Hindustani Hitler

**India’s Hitler **
*Wednesday, December 26, 2007

Ram Puniyani*

Surpassing many predictions, Narendra Modi has done very well in the Gujarat assembly elections, bringing his victory tally to the one close to post carnage elections of 2002. While 2002 elections were preceded by an unprecedented polarization of the society, in the current one it appeared as if there are many a factors which will go against Modi, the internal dissidents, the incumbency factor, the efforts of secular groups and slightly better efforts by Congress. This gave the impression that the results would be touch and go, but they turned out to be similar to the previous one giving him a massive mandate.

This makes many a things clear. One, that polarization has seeped in very deep in Gujarat’s society. After every bout of communal violence, the major player of the violence, in this case the RSS affiliate, the BJP, emerges stronger. In this election also, as was the case in the last elections, the BJP’s performance has been best where the carnage was maximum. In other parts of the country the polarization is reaching towards the critical line from where the rupture in the fabric of society becomes irreversible. It seems that this has already happened in Gujarat. A state that began as a Hindu Rashtra laboratory seems to be turning into a Hindu Rashtra factory. One of the major successes of the RSS-BJP combine has been that it has been able to propagate successfully that Hindu Rashra is for the benefit of all Hindus, that there is a struggle between Hindu and Muslim interests and, perhaps most importantly, that the RSS is on the side of the Hindus, while others are against them. The real fact is that by using the religion card, the RSS is merely playing with the identity of Hindus and enhancing an agenda which goes against the social transformation of caste and gender, which in turn is against the interests of the majority of Hindus.

Furthermore, the RSS has succeeded in instilling a fear of Muslims in the majority community. The formula used is that all terrorists are Muslims, baying for the blood of Hindus and that the RSS combine is their only saviour. The propaganda is that while so many terror attacks are taking place all over the country, the Hindus in Gujarat are safe due to the Modi/BJP/RSS rule. All this is projected as ‘nationalism’. The second illusion created relates to progress in Gujarat. The fact is that it has always been among India’s more developed states. Now it is being presented that all this is due to Modi’s rule.

Sometimes what matters is not the truth but as to what is propagated and made a part of social psyche. One cannot but draw many analogies from Hitler who went on to create a fascist state. In that case also, the charisma of one person overshadowed the whole party. The only difference between the German and Gujarat analogy is that in Germany the entire nation came under Hitler’s spell while in India the trishuls are marching at a different pace in each state.

The journey of Hindutva fascism in Gujarat began with the anti-Dalit riots of 1980-81, followed by the anti-OBC (other backward classes) riots of 1986. The NRI Gujaratis, the money order senders, have played a large role in consolidating and strengthening the fascism in their land. Conscious social engineering was used to co-opt adivasis and dalits into the Hindutva fold from late 1980s. For this, the Vanvasi Kalyan Ashram campaigned against Christian missionaries – which were not many in number – and attacked the miniscule Christian community. For co-opting other deprived sections, including dalits, intense religiosity was promoted. A section of the urban population saw the benefits of the type of intimidation created by the politics of the RSS and its affiliates. While Muslims and Christians were directly hit the other major goal was to subdue the dalits and adivasis to ensure that the status quo is maintained.

While comparing BJP/RSS politics with fascism in the 1990s one is hard pressed to explain the absence of a charismatic leader at the national level at that time. Classically speaking, a fascist movement has to have a charismatic leader at the helm. While Advani was spearheading the Hindutva agenda and Vajpayee was wearing the liberal mask very cleverly, neither had the requisite charisma to whip the crowd into a frenzy. Modi stepped in and has filled this gap and that too very effectively. Not only he is getting away with murder, he is able to project it as a sign of bravery and courage.

However, history does not repeat itself in the same manner. In Germany, fascism rode all over Germany with uniform speed, with speed which was blinding, and went on to target Jews. The RSS, the patriarch of all rightwing Hindu organizations, began in 1925 but it is only since the 1980s that is has been able to actualize its political agenda in a serious way. While Modi’s victory will pave the way for total abolition of liberal space in Gujarat, the BJP has already been overshadowed by one supreme leader. The plight of the minorities in the state and other weaker sections of society is going to deteriorate while the increasingly affluent middle class will rejoice.

