Is Sufi Islam a compromise with Indian Culture?

Re: Is Sufi Islam a compromise with Indian Culture?

would be interesting to know other side of the picture :)

:nahi:

Gaddi Nasheen? :eek: :nahi:

Brother you are so misinformed I’m shocked …

Probably, I didn’t put my thoughts properly. The Sufism is now heavily connected with shrines (though it was not a prevalent practice during the period of sufis like Rumi, Data Ganj Bux, Bhitai, etc). But, now all the emphasis is put on peer o murshid and most of the time finding murshid leads people to these gaddi-nasheens and makhdooms. We all have seen pictures of famous gaddi nasheen (who are now stalwarts in politics aka winning candidates :wink: ) and we all know what is their character and how much they can be relied and what kind of religious or spiritual guidance they can provide.

any disagreement? what is these chilla katna and like stuff that is promoted on the name of Sufism? Did prophet also lived a single day in seclusion after being entrusted with Prophet-hood?

Bismillah ... First of all ... I want to make a disclaimer ... and that is I strongly believe that one the greatest injustices to Islam has been the portrayal of it being a complete Deen without its third dimension that happened systematically over the past 100 or so years ...

After spending many years trying to learn the cliche "Qur'an and Sunnah" as being the exclusive limit of Islam I felt troubled and confused. It took the third dimension that gave me depth and completed my religion for me ... Although I do not claim to be something - a master in religion, no ... Allah tests those people who come with claims ... I do however say that with tasswwuf I have clear solutions to my problems and clear methods to gel the tawheed with the arkan ... the Iman with the Islam ...

We all speak of Muhsinoon which comes from Ihsan and nothing is spoken of Ihsan ... and those who do have a few lines to say about it ... whereas it is a whole sector - it is infact a whole discipline as large as the disciplines of aqeedah and fiqh ... which cater for Iman and Islam ...

There is a presupposition that Islam is intended to Arabise wherever it goes and that all local practices must stop when Islam's banners are placed in its soil ... All of this is not in sync with Islamic history ... If Sufis have adopted cultural practices of local areas they have come to be living in it is because the Salaf did the same ...

So my claim is the true Salafi movement - the truest traditional waves are indeed the people who follow the Islamic traditions which are ALL three Aqeedah, Fiqh and Tassuwwuf ...

Also know this that:

To practice shari'ah without tariqah is blind and to practice tariqah without shari'ah is lame ... The reason why we see so many strange Sufis, not just in the subcontinent but elsewhere too, is because they have lost their Shar'iah ... and as a result they become heretical or strange ... The people who know the aqeedah the best are the people who follow the tareeqahs ... I can guarantee that ... When I took bayah with my Shaykh (after spending 6-7 months on a process of becoming familiar with Sufi practices and understanding my previous folly) the first thing I realised was that I had to learn ... I had to learn my Fard-ul-Ain ... These are:

Tajweed, Arabic Grammar, Memorise at least 1 juz of the Holy Qur'an, Study my basic Ahl-U-Sunnah Wal-Jamah aqeedah and Learn my basic Fiqh in accordance with my madhab.

These are all extracted from Qur'an and Sunnah - But the set-up of this instruction and the companionship and assistance I get is not as an individual it is as a member of a brotherhood and family ... I have a Shaykh to focus myself on and I have suhba - the sunnah of the Sahabah is maintained among ourselves ... they will lay down their lives for me and vice-versa ... Brother STONECOLD is connected to me through Shaykh Abdul Qadir Al-Jailani (RA) my Shaykh's line comes through his student, a great scholar and Sufi Shaykh named Abu Madyan (RA) (1126 - 1198) and his Shaykh's comes through Sidi Abder Razzaq the first (RA) another student ... it is because my spiritual master and his spiritual master go back in a lineage to these men who in turn go back in connections to RasoolAllah (SAW) ... via Sayyiduna Ali (RA) ... It is amazing stuff if you choose to look it with a completely open mind without the taint of the experience you have at your doorstep ... Then after learning about it you will know how to understand what is happening with Qawalis and other manifestations ...

As eloquent as always brother :)

Of course there are many Hindus who go to Sufi shrines to get blessings. eh?
I know Hindus and Sikhs who had great respect for Islam.

Did he do anything wrong BEFORE being entrusted with Prophethood?

If seclusion was wrong then why did God send revelations while he was in the middle of doing a bad act?

mere bhai... aap Surah e Hadeed ki aakhri ayat uska tarjuma aur tafseer padh len....

Salam bro muqawwee123

Did you know the Sufis themselves say that occultation/isolation or seclusion is not allowed?

So why do they do it? It is because they do not do it on a permanent basis ... They do it to focus on the inner light and they do it to open an inner sight ...

I know many non-Sufis who were first just seeking answers and looking for a spiritual opening and they found it ... Simply by removing themselves from society on a temporary basis. Once it is found then returning to humanity and society is a must ... The permanent state of seclusion is not considered as good ... It does not mean that a person should be in rags, beg and live like a tramp to be called a gnostic ... This again is an example of how leaving Shar'iah for Tariqah it can lead to heresy and oddity.

i'teqaaf is a type of temporary seclusion the Sufis in their way call it khalwa ... Even the tableeghis do it ... They call it khurooj ... But they create a little group who do it together, so in their case total isolation is not ever done ... But you see all these things are not innovations in the reprehensible sense ... They are tonics/medicines for the soul and when the soul gets better ... You get back with life.

Now this explains the point well.

When someone have to convey a message, it is better conveyed when you live in between people and not abstaining worldly things (that were not forbidden by Allah). Temporary seclusion makes sense, but the kind of seclusion Hindu jogi and christian monasticism followed got no place in Islam.

+1
another piece by Iqbal that is also very much related to topic and your post

kal aik shoraida khawb gah e Nabi(s.a.w) pe ro ro k keh raha tha
keh Misar o Hindustan k muslim (a)bna e millat mita rahay hain

this one and next shair of this nazam can make new topic, will create some other time. note what is common between misar and hindustan, that is sufism

duplicate

This is no reply.

^ create the topic that you are talking about.

its not matter of finding bad or good as you made it yourself but its matter of finding what is allowed in Islam and what is not.
seculsion was allowed in Christianity but it was disallowed in Islam as revelation was updated. so if Prophet were doing seclusion BEFORE being entrusted with Prophethood it would be allowed then.
btw, your question makes no sense. do you believe seculsion is allowed in Islam?

talking of Islamic point of view on seclusion and when provided with reference to Quran on the topic does not make a reply. strange :hmmm:

psyah bro, any authentic reference that suggests that Isalm is incomplete without tassuwaf?

Talking of Iqbal, its very confusing as many people claim that he was himself a Sufi and I'm coming across many of his poems where he is against Khanqah culture and peeri mureedi.. Iqbal is quite inspired from Rumi and Data Gunj Bux as well.