Re: Does a MIL have any say in naming your child?
No the age where women did not act like 10 year old girls.
;)
Indeed. The MIL should not act like a 10 year old girl. :)
No the age where women did not act like 10 year old girls.
;)
I can prolly argue with this line of thinking by telling you that your 9 months for your baby don't compare favorably with the 9 months womb time + 20 years of nurturing by your mom for you or his mom for him. It's this selfless attitude that's missing from our generation that leads to conflicts and misery in family ties.
Anyways, I don't even know why I'm here... after all this is the Life1 aka In-Laws-are-evil forum. Carry on...
No the age where women did not act like 10 year old girls. ;)
Mann, where do you live? Do you really have 10 year old pregnant girls fighting with their husbands over who gets to name their baby?I must take a trip to this place!
Or maybe you should also stop acting like a 10 year old, read the OP again and spot where it says that its actually her husband's who insisting that the MIL should name their baby. :)
I can prolly argue with this line of thinking by telling you that your 9 months for your baby don't compare favorably with the 9 months womb time + 20 years of nurturing by your mom for you or his mom for him. It's this selfless attitude that's missing from our generation that leads to conflicts and misery in family ties.
Anyways, I don't even know why I'm here... after all this is the Life1 aka In-Laws-are-evil forum. Carry on...
lolzz...good point LC. That's why I plan to give my kids the option to choose the names for their children without going through any trauma.
oh btw, I let my inlaws choose the first child's name because they wanted to.
wait, okay, so how many women would be okay with husband wanting to name the baby and you two can't agree on a name?? Or his opinion doesn't count cz he's not giving birth....right?
Okay. What are you getting so emotional for? ![]()
You’re not OP’s MIL, are you?
Mann, where do you live? Do you really have 10 year old pregnant girls fighting with their husbands over who gets to name their baby?I** must take a trip to this place**!
You already are in that place, go ahead and have fun exploring this section.
I can prolly argue with this line of thinking by telling you that your 9 months for your baby don't compare favorably with the 9 months womb time + 20 years of nurturing by your mom for you or his mom for him. It's this selfless attitude that's missing from our generation that leads to conflicts and misery in family ties.Anyways, I don't even know why I'm here... after all this is the Life1 aka In-Laws-are-evil forum. Carry on...
You are absolutely right! It is selfish to not consider their feelings and hardship. Your grandparents probably put your mom through the same ordeal. It's a vicious cycle of abuse that doesnt stop and desi women have come to accept it and even embrace it as something so respectful to your parents. My question is always this: why favor guy's parents over hers? What happens when nana nani want to name their grandchildren? Or do they have to have sons in order to have their this desire fulfilled? This is where most of you stop responding.
wait, okay, so how many women would be okay with husband wanting to name the baby and you two can't agree on a name?? Or his opinion doesn't count cz he's not giving birth....right?
No one said that only the mother has the right to choose the name, everyone said "parents" that includes mother and father.
I thought you were getting very emotional without even reading the OP. ![]()
I wish I was a MIL…can’t wait to become one!
You already are in that place, go ahead and have fun exploring this section.
what?
I thought you were getting very emotional without even reading the OP. :D
I wish I was a MIL...can't wait to become one!
What makes you think I didn't?
There's nothign wrong with wanting to name your own kid! and neither is letting others get involved int eh process.
the problem herein lies when either party is being stubborn and is not being flexible and takes on the attitude of "my way or hte highway". let's not bash MILs/DILs since both parties can be guilty of this.
You are absolutely right! It is selfish to not consider their feelings and hardship. Your grandparents probably put your mom through the same ordeal. It's a vicious cycle of abuse that doesnt stop and desi women have come to accept it and even embrace it as something so respectful to your parents. My question is always this: why favor guy's parents over hers? What happens when nana nani want to name their grandchildren? Or do they have to have sons in order to have their this desire fulfilled? This is where most of you stop responding.
Those Nana nani are also someone's dada dadi, just like the current dada dadi are also nana nani to someone, so they all get their turn soon or later and in one way or another. If thats what are you talking about.
Like Sara said, this my way or highway attitude divides family. Deciding children's name can result in wonderful family moments if only anyone knows how to keep things in balance.
What makes you think I didn't?
Your posts.
Those Nana nani are also someone's dada dadi, just like the current dada dadi are also nana nani to someone, so they all get turn soon or later and in one way or another.
^That's why I said do they have to have sons to have this desire fulfilled?what if they don't have sons like my parents? Is it fair to favor my husband's Parents over my own? Why get either set of parents involved?
There's nothign wrong with wanting to name your own kid! and neither is letting others get involved int eh process.
the problem herein lies when either party is being stubborn and is not being flexible and takes on the attitude of "my way or hte highway". let's not bash MILs/DILs since both parties can be guilty of this.
I think I would be very stubborn if my inlaws wanted to name my son "shaukat" or "Ashraf" or "fakhar". I have every right to be stubborn in that case.
Your posts.
My initial post was a response to DC's post. And when I said saas sussar I meant both parties' parents.
your parents: suneen, ammi nai bhi 2-3 naam btaaeey hain, itne khush hain mashalla. Achey hain na yee naaam? (loaded question)
his parents: yeee aap ki ammi ko har cheez main dakhal daina zarori hai? mera bacha hai, main khud rakhoon gi naam...un sai kaheen unhoon nai kerleya shauq pora aap ka naam rakh ker, aab kia problem hai?
only the parents of the kid should decide the name, saas sussar should stay out of it as they have already named their own kids.
If you read my posts, I've been consistently saying "his" and "her" parents and also alluded to the fact that my parents named us through consultations from my dad's as well as my mom's side. There's no favoring one side over the other... nani nani have as much rights over their grandkids as dada dadi - esp. in today's family configurations where the couple is probably not even living with the guy's parents. Of course, in situations where you live with your in-laws and the guy's parents are going to be more involved in providing care for the kids, they naturally expect you to proffer a little more respect to them - again, nothing wrong with this due to the nature of your cohabitation and their involvement with your child's upbringing.