Is this blog private or public??

How do you know that the blog you are posting in is private or public? I for one assume that every blog that I see is private and public at the same time.

So I never participate in any discussion that is going against anyone, assuming that the blog might be public for everyone to see, including the person in discussion.

I never quote anyone’s blog anywhere else, assuming that the blog might be private and the blogger may never want to take this discussion outside.

Share the etiquettes that you follow or any suggestion that you might have for others, be it blogger or bloggee.

Re: Is this blog private or public??

When you arent logged into GS, you are unable to view Private blogs.

That simple.

On another hand Private blogs should have Private written on them by default :hmmm:

Also you never know if anyone in your friends list is on someone else’s friend list and they can go and talk bout what you wrote about them to the other person.

So rule of the thumb you dont ***** or ***** in 3rd party

But I never do anything without loging in let alone compare what I can see without and with loging (and remember that).

So if you are part of a private blog then its OK to assume that the person in discussion cannot access that blog or is it no longer your responsibilty and you post your comments regardless.

I refrain from mentioning the contents in the blogs. That way it doesn't matter whether they are public or private - at least to me it doesn't matter.

i usually comment on ppl i closely know on gs.

unless its commenting on their kids pix and just saying awwwww and mashALlah

It's best to play it safe and not carry information from blog to another even if you know they are on each other's friends lists. It's best to discuss any issue via PM because you could hurt someone inadvertently.

wah shikky unc. said :smokin:

jab insaan apnay dil ki baat dil mai hi na rakhay aur usko "post" kar day chahay blog private ho ya public to kya faraq parta hai? Jab dil hi private nahi raha, aur dil hi public ho jaye to phir blog to bohat door ki baat hai

No assuming is wrong.

You simply donot use Blogs to discuss other members.
Because you dont know who in your buddy list is friends with the person you are discussing.

Thats what PMs are for :hula:

Now come to other side of the table, what do you do as a blogger? what topics do you guys think are appropriate and what is your extent of venting.

Do you think its OK to vent against a thread, or a poster, or a member in general

'
wah wah, kiya shaa'irana baat ke hai, shaa'ir-e-Junoob janab Samad ali khan mudzillalahu sahab ne

Personal Choice, just like its a personal choice to let things be.

Its a free world and people are responsible for their own actions :chai:

I think venting about threads, and generally about certain styles of posting is OK. Personally picking up someone and taking names could become a serious negative.

My blogs are usually about my home life, kids, food, shopping, stuff that doesn’t affect anyone…people usually come and say awwwwwwwwwww and leave :hmmm:

i believe it's always good to maintain other people's privacy online whether in blogs or forums, unless the other person is too extrovert & talks openly about everthing and want u to reply the same way

you mean lifeless :fatee:

that's right

hhhhhggggghgnnmnmmb mnnbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbthgde eseeer tre

Adra, its not a free world .. relationships and people skills are more important than to practice freedom of speech..

Niki even venting about a specifc should be taken with little caution. after all those threads are started by a guppy. Yes talking about the general trend of threads is another thing I guess

Adra, its not a free world .. relationships and people skills are more important than to practice freedom of speech..

But not many understand that nor many are good at being diplomatic.

And its not our job to correct people, thats what their parents are there for.

diplomacy is the worst form of people skills, honsetly. I was talking about sincere, genuine people skills