Modi’s victory is a warning signal of transition of sub critical fascism, transcending the critical line to strangulate democratic values in an ideological form all over the country. The disarray in the BJP will give way to strong optimism, to strive for power at center. All this may take place sooner than later if the secular movements do not wake up and broaden their reach. Even today those standing for secular values are much more in number and strength than those who have came under the spell of divisive forces, communal forces. The point is can they come together to ensure that India goes in the direction being asserted by Modi/BJP/RSS type politics.

The writer is a professor at the Indian Institute of Technology and a human rights activist. This article first appeared in Issues in Secular Politics. Email: ram. [email protected]

The News International

How long before the semi-fascist Hindustan turns into a full-blown fascist republic and sluaghters hundereds of millions in gas chambers in the name of Hindutva?

Re: Hindustani Hitler

:rotfl::rotfl::rotfl:
:rotfl::rotfl::rotfl::rotfl:

It's pretty sad that some Indian's are laughing at any criticism made of man like Modi, widely recognised to have played a part in the genocide of thousands of Muslims in Gujrat.

really? I don’t need exaggerated accusations from India haters to keep my feet on the ground.

This Pakistani Dragon seems to have made it its life ambition to come up with scandalous headlines against India. Remember the foolish title he gave to the other thread claiim PM Singh said something about nukes on Delhi? So please don’t make apologies for this sort of bigots

If someone will come up a balanced and proportionate criticism of our weaknesses I will be the first person to accept and thank such a service.

Absent that, this sort of dishonest hate-filled and incompetent propaganda deserves even less than the :rotfl: and no further credence.

Jai Bharath
Sri Rama Jayam

So if this is propoganda, then tell us how many Muslims were killed by Hindu mobs in Gujrat?

1000?
2000?
3000?

Why don't you tell me and back it up with some evidence as to how and why it happened? And while at it, don't forget to look up how many Hindus were killed or otherwise seriously impacted in Kashmir?

We as Hindus try to be most accommodating to our Muslim, Christian and all other religions. And Muslims within India reciprocate in equal measure.

But some of the guys from Pakistan keep fooling themselves thinking somehow you can create such wedge issues ....unfortunately sometimes you succeed but not always. It is such games that has brought your country to current state of chaos.

I hate to reply to you; anyways it's none of your concern. It was a crime Indians committed and they'll pay for it, I dont know how or when. I'll advise you to keep your self busy with the things happening in your country; you do have a small chance to make it to heaven if you can do something good for your country in these difficult times.

Thanks Infinity. This is the best response that can be given on these questions where intentions is just to humiliate each other rather than having discussion.
Sorry 'StirCasy', your question Why don't you tell me and back it up with some evidence as to how and why it happened? is really stupid. What evidence do you want? First step in fixing something is to realize that there was mistake done. Somehoe you are closing your eyes to the fact that it even happened.Dont descrminate based on whose blood it was. Doesnt matter it was Muslims or Hindus. Eventually it is India that bleeds

An example below… enuff said…

http://www.atimes.com/ind-pak/DC15Df01.html

Given its history, its ideological orientation, and the nature of the social movements it relies on for core support, this is not surprising. The BJP is the successor organization of the Janasangh, a
party founded in 1950 by members of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) or Association of National Volunteers, a proto-fascist Hindu nationalist, paramilitary-type (khaki shorts/white shirts) organization founded in 1925 and modeled after Mussolini/Hitler/Franco black/brown/blue-shirt outfits. (RSS co-founder B S Moonje met Mussolini in Rome in 1931 and subsequently structured the RSS on the lines of the Fascist Academy of Physical Education.

The question was not about whether Godhra happened. What was Modi's role? He is being accused of being a Hitler by the clowns without any evidence. No one in India has been able go beyond accusations, including the investigative commission.

I don't care whose blood was spilled - it was and that is shameful. That does not give anybody rights to accuse someone.

