dancing boys of afghanistan

Re: dancing boys of afghanistan

And people who are presenting the other side of the argument are not making excuses either. Their reasoning is being reduced down to a lame defensive response. How is that fair? I thought you applauded PD for taking a stand and making his position clear, why not say the same to everyone else?

I am utterly shocked as i read your post Huma....where did i make excuses for these animals? I do recall labeling you a female chauvinist and i am sorry i feel the same again...

the fact remains that for every problem ...social, medical or business related ....one needs to first analyze it to understand underlying causes and contributing factors so that a proper solution/strategy can be devised and implemented....

the problem is that once you do it, chances are that you may be saying things that are not politically correct or a mere deviation from norm...but i am not afraid to state my viewpoint....

i have never said that men are justified in satisfying their lust....how can one say that? but i am stating an obvious problem that plague our societies...

**why did you think even for one second that i am justifying men **who either want to screw other women outside their marriages or molest boys...that is obviously WRONG..and there should be social, societal and legal barriers to stop such practice

but what i said and i quote that when you try to fix this problem by removing women from pic by implementing brutal segregation as we see in so and so societies, it does not solve the underlying problem rather it reemerges in a worst manner such as molestation of boys....

and i have been saying throughout that we need to keep a balanced segregation and continue healthy interaction between men and women and implement social, societal and legal barriers to stop female exploitation...

i really feel that your criticism and such a blatant tack on me was completely unfair. thx

have you seen the documentary? most of the men involved were married. so they had access to females. seeing as all of the men in the documentary were in a country where polygamy is allowed and can well afford it coupled with the fact that prostitution is quite commen in every society including afghanistan there is definately no shortage of women facing these men. these men took advantage of whoever they could and these boys are very vulnerable.

it looked to me that this practice is rampant because it is tolerated by the people in general and by the law enforcement that it goes on. I do agree that these men are not homosexuals because they are preying on children which is pedophilia so they are pedophiles. disgusting men

disgusting practice. pedophilia should be punished severely. rigorous sexual repression is a major but not only contributing factor. While not unique to muslim countries, it does seem to be more common and sometimes even accepted in muslim countries - afghanistan, many middle-eastern countries for example. quite surprised to learn from this thread that is happening in Pakistan as well? isn't it illegal ?

but in the documentary none of the men were sexually repressed. if sexual repression was the reason you would get lots more men in late teens and early twenties indulging in this because they arent married. the men in this documentary were Married and mostly above 30 years of age. sexual repression would not cause people to become pedophiles. if someone is getting sexual satisfaction from children there is something very very depraved about them.

Hmmna, yeah I agree. What I meant was these people grew up in very sexually repressed communities and so over generations it probably has become less taboo or even acceptable practice to them. I donno, just guessing.

they are married now and in 40s and 50s... but the question is what happened to them when were between 18 and 30....that is what u need to ask yourself...

if they are doing it now it is so obvious that they must have started to get involved in these activities long time ago when they were in early teens and when they were not married and were sexually repressed.... they get used to boys and now they are still used to them ... it is a very common trend....i dont want to go in more detail . ..please explore internet for behavioral issues...

and what do you mean by* "if sexual repression was the reason you would get lots more men in late teens and early twenties indulging in this because they arent married"*....janab this video is only 50 min....they cannot go and talk to every person...they were just videotaping those who are socially strong and married to show the extent of this plague....obviously if married/socially strong men are not afraid of any social backlash and doing all this, it means late teens and men in 20/30s men are involved in these activities as well and it is a pronounced at the societal level...those who are married now and in 40s and 50s were once unmarried and were in 20s and 30s!!! they were doing it then, that is why they are doing it now...common sense!

have you ever lived in rural areas or in NWFP or any place like this?

plus i am really surprised that how come all those who watched the video are not bringing up the most important point..and the point is that whenever interviewer asked the families of those boys if they have problem with it, all of them said it is OK......but we still keep on claiming that this trend is not pronounced at the societal level in those societies and that these are just some isolated incidences by some evil men....nice!

^^yes i have

i dnt agree with you. the same boys are available to the men when they reach 17, 18 years of age but they are no longer interested in them. if it was only about sexual needs they wouldnt concentrate on children. its such a depressing documentary.

