i want to stop dreaming...

…of a perfect husband, a perfect wedding, a perfect dress, a perfect venue, a perfect family because i know in real life i can’t have everything perfect, but i have dream of it so much that when i think i might not get any of it i feel miserable :frowning: . i am a very practical person i guess, and i hate that part of me which is always living in that perfect dream land.

how can i stop my self??

Re: i want to stop dreaming…

read some of the threads in LIFE 1, u will get enough reality checks :smiley:

On a more serious note, i guess balance ur practical and dream world and u might just be happy :k:

Worldy pleasures can only do so much, Yanzala.

Re: i want to stop dreaming...

^ lol, the problem is that i read too much of those threads specially the on in wedding section. before visiting that section i didn't know know 2 laakh ka wedding dress even exists but since i know it, i want it :(

jihad-al-nafs.

Keep dreaming..it does not cost anything.

It may give you ideas how to fulfill it. Off course use legit methods.

The problem would be if you stop dreaming and do not struggle for better life.

i know huma. trust me i am not really like that in real life. i am not in to expensive cloths, jewelry, shoes or anything of that sort. as long as i have decent things i am fine. but for some reason when it comes to wedding i just go crazy and greedy and totally materialistic.

What is the point of all that?

Yanzala...I must admit at times I dream about the same things...and then i get depressed cause I know there is no such thing as the perfect guy....or girl for that matter...I guess just knowing that there is someone out their who your ment to be with should be contentment enough...and everyone will have their flaws etc...but it will make things more "interesting" Right now dwell on what's more important like getting a degree or job etc..and when the time is right it will happen....

i was just coming here to post this as the probable cause but seems like you already know.

stay away from the wedding section, you'll feel much better for it. as you say in a later post, you're not really like this, it won't be hard to get back to your normal self. occupy your mind elsewhere.

and when you find the person that's right for you, everything else will just be 'stuff', you can live happily without it.

^ wat malika said

Stay away from the wedding section, in general, as unsavory characters such as Stoppit and myself often lurk there; no good will come of it, I tell you!

Doesn't exist. You're not even going to find a decent one, if you're searching amongst the Desis.

Possible, if you neglect to invite your own family.

Have you seen some of the submissions on the wedding boards?!?

At this point, that's any that has indoor A/C and enough chairs for everyone. I find that if you lower your expectations, you'll never be disappointed.

Again: doesn't exist; better to just leave them off the guest list so you can have that "perfect wedding". Thank me later.

Yeah, I guess you have no choice but to invite family, have you?

Then you'll make Roxx miserable! We can't have that, so cheer up!

Don't! Enjoy the fantasy, but realize that your wedding, when it happens, will be taking place in the real world, with pissy family, pissy venues, pissy inlaws and cruddy HVAC. If everyone manages to behave themselves for even that one day, your wedding will have been a smashing success!

the point is...hmmm...last year i got a proposal of a guy who was 26, 27 years old. doing his masters or something in pakistan. he was from a middle class family and doesn't earn a lot of money and stuff yet.
when i was told of that proposal the first thing that came in my mind was "omg, i can never get that 2 laakh ka lehnga :( and it broke my heart so bad that for days i cried my self to sleep. and i hated that materialistic side of me. and I KNOW i was wrong so please don't give me lectures on that.
i want to stop thinking that way, i want to be happy in what ever comes in my way regardless of the price tag, or the "bling, bling" factor.

just for the recorded i didn't say no for him cuz of those materialistic reasons.

yaar. i just don't want one of the most important day of my life to be ruined because my wedding dress isn't what i imagined, or my wedding venue is not P.C pool side but an empty plot by my dadi's house in karachi :(
i want to be selfless, i want to be happy for the real things. i just don't know how to :(

dude, i am addicted to the wedding section :(
and INSHALLAH for the next part i really hope it works out like that INSHALLAH.

i know, but they gives such beautiful dreams to my eyes, and i am addicted to these dreams.

my dreams remind me of that "lotus" flower from "the odyssey"

aww...that's the best advice ever, except the perfect guy part. i can't look anywhere else but desi :(

hehe awww yanzala :sara:

Don't get me wrong: I'm flattered and all, I just wasn't aware you felt that way about me. ;-)

what??? i have no clue what u are saying here

'Twas a joke, Yanz!

Man just wait and see...when you find that special someone...nothing else is gonna matter to you....all you'll think about is how long it will take till you can spend the rest of your life with him!! Of course everything else still matters...but it won't be as big of a deal as we both think it is right now :P I hope i didn't confuse you...