But I agree that Infinity's response is what the malcontents that make such accusations need since their intent is to slam India.

my apologies for interrupting but just wanted to point out that I liked what you wrote here and it makes a lot of sense.

stircrasy and F&B carry on with the discussion.

^ what is there to discuss? blood was shed and while other countries may write it off as past, we Indians have to hand our heads in shame for a very long time.

Whether it was more Hindus that killed Muslims or more Muslims that killed Hindus,

My only objection is that I read report after report and even though all the headlines are how Modi was the villain, none of them actually provide any evidence that he was!! If he was, fry him! But let somebody prove it first.

I am not a Modi supporter but I am coming across more and more good stuff about him rather than 'modi the murderer' headlines which is all we used to see. Here are some things I read today in a Thamizh magazine:

He is unmarried and has 2 servants and a cook at the CM residence. Leads a simple life, eats what is cooked simple meals. Has two PAs at work, not IAS officers. The two do secretarial work and do not do any personal work for him.

During his CM'ship, Gujarath has accelerated development significantly. In five years, of the 97 MOUs signed, 89 are fully complete! To set up an industry, you just call his office - you get an appointment at which time he will have the concerned departmental staff and authorities in one room - once agreed, c=all clearances and licenses and permits etc are there repsonsibility!

When asked by a reporter what his accomplishments are, he declined to answer saying he wouldn't tou his own horn and advise the reporter to go ask the public and experts about him.

When asked what he has done for development of minorities he said his plans and accomplishments are for all people of Gujarath, minorities being part of that.

He doesn't pander. When farmers refused to pay their electricity dues, they were brought to justice = even though it was a big vote bank that supported him.

Based on his recommendations BJP denied tickets to 47 caste based candidates and instead fielded merit based candidates. 33 of them won. This in spite of the usual anti-incumbency waves that set in after 5+ years

one thing that i'm puzzled about is why he waited so long to get the army out there to stop the riot. There was such a huge time gap wasn't there? what work was more important than taking immediate action when a certain bunch of people were going completely berserk and on a killing spree. Riots aren't something new so it wasn't like he was so shocked that he couldn't think straight. But he waited and then after a sufficient amount of time he took action. That just seemed very strange to me. What exactly was he waiting for?

but you're right every human is innocent until proven guilty. But what happens when that human has complete control over any and all crucial evidence and can scrap it before anybody can get their hands on it. He's a very smart politician and one that's a bit scary for me seeing him from a distance.

There are tons of very intelligent ordinary people that have a potential to be good politicians in India, why Modi again for another few years, I was hoping he wouldn't get back into office.

He waited few days to teach those muslims some lesson. Somehow a politician who is so smart and honest as mentioned above didnot see all the bloodshed although national media was shouting about atrocities. If one is in control of power, sometime ‘not doing’ anything itself is evidence enough.I have read stircasy’s example of how honest Modi is? what at about taking moral responsibility of 1000s of death and leave the office? But then if that happens who will teach lesson to all those muslims. I give a damn to all the development if life of common people is not protected. What more evidence is needed to convince likes of Stircasy than tehelka tapes at tehelka.com.

Taliking about simple life that he lives. Let me tell you, ideologically driven people ( in this case Modi driven by RSS ideaology) are like that. Do you know Osama and Ahamdnijad also live very simple and honest life. Modi is in good company here. That is why I say, nut cases in all relegion are very similar except of their hate of the relegion that they dont believe in.

