation is different. Here is how I see it:
If you are honestly looking for relevant factors then ask traders and courts as to who is responsible for bringing the Karachi business to death-bed. If you call it MQM's bhatta then it has been in practice since very long time (20+ years). So if MQM is responsible for this death of business then traders should be protesting since 20+ years.
If they started their protest a few years back then it is obvious that responsibility of the death of Karachi's business lies on those new elements, and not on MQM.
So if MQM is not responsible for traders protesting today then why bring it in discussion?
What is happening today shows that people doing so are the **ENEMIES **of the people of the city. This can't be said about MQM or ANP or PPP. They don't just ask for huge unbearable extortion money from EVERY businessman and shop-keeper in the city, but they also do kidnapping for ransom, and threaten family members of business owners at their houses.
This is beyond the discussion of MQM or ANP, etc. This is why anyone abusing MQM in this situation is just doing political point scoring.
What stops you from saying both MQM and PPP have been thriving on crime in Karachi? Both have been part of provincial and federal governments (MQM specially). If they have not done anything about it all, then it is both of them to blame. Why absolve MQM when it is always in the government and never accepting any responsibility of governing? Why are you blaming Police? They just do what bhai log or saeen log tell them to do.
Again, you are looking to blame and abuse MQM when the problem lies somewhere else.
Actually, nobody can be absolved completely for this situation. But the responsibility lies more on PPP Sindh because it is they who control the police force and responsible for appointments. In case you missed, let me remind you that IG Sindh says that at least 40% of police is political appointee, and it is such policemen who are involved with extortionists.
...........So if MQM is not responsible for traders protesting today then why bring it in discussion? .....
Again naive.
Please read the title of the thread. It includes 'Government'. MQM is a part of the government and has been part of several governments since 1980s. If a part of the government encourages 'forced chanda' as you say, then I don't know who is going to stop it. If MQM is not going to accept any responsibility for law and order in the city and province, it should not be part of the government.
Please be elaborate, who would those elements be, keep in mind all stake holders of the city are in power in Sindh.
Well, here is the problem(^_^) we need to discuss Karachi not all sindh. And I feel uneasy that MQM also not doing much and watching the town going away in deep hole of destruction. MQM must come forward with more clear visions regarding current situation. About law and order unfortunately MQM don't have full authorities to face the situation.
*Mirza walay log 'ruthless', MQM walay 'chanda'. Very objective analysis I would say.
If this is wrong analysis then let me know why MQM's "chanda" didn't result in such protests, even though it has been going on since long?
And if friends of Mirza-the-hero are not ruthless then why the protests now?
tumhara ta'assub yaheen se ayaan he.
You are more interested in abusing MQM than helping save Karachi by identifying the reasons of its woes.
Why are you blaming Police? They just do what bhai log or saeen log tell them to do.
Oh, did I blame police? So you really don't know what traders and IG Sindh are saying?
"bhai log and saeen log". Very nice. Another expression of ta'assub against Urdu speaking and Sindhi speaking people from kakaballi.
Again naive.
Please read the title of the thread. It includes 'Government'. MQM is a part of the government and has been part of several governments since 1980s.
MQM has tried to part this government several times before which shows what kind of treatment it gets WHILE being in government.
Plus it does not control the police and other law-enforcing agencies. And when we know how their role, or lack of it, is responsible for the current situation in the city.
If a part of the government encourages 'forced chanda' as you say, then I don't know who is going to stop it
Except that this forced chanda by some MQM workers is not responsible for the current situation. Look at what traders are saying to understand how this could be stopped. Just concentrating on MQM is not going to solve the current problem.
What MQM workers do is wrong. But it is nothing when compared to the corruption of billions of rupees of other politicians. MQM members do not get involved in such corruption. And it is the corruption which is breaking the back of the country.
If this is wrong analysis then let me know why MQM's "chanda" didn't result in such protests, even though it has been going on since long?
They wanted to live.
And if friends of Mirza-the-hero are not ruthless then why the protests now?
Cuz Bhai asked them to.
tumhara ta'assub yaheen se ayaan he.
You are more interested in abusing MQM than helping save Karachi by identifying the reasons of its woes.
Oh, did I blame police? So you really don't know what traders and IG Sindh are saying?
"bhai log and saeen log". Very nice. Another expression of ta'assub against Urdu speaking and Sindhi speaking people from kakaballi.
If you think taking the sacred name of MQM is an expression of ta'sssub against urdu speaking people, then there is no point discussing anything with you regarding lawlessness in Karachi.
I have to go now. I must now perform wudu and pray to God to forgive me for the gravest sin of talking about the greatest sacred gift HE gave us Pakistanis and being so thankless for innocent chanda khori by bhai log. I must also pray that tomorrow my dead body is not found in a sack somewhere in Gulshan. Over and out.
If you think taking the sacred name of MQM is an expression of ta'sssub against urdu speaking people, then there is no point discussing anything with you regarding lawlessness in Karachi.
You showed what you meant by it by also including "saeen log" in the same statement. Can you deny that saeen log includes all Sindhis?
I have to go now. I must now perform wudu and pray to God to forgive me for the gravest sin of talking about the greatest sacred gift HE gave us Pakistanis and being so thankless for innocent chanda khori by bhai log. I must also pray that tomorrow my dead body is not found in a sack somewhere in Gulshan. Over and out.
Your dead body would be definitely found if you don't pay money being demanded, and it won't be MQM responsible for it.
Can you understand it now?
I do not consider MQM an angel. I have criticized Altaf and MQM's policies several times on this forum. And I would also like MQM to stop this chanda/bhatta stuff. But I don't put blame of everything happening in Karachi on MQM alone.
This approach is different from many other people. I am sure that anytime the word 'Karachi' is mentioned, they can think of nothing but 'MQM'. This is why they start abusing MQM alone no matter what happens in the city.