Being kaali pakistani

Re: Being kaali pakistani

@above
Going by that photo, if you were any lighter you'd be transparent

^Agree. I don't know what the problem is. Either these aunties have really poor eyesight where even someone who is wheatish or fair appears "kaala" to them.....OR.....they're jealous/inseucre and are saying these chitty comments to make you paranoid/self-conscious. I'm not fair...heck I'm darker than the picture Sanaabc put up and I haven't had anyone call me dark...not even my relos in Pak that have the most backward behavior.

You'd think that aunties would have more sense/tact and learn from their own negative experiences...............but they are not above that. And you'd think the younger generation of girls would be more sensitive about this.......but some of them are not any better than the elders. I feel it' has a lot to do with insecurity. I've seen this type of behavior in relos and took me a long time to figure out that it was jealousy.

i hate aunties, they always bring negative thing and if someone doesnt have one then they will going to create one. :naraz:

ya it has to do with their jehalat.. sadly they dont realize the consequences of their rude comments.. thanks to them i have zero self esteemm...
anyway noone has made any comments about my complexion here in the us.. its just this khala who keeps me reminding about this time to time..

A friend of mine was pretty dark & now after sometime i saw her shes veryyy fair. Shes in pk , no one knows how she did it, probably like laser whitening or something. Im in no way sugguesting it just saying its possible & ur story reminded me of her.

From my view hold ur head up, dont care about ppl theyll say stuff no matter how perfect u are, if ur fiance is by ur side forget the world.

I agree. I'm punjabi and my family really doesn't care. I'm pretty light, but I've honestly found that to be a turn-off for most guys (and last time I checked, it's the guy you're going to marry not the the mil, so it doesn't really help if she likes you cuz you're light but the boy tells you to get a tan). Desi people are generally naashukray about everything...scratch that, ALL PEOPLE in general are. White people want to be darker, desis want to be lighter, etc etc. Ignore the haters, there's alwasy going to be someone that doesn't like you for some reason or another; they're not worth your time.

You can't expect that people's mentality will change when you also associate being dark or resembling an African as an insult. You would be proudly telling if they were to think that you look Latin or white.
What a contradiction....

oh dear, inspi and OP, u are a bautifull and beauty lies in the eyes of holder, dont ever underestimate urself. never curse urself, for being wat you are. u seems to me in a complex of being told you are dark, these dars darker tone is exactly liked by all.

belive me, me and my sis wen in school were quite dark and tan as my mom(late) never asked us to stay indoor, not to go and play in grounds in harsh sun of KSA, as other desi aunties did , literally i saw an aunty scolding hey girl not to play out side else u’ll get kali, that girl did listen to her mom, then she seriously scold her in front of everyone saying “mere ghar mai kalay logon k liye koi jaga nhe” and took her away toward the classroom (indoor), see how some desis are, i wold say it jahalat and nothing else.

also em not saying to stop caring 4ur self just bcz nothing will not look gud on u, or start hating urself… this is not the right way to combat your weakness. start loving urself, praise urself the way you are, moreover you can work in ur own way to get the best of ur complexion and hairs, belive me my, if u be persistant and religiously care can make you achieve the best out of u, my elder sis was always hurt and told that she is fat and kali, and that hurts her but she didnt lost her confidence, neither she started hating herself for that. she tried to sort out the problem in a decent way and now she is MA quite fair in complexion and married. not only that, her inlaws tells her not to wear any makeup as she looks cute without make up and overdone, she is like
http://www.mays-eshop.com/mays/detail?nid=720 tone, i dont know what tone in MAC

the reason for the lengthy reply is to start loving urself and try to get the best out of u, and kick out those who hurts out ov ur life…

You've just witnessed the rapid response team in action. Whether it's the ladies room or the internet, womenfolk will huddle in the event of a crisis. It takes a village to boost a girl's morale. That's how we roll.

Think of your self as 'Cinderella', with inner beauty & lovely features.

No wonder the prince charming has fallen for you and wants to take you to UK.

Jealous and envious people will always try to put one down, but look at your inner strength to overcome them.

May God give you all the happiness in life.

Aww thank you so much, Ameen.

Aww Sanaabc your so not dark infact your really light in my eyes and i cant believe your khala how could one call you kaali? even though your light skinned, im gonna post my pic here again so that you can compare yourself to my colour im way too dark...i can totally understand your feeling when my sis was born my dad was so happy and said " shukar hai iss baar gori peda hui hai" even though he is super dark himself but he said that infront of me when i was only a lil kid..when i was born my mum was so shocked to see a kaali kalotti baby and she cried and asked my dad to call doctor as "aisa nahi hosakta itni kaalii? plz doctor ko bulaein yeh kya hai" she was panicking like anything thats what she told me(thanks to her) and everytime i went pakistan when i was a kid my mamus would ask mum " aap baher rehti hain iskey rang ka koi ILAAJ karwa lein"

Reha, Thanks so much your comment made me really feel better..i hope i can start taking my colour positively.

Sara516, I know im being too senstive even i know that but i just cant help i always try to remain strong about my colour but when someone talks about it i just get soo hurt that its beyond my control..

I really dont wana sound "Nashukri" lekin i cant help i really cant i sometimes look in the mirorr and promise to myself that i wont complain about my colour from now but againnn when somebody points at my colour i just get so embarassed and hurt.

Painting a house and painting a face entails the same process. Once you've determined your complexion shade via the color wheel and selected the coordinating foundation, you step over to the paint tools aisle and buy a flat paint brush the size of a small donkey for speedy application purposes. Sephora is just like Home Depot, only more glamorous. See, men and women aren't so different after all. You paint the house, we paint our face, everybody's happy.

OMG!!! Whats with desi parents.. cant they just for once make their kids feel good about themselves. I have seen parents calling pagal , dangar to their kids who were special kids. Can you believe it!! I think its the parents fault that you are feeling so under-confident. If they had not put this kali/gori seed in ur mind you would be strong and confident and wouldnt have cared much for what people said.

Dont give a damn to what people say. You have a great fiance who loves you for who you are. Stay strong :hugs:

No one can help you on this but you yourself.

'Aunty see, aunty do' (as in monkey see, monkey do). Aunty/people will pick some other thing if its not complexion. We get hurt by remarks when we take everything personally and feel from inner that its some sort of deficiency. Stop getting hurt to provide food to other's stupidity.

WTH?! .. You're a 4.5-5 in Bobbi brown and you think you are kaali? Which foundation are we talking abt?

I'm a 4.25/4.5 in Bobbi brown and everyone tells me I'm very fair for a desi?.. People usually assume I'm from Iran or some Arabic country!

Whats happening here?

Girlies all of you need a super morale booster lecture! What's wrong!? None of you is kaali. Plus all the attractive ladies I know are dark-skinned and are beautiful IMO.

Inspiron and GG you both are going to get a daant from me soon if this doesnt stop. because both of you are ultimately gorgeous MA

Jeez…Grow up girls…you ain’t little princesses …
Part of being a grown up is having a thick skin and ability tolerate shi!t from others… :rolleyes:

!I'd have thought people would take issue with you being a "gangsta" rather than your skin colour!

its just a nick on gs:)