no i swear…u know that “bil batori”
us nay meri ratoon ki neendain haram ker de thee :bummer:

in fact i had to ask mama to sleep with me :bummer:

Re: Consequences of Fear Factor in Childhood

we use to enjoy that show... neva got scared of it :p

chacha hazoor app ka to pata nahi mujhay per main us waqt 8-9 saal ke thee :p

konsay saal main chalta tha ye program? i was pretty young as well...

ammi nay to kia darana tha ...main aisee jyaale bachi thee k mujh say hee sub dertay : D

lakin mujhay bachpan main bhi or ab burhapay main bhi oonche awaazoon say der lagta hay ..mere heart beat per bara assar perta hay agar koi guusay say ooncha bola ..khaas tor agar koi mardaana awaz ho i m near to die: (

Niksik but kids are not always logical, they dont always see or understand reason...your reason that is. fear is one thing but coaxing them to do something then becomes a problem..

bribery anyone

my son is afraid of Alien.....don't know why?
Once I told him that Aliens are cute and he said " they are gray with red eyes"...

but that is not a fear factor we are discussing...

how old is he? did he see any movies of aliens?

he's going to be 4 soon inshaAllah.....i don't think if he's seen any movie with aliens in it but in one of his dvd [Kipper the dog] there were two cute little aliens coloured lilac and pink......

i remember we took him with us somewhere out and he saw (man built) silver gray aliens of iron and metal there....i think he's afraid of them.

hmmm... that seems like the case... so what do you think how can you get the fear out of him?

As a child .. I guess , I wasn’t afraid of such Bhoot sorta characters …. As a child .. I have seen couple of examples where people were reported to have that Saayah on them ..And to be honest to me it was bit amusing/zany then scary ….

But at this age .. if I am afraid of something then its electricity … yes I have a fear of electricity … known as Electrophobia .. I can’t even change bulbs and tube lights ..

Excellent topic AQ…

It’s really informative to hear first hand from parents about their experiences with their kids.

In my case, I can’t really say that anyone ever instilled any fear in me but that is not to say that I wasn’t scared or afraid of anything. Most of the things I was scared of were based on stuff I saw on TV. I remember this Arabic show on TV where there was an episode about a woman’s nightmare which had something to do with night time, moon beams and a woman rising from the dead as a zombie...

Lest it be said, I was really afraid of the moon for a while and had to keep my drapes shut at night time so that I don’t see the moon from my window.

It’s just that kids have such vivid imaginations and with an impressionable time in their lives, you need to be very careful with what you expose them to – deliberately or inadvertently. Like others have said already, it’s a delicate balance you need to maintain in order to instill a healthy sense of caution against things that are unknown to them.

Children also have a very misplaced sense of cause and effect… so we need to be careful about unintentionally having them associate things that might cause them distress. An example I have in mind is my brother when around 3 or 4 years old started to cry at the sound of the Azaan… and later we realized that my dad used to leave for work after his afternoon lunch break and it was almost always around Azaan time so he could pray at the masjid on his way to work. So my brother started associating any Azaan with his fear of separation.

I've heard the same Niksik... in addition to fear of separation that kids around the age of 2 or 3 develop almost always.

interesting.... How did you grow this rather wierd fear?

Interesting account of observation UT...

Normally, moon is something that a child is attracted to most.... hence, we see the moon being refered to as "bataasha" in urdu poetry or geet like "Anokha laadla; khelan ko maaNgaY chaand" ... even Iqbal's poem Ehd-e-Tifli depicts the period of infancy as something where infants and children feel love of curiosity for the moon.... but your explanation on why you felt afraid of moon is one unique one... tells us about the individual perspectives of the things.

this is the worst thing that parents do to their kids, scare them.

as a kid i was scared of “jhin/bhoots” (ghosts/spirits) cause my mommy told me if i won’t drink that glass of milk, they’ll come & get me:bummer:..same if i won’t do my homework. Even though that "Jin thing "made me do alot of stuff :smiley:
but it also lead to me being scared of dark/shadows/sudden sounds:hinna:
wasn’t fun…esp. on halloweens :barbie:

Moral of the Story: scare kids of Monsters/ boogeyman/Ghosts/demons and make them do stuff they won’t otherwise. Also, they won’t go trick or treating on halloween & be safe from strangers.FUN! :chai:

:smilestar: Os main darny wali kia bat thi:cb:

anyways, i personally cannot remember a single time i was scared with those made up characters… i mean i have younger siblings but i dont think my parents ever used these tricks :hmmm:

waise this kid i know learnt the “f” word from pre-school, when his mum heard it she scared him by saying “kal tum sou ke utho ge na tou tumhari zabaan dheir saarey tukrhouN meiN tooti hue parhi ho gi…” :bummer:

yaar gn or pinko :mad:

kaheen yeh kid app he to nahi hain :hehe: