dupatta-free trend

Re: dupatta-free trend

We tend to forget this don’t we…there are likely still a large contingent of women in rural areas of Pakistan that do not wear “foundation” garments…

I love the look of the long dupata but other than that it's a pretty pointless garmet.

No need for it with last year's super long, "khulli" pleated shirts. How much fabric can one woman drape on themselves.

Islam didn't stop us from embracing the capris, sleeveless and half blouse trend so dupatta kya cheez hai.

Lol. And that is what I meant. People can think that. Wearing a Tank top also covers bossoms, so as long as we aren't nude we are 'covered' right? :D

And i have never seen breasts being shown through an Abaya? (that's a pretty wierd "abaya", or not one :D )

I am pretty sure that in Quran, it is stated that you cover it with A SCARF .

Well to each their own, we are all answerable to God. I don't wear a scarf or a dupatta or cover my head. But at least i Admit that I should and I am wrong.

This non dupatta trend is like the burning your bra trend. Women equate this to freedom and embracing their womanhood. I feel a dupatta completes and gives class to the garment. I do wear a hijaab and more importantly dress modestly. When I wear salwar kameez I love to drape the dupatta across, to me it makes me feel fashionable yet modest.
However, I wouldn't do the sleeveless kameez but think it looks great!

Love the second outfit. Who is the designer?

I don't mind duppatta-free trend (depending upon the culture and occasion obviously) as long as the boobs are properly hidden (Moroccan jilabahs do that very nicely). I love duppattas but they're a hindrance for my tom-boy nature.

That’s her wearing a mega push up bra… LOL

She’s also wearing an ‘abaaya’ :wink:

Twinkle, I think it’s Nishat Linen.

whenever I read bold part, it reminds me TLK. :hehe:

Hadeel and I were just having this discussion a little while ago.

Me being a hijabi, I actually LOVE the dupatta free outfits, which are loose, and I can easily wear my hijab with desi clothes, without having to handle an extra piece of cloth which, in reality serves no purpose to me.

I don't know why people make such a big deal, when you're wearing Western clothes (most likely without a dupetta, so why not desi clothes?) And your clothes can be JUST as covering, even without a dupetta.

That's not to say, there is a lot of femininity in a dupetta, but that's another topic.

I am not used to this so if I wear shalwar kameez..........gotta have a dupatta.

However, I rarely just go out in a tshirt or short sleeves. I usually have a cardigan on or light jacket.

I've seen many people wear abayas and when visiting middle eastern countries I wear them all the time but I rarely see girls dressed like pic 1.

To be modest is good but to cover yourself and wear proper hijaab and observe purdah is best!
I wonder why you didn't show the women who wear no dupattas and show their cleavage, or black bra with light coloured or see through suits or push up bras, I'm sure there are those aswell!

dupatta-free trend

I love this trend!! But only with the latest kurtis, maxi styles, paneled frocks, long straight shirts with tights or trousers!!! Living in the US, in the beginning my mom would be like how can you go out to an event without a dupatta but now she has caught on and agrees it looks better on girls than older woman. I love it because I have always hated dupatta. These days dupattas suits traditional shalwar Kameez. With my recent clothing I go out to weddings and such without dupatta all the time but it only depends on the outfit. My older stuff looks better dupatta, not so much recent stuff. I don't really know about the no lining stuff.... that's just odd.

Islam doesnt stop us from making judgement on other people either.

**No, it doesn't.. **If that was true Arab Muslims (practising) would be using much longer scarves like dupattas instead of their shorter headscarves worn with loose flowing clothes..

It really doesn't matter what is used as long as it's covered.. Religiously speaking a sleeveless top would be perfectly fine worn with a cardigan or jacket, jeans and scarf just as a maxi dress with cardigan and scarf would..

The dupatta looks pretty and links to our culture.. In Islamic terms it's not needed.. I don't cover but I can see the two things being muddled and confused..

And tell the believing women to subdue their eyes, and maintain their chastity. They shall not reveal any parts of their bodies, except that which is necessary. They shall cover their chests, and shall not relax this code in the presence of other than their husbands, their fathers, the fathers of their husbands, their sons, the sons of their husbands, their brothers, the sons of their brothers, the sons of their They shall not strike their feet when they walk in order to shake and reveal certain details of their bodies. All of you shall repent to God, O you believers, that you may succeed. (24:30-31)
“O Prophet, tell your wives and your daughters and the women of the believers to draw their cloaks close round them (when they go abroad). That will be better, so that they may be recognised and not annoyed. Allah is ever Forgiving, Merciful.” (Quran 33:59)

2nd one wearing nishat is looking more decent with flowy outfit n light makeup:D

^^That wouldn't need to be a dupatta.. 'Cloak' could be anything which covers..