Indopak, this will be of some help…

Check this out…I am quoting here…
http://www.tehelka.com/story_main35.asp?filename=Ne031107The_Idea_came.asp
Bhatt: After Godhra, there was this reaction and a certain climate was created in the Parivar by the top leaders, meaning the RSS, the VHP, the Bajrang Dal, the BJP and the Durga Vahini… and in that we had Narendra Modi’s support… Let people say what they like, [we had] support in the sense that if Hindus are going to be burnt like this… if conspiracies are going to be hatched to burn Hindus… they wanted to burn the whole train [the Sabarmati Express]… **Bhatt: After Godhra, there was this reaction and a certain climate was created in the Parivar by the top leaders, meaning the RSS, the VHP, the Bajrang Dal, the BJP and the Durga Vahini… and in that we had Narendra Modi’s support… Let people say what they like, [we had] support in the sense that if Hindus are going to be burnt like this… if conspiracies are going to be hatched to burn Hindus… they wanted to burn the whole train [the Sabarmati Express]… and now if we don’t do anything, if we don’t generate an adequate reaction, another train will be set on fire…. This was the idea, the thought that came from him [Modi]… I was ****present in the meeting… **
**TEHELKA: Where, sir… **
Bhatt: It was held in Baroda itself…at a secret place…
TEHELKA: After Godhra …
**Bhatt: Immediately after. The same day as Godhra… there were two meetings, one at Ahmedabad and one at Baroda… on what action we were to take… everybody was present … the BJP, the RSS, the Parishad… it was decided that we would not take this any longer… if we have the guts, we should react… so everyone felt, unanimously, that since we didn’t want to be on the defensive, we should start that night itself **

All this transcript is on Video.

Read this one too…
http://www.tehelka.com/story_main35.asp?filename=Ne031107After_killing.asp

Somq quotes from there…

TEHELKA: How many witnesses have testified against you?
Bajrangi: Fourteen Muslims and 16 policemen… Out of the 14 Muslims, some have moved to Juhapura… They’ve left Patiya, they don’t have the guts to stay there, defying us… The rest have gone to Karnataka… They got money after all, Rs 7 lakh each… Narendrabhai never said how much they would be given… He announced [the compensation package] then gave out cheques of Rs 20,000 each and that’s where things got stuck… Afterwards, he gave nothing to anyone… But then the Central government supported them…
TEHELKA: In other words, the way [you] have killed will go down in history.
Bajrangi: Arrey hamari FIR me likha gaya hai… ek woh pregnant thi, usko to humne chir diya thha b***d sala… Unko dikhaya ki kya hota hai… ki hum log ko tumne maara to hum tumko kya pratikaar de sakte hain… hum khichdi kadhi wale nahin hai [It has been written in my FIR… there was this pregnant woman, I slit her open, sisterfr… Showed them what’s what… what kind of revenge we can take if our people are killed… I am no feeble rice-eater]… didn’t spare anyone… they shouldn’t even be allowed to breed… I say that even today… Whoever they are, women, children, whoever… Nothing to be done with them but cut them down. Thrash them, slash them, burn the *******s… Hindus can be bad… Hindus can be bad, and I’m saying that because, as I see it, Hindus are as wicked as those people are… Many of them wasted time looting… Arrey, [the idea is] don’t keep them alive at all, after that everything is ours.

All this transcript is on Video.

http://www.tehelka.com/story_main35.asp?filename=Ne031107The_RSS_will.asp

TEHELKA: Are all of you happy with the VHP…
Rathod: Who comes here now from the VHP… Only Babu Bajrangi still bothers to find out about us… We got out of jail before he did… Babubhai was the last released… but he used to ask about us even from jail … What sangathan… Our women fought like the Rani of Jhansi… We [the Chharas] went first… The VHP followed us… Nobody could have done what we did… We filled well after well… we burned enough [people] to fill tractors…
Richard: I swear by my children… I swear by the Mata that if we had not been there, at least 30 to 35 Hindus would have been killed…
• • •
Richard: [On the day of the massacre] we did whatever we did till quite late in the evening… at around 7.30… around 7.15, our Modibhai came… Right here, outside the house… My sisters garlanded him with roses…
TEHELKA: Narendrabhai Modi…
Richard: Narendra Modi… He came with black commandos… got down from his Ambassador car and walked up here…. All my sisters garlanded him… a big man is a big man after all…
**TEHELKA: He came out on the road? **
**Richard: Here, near this house… Then he went this way… Looked at how things were in Naroda… **
TEHELKA: The day the Patiya incident happened…
**Richard: The same evening… **
TEHELKA: February 28…
Richard: 28…
TEHELKA: 2002…
Richard: He went around to all the places… He said our tribe was blessed… He said our mothers were blessed [for bearing us]…