I agree, I got carried away, such is the nature of these sensitive discussions. But your criticism that we're just being thekedaar for Islam by disagreeing with some of your viewpoints was also unfair. That's like someone else discrediting you by saying you're just finding excuses to bash religion. Anyway, aap sub mujh se baray hain and please know that I respect you a lot. Aisi heated debates se kabhi bhi apke lie izzat kum nahin hogi. God bless.

fair enough Huma....and frankly speaking my "thekadar of islam" post was not directed at you...i was a bit more surprised by your post considering you were the only one in the other camp who actually agreed that you have interacted with the opposite sex in a mixed segregation without any problem....and then you mentioned that defining the boundaries of a "healthy mixed segregation culture" remains challenging and subjected to one's opinion..and that i agreed too.

in any case, i assure you that I have no negative feelings towards anyone including you..we are having a debate and these things happen...plus you have shown a big heart by admitting that you got carried away a bit...this is something which is completely non existent in our today's society...

I am the originator of this thread and I feel that the topic has been discussed to its core and given the sensitive nature of the subject under discussion, i have no problem if mods wants to close the thread at this point...if not, that is fine too.

It’s a good discussion, PD, no need to close the thread. Bus mein ab nikalti hun lol :blush:

There's a reason it's called long arm of law; simple fact is, let females be free and murder the men doing this.. We are, after all desi and a 6 year trial followed by jail where we give him food is not nice; I'd rather eat the goat curry you give to that ******.

Sidda kum, you wanna learn from former people? Hang them and stuff their bodies with toori and let them hang from a post in the chowk.

Fir kera sala mere chotay veera tay hath chalaoo ga.

And, fact is most men are whipped into being impartial; they lust after women, and take their side even when they shouldn't. In that sort of climate, when rape of women is not looked after, what makes you think this will?

My dad told me, that they used to do this to young boys and stop when they get older; the expected end for those boys was suicide as they would be blamed, and ridiculed and suicide would be there to preserve honor.

Well, this is what happens when we lose rule over ourselves.

I'll swear my fealty to a Bhatti or Ranjit Singh anyday; not to no sharif.

edit - Why aren't the tribal councils taking care of this? And, isn't the population mostly youth? What're boys my age doing.

Huma,

PD is one of the few who is unafraid to lay blame where it belongs. His positions are typically nuanced. I applaaud PD because he is introspective, looks inward, and does not come with a knee jerk reaction. At times He actually gently reprimands me for butting in in support of his position. Cause he likes to fight own battles.

The other side sees things as black and white. No religion not to be blamed. Not having access to women has NOTHING to do with stats of men being abusive this way. Not normalizing in terms of % men who do this vs elsewhere.

Ab humse galti ho gayi, tho seriously, main maafi mangtha hoon. As I have stated I lose track of age difference when debating.

Just read the remaining exchanges. Seems constructive to me. All is well.

(Hopefully we find more to agree on. I have said multiple time you are a good and decent and compassionate lady. Compassion towards FOBs, views about not using hurtful language jump to mind readily. And I recall other items also that gave glimpse of your decency.

Hope that big picture will soften thermal management issues related to heated debates.

I know I wasn't half as mature at your age. God bless.

Thanks and I like the bromance lol but I’ll let ye get back to the actual discussion now. The good news is that the Easter break is over tomorrow so you won’t see me around as much. :hehe: Happy posting.

There was no bromance. Just an honest expression of my views.

Or it could be as simple as this:

1. Because they are gay. Not every man indulges in this bacha baazi. And the ones involved in this all do not represent the majority of the population.

2. Because they are pedophiles, thus they want boys, not men.
    As for the dancing boys being feminized, In gay relationships, there is one who is more masculin and other one who is feminine and more submissive. The dancing boys here are the 'females' in the relationship, and the adult males are the dominant ones.

Why do some gay men have relationships with ladyboys, while they can have a 'real' men? Who do some gay men prefer transvestite over a manly looking man?

Sure, there might be a few who do it because they can't get any woman. But I definitely don't think that is the case for the majority of them.

^ second last sentence is informative. Last sentence is a hope and a prayer.

You don't say.

j/k

Southie,

Huma is one of the few who is unafraid to lay blame where it belongs. Her positions are typically nuanced. I applaaud Huma because she is introspective, looks inward, and does not come with a knee jerk reaction. At times se actually gently reprimands me for butting in in support of her position. Cause she likes to fight own battles.

The other side sees things as black and white. No religion not to be blamed. Not having access to women has NOTHING to do with stats of men being abusive this way. Not normalizing in terms of % men who do this vs elsewhere.

Ab humse galti ho gayi, tho seriously, main maafi mangtha hoon. As I have stated I lose track of age difference when debating.

Just making assumptions like everyone else.