American System

Yea yea that system where each pays for their own meal , their own movie ticket , their own ice cream when a bunch of friends go out together. So did Americans really gave this system to the whole world ? :hmmm:
Some unkills have told me about an extreme where even husband and wife, father and son , and siblings do not pay for each other. Is that true ? :hmmm:

Re: American System

it's the world now... "my money!!"

abay hamari taraf tu phaddaa ho jata hay bill dainay par :omg:
aur tu aur
donoo partiaaN waiter say keh rahi hoti haiN “Bhai saab inn say bill mat laina yeh hamaray mehmaan haiN:rotfl:

Now you are talking , that is where I came from. Once new in US I gave ride to someone from work to his home and he handed me two dollars , I said hey I am not a cabie. He said it is gas money which you burned to give me a ride.:smack:

LOL :hehe:
once - on a bitterly cold January evening
Two ladies were struggling at the gas station to pump up the tires
and had absolutely no clue how to do it
I offered to help and did the tire pressure for them.

They offered me a $5 bill :rotfl:
Which I didn’t take - offcourse :halo:

in america is called going dutch.
so talk to the ppl with the wooden clogs and pot.

yep and then ppl sit back and say oh, he did not pay, we paid last 2 times, he only pays when we are at a cheap place :slight_smile:

come on guys, we know that happens.

the american system was also proposed by henry clay:chai: to improve the nation’s economic condition :chai:

:omg: That is so true in some cases not most though.

right - happens sometimes

but on most occasions its taken as a matter of ego and there will ALWAYS be an issue at pay time

well couple of me gora friends in college days were paying rent and food bills to their families

I don’t mind it either , if you working part time as most of the college students do , you should be sharing the load . Not like most of ar desi kids , who stay at home till the age of 20/22 and do nothing .

C’mon man . One can easily manage a part time job with full time college .

Shah jee we are talking about once in a while kind a outing not on an ongoing basis. Even in Pakistan nobody likes free loader friends who have this habit of not paying ever,

Yea and upon their arrival , people utter ‘ lo je aagaya ek or Muftaa ‘

I dnt like bickering/seeing ppl bicker over the bill at the end of the night, it spoils everything! I know its wrong but I always end up paying for a huge chunk of the bill.

It happened tonight, a bunch of my ex-coworkers and I went out for dinner and we had such a great time! Towards the end of the evening, people started to get up and leave. I didnt pay attention but some of them didnt leave enough cash to cover their bill! Another girl and I did the bill really quickly and saw we were out at least $60. Of course, its disappointing but we just ended up splitting it between us.

I just dnt think the bill is something to argue over.

But I kind of like this system :hmmm:

Okay, so I was a TAD off-topic. :)

I think our parents paid for everything tiny thing we ate, drank and slept in while we were growing up, so now its our turn to do that. Right?

I dnt let my parents pick up the bill when we go out. I dnt let my little sister pay for herself when she is with me either. If we're out together, I pick up her tab. She is young, still studying and she doesnt have a job right now.

Friends, everyone pays for themselves but sometimes we treat each other too. :)

When the waiter comes to take orders you can tell the waiter seperate checks please . That is what me and my coworkers do. So everybody knows that they are supposed to pay for whatever they consume.

It depends how big the group is and how intimate or close relationship you have with ther people you are with.

Me too none of my relatives who are younger than me are allowed to pay when I am there.
I like to treat my good friends all the time.

Why were they leaving when the bill was not yet paid? ... and why would you not feel bad when your co-workers took advantage of you guys knowing - you will COVER for them! I ALWAYS consider co-workers as people that will be out of your life - once you leave the job. So I would not spend $ on them.

Personally, I would be ticked off. I would just keep on thinking I could have used that $60 for someone close to me

I guess I am Stingy - hehe