Gandhi scion faces criminal charges over anti-Muslim speech

you have a point...

Re: Gandhi scion faces criminal charges over anti-Muslim speech

Varun gandhi is a idiot hopefully he will be banned

Forget about Muslims he did not even spared Mahatma Gandhi, its a new low in Indian politics

So much so for Pseudosecularism!!

Varun Gandhi is not an idiot but a bechara who is desperate to achieve popularity what he feels is due for him being a Gandhi. While Rahul Gandhi is mobbed by crowds wherever he goes and hypnotize his audience by his soft speak, Bechara Varun seldom gets noticed or taken coverage of.

But now he has got enough coverage and publicity, thanks to his communal rants. But perhaps he has forgotten that litrally no one in India has prospered politically using communal hatred. (Narendra Modi being an exception). Even founder of erstwhile Jan Sangh( Now BJP) Atal Bihari vajpayee had to sing secular songs before he could gain some place in Indian Politics.

Banning him is not going to be a good idea coz that will give him status of a martyr in religious bigot's views. He will die his natural political death in time to come. History gives us this lesson.

Becara Varun, na Mom ko woh Izzat mili jo Sonia aunty ko mili, aur na khud usko Rahul Bhaiya ke barabri karne ke qabil samjha gaya. How sad.:D

Why are the pseudo-seculars in India so eager to brand anyone who talks about Hindus or their rights as communal ? Is that the price to pay for being in majority ??

And by the way, a person has to be born a Hindu. Varun Gandhi is not even a 100% Hindu. He was born to a Sikh Mom and a half Parsi/Muslim-Half Hindu Dad. So by that logic he is only 25% Hindu :)

^^ In India there is the 1 Drop Rule....If any part of you was Hinud...then you are a Hindu :)

And who ever told you you have to be born a Hindu? just because it doesnt quite have any big conversion missionary program, doesnt mean you cant convert to one.

just political posturing....
he makes fun of muslim names, threatens etc and you call it a political posturing its not but a gunda gardi..

we loath our politicians here but to be very frank they are 1000 times more better than thugs there and no shining india for me if you these kinds of issues are discussed by main party candidates..

What about his mom who gives speeches regarding animal rights ?
i grew up watching her show on tv on animal rights :)

Well, I disagree with you on that. A non-Hindu is free to follow Hindu beliefs eg. ISKCON devotees but that does not make them a Hindu. With Christianity and Islam, when you convert/revert you actually become a Christian/Muslim.

If he really made fun of Muslim names then I agree with you that its cheap & pathetic and should not be condoned. As of now, he has denied it and given Varun Gandhi's history I am not willing to believe anything till its proved one way or another.

As for standing up for Hindus, and saying he will "cut the hands that rise against Hindus", it might be a jingoistic statement and empty rhetoric but I don't really see it as communal. I am sure the pseudo-secularist Indians on this forum and elsewhere disagree :)

End of the day, the voters of Pilibhit will decide his fate.

He might have a good reason to beleive that his comments will seel and get him votes.

^ That constituency has a sizeable Muslim population. Varun Gandhi needs their votes to win. What is his incentive to ridicule them ?

I am surprised that people who see a conspiracy theory everywhere else are so willing to believe this cock & bull story. :hmmm:

^ a sizeable muslim population who is very unlikely to vote for him, who will likely vote Congress whatever he says. So why not rally the hindus behind him to get the hindus that vote for congress to get behind him

I am sure he knows that if no Muslim votes for him, he would need 100% Hindu votes to win. That is not possible given the various party/candidate/caste combination. It seems highly stupid to alienate Muslims voters.

The fact that two cases have been filed against him for distributing currency notes in the constituency also points towards the fact that its a political conspiracy to malign him.

define a Hindu first.
you can very much take a non-Hindu to a mandir, where the head priest will do a 'Shrudikaran' on him/her, then take you into the religion, then you become 'religiously' a Hindu. you then change your religion officially, on your birth-certificate et al, and you then become 'officially' a Hindu too.

Hinduism is a philosophy of life first, then a religion. So yeah, you might be able to "convert" to Hinduism just by believing that you are a Hindu and accepting the Hindu way of life i.e go to temples, change your name etc.

However, contrary to what you say there's no formal religious conversion or anything.

well, one of the unique things about Hinduism is that it allows Hindus to practice other religions parallely or partly, and also follow saints,holy man etc and holy days of other religions without the danger of you being kicked out of the religion or termed an outcast.
similarly, Hinduism doesnt advocate conversion into it, just because one of the core Hindu principal is that you can worship God in any way, but still reach the same goal.
remember the Vedic quotation : All routes lead to me.?
but that doesnt mean you cant convert into it in the real sense of the word.
if no conversion is possible, then how did Hinduism spread as far as Bali in the east and Gandhara in the west?
leave other countries, how did Hindus appear in the far away North East India then, when its center of origins lie in the banks of Sindhu and Saraswati?

Please watch this video and let us know what you have to say about this…watch 1:23…watch he is not only rediculing the muslim names but also rediculing muslim appearences by comparing them with Osama bin Laden ( you mentioned in an earlier post that comparision was due to the guy’s past history, if you see carefully the video he is redeculing the person due to his appearence which his cousin saw in a picture somewhere). So do you still deny the evidence or you think even this video aired by a reputable Indian media group is also doctored…

Exactly ! This flexibility of Hinduism and the fact that one can practice Hindu religious customs without formally being initiated into it, leads to the perception of them being Hindus. The religion in flexible enough to allow them to practice Hinduism, However, technically a non Hindu cannot become a Hindu. Some religious leaders in the past have tried to introduce this idea of conversion into Hinduism mainly to get the Hindus who were forcibly converted to other religions back into Hinduism.

However, coming back to the topic on hand, Sanjay Gandhi was born to a Parsi dad and Maneka Gandhi was a Sikh. So how does that make Varun Gandhi a Hindu ?