Thank-You!!I didnt chose my mendhi outfit..They are in the process of choosing it this week!! But Im not really worried to be honest because my MIL has great taste in clothes and all th clothes up to now she has made for me have all been beautiful..
InshaAllah my wedding will be in OCT 2010 and yours?
Aww thats awsome!! I'm sure it will be too from the sounds of it! I love your mint green outfit you described! Sounds goegeous and similar to something I have seen and been wanting. All of my clothes are also in the process of being made, and I got to pick them all out myself so I'm veryyy excited. Not from Pakistan though.
The wedding is quickly approaching...the end of July iA! ....two months left now...in Toronto, Canada!!
AAAAHHHHHH Duffy CONGRATS!!!
How did it all go??? How was is it!!! sooo excited for you…It was damn hot in PK wasnt it??
Ill send you some photos via email…and the clothes were gorgus!!!
How have you been anyway? I got back just over 3 weeks ago and Im missing HIM so so much It was great seeing him and just being with him lovey dovey music loool
Your Welcome!!! Woow if you need any helpy with the shopping then just ask…bcos I did my shopping in Lahore too!!!
IA you will finish your dissertation no worries babes..
The mint green…you mean my lengha?..yes its so beautiful…my fiance and MIL just picked it up the other day and my fiance sent me a pic..the lengha was in the box with just a bit showing…teasing me lool..
Where are you getting your clothes made from?
wwwoooooowwzaaa thats not too long..any help just ask babe..try my best to help..
The mint green...you mean my lengha?..yes its so beautiful...my fiance and MIL just picked it up the other day and my fiance sent me a pic..the lengha was in the box with just a bit showing...teasing me lool..
Where are you getting your clothes made from?
wwwoooooowwzaaa thats not too long..any help just ask babe..try my best to help.. :)
Awwww thank you! Thankfully all of my clothes shopping and major preparations are completed. I didn't get the chance to go to Pakistan for it but I did all of my shopping in Toronto. I bought both my baraat and valima outfit from a store called Oriental Fashions and I actually just saw the pictures of my shaadi outfit today because it has arrived and its perrrrrfectttt!! My wedding dress is a red banarsi lenga with an emerald green shirt and emerald green accents through out the suit! I loovee it! And my valima outifit is an HSY imitation of a white lengha with all silver work and a train..which I'm so nervous about walking in with!! I can be sooo clumsy at times hahah! but iA it will all go smoothly! Now I am in the middle of making dances...yess I have to choreograph all of the dances myself because my cousins have such a hard time with!! lol its usually me doing it for everyone else...now i have no one to do it for me! lol but thats okay we have started today and now just in the process of narrowing down some songs and making the wedding program!
and I completely understand the feeling away from the hubs to be!! ...I'm in Canada and mine is in the states and I havn't seen him since our Nikah which was last Oct!! :( We have been so busy with wedding prep and work and keeping our finances in check that we decided to put off seeing each other till the wedding! :( Khair..not much longer but I still misss him sooooo muchhh haha
Where will your wedding be? In Pakistan as well?? So much more less stress to have weddings in Pak...we don't have to do a single thing as brides...soo relaxing lol...where as over here in the West I'm stressing myself nuts about everything! lol sheeshh
Awwww thank you! Thankfully all of my clothes shopping and major preparations are completed. I didn't get the chance to go to Pakistan for it but I did all of my shopping in Toronto. I bought both my baraat and valima outfit from a store called Oriental Fashions and I actually just saw the pictures of my shaadi outfit today because it has arrived and its perrrrrfectttt!! My wedding dress is a red banarsi lenga with an emerald green shirt and emerald green accents through out the suit! I loovee it! And my valima outifit is an HSY imitation of a white lengha with all silver work and a train..which I'm so nervous about walking in with!! I can be sooo clumsy at times hahah! but iA it will all go smoothly! Now I am in the middle of making dances...yess I have to choreograph all of the dances myself because my cousins have such a hard time with!! lol its usually me doing it for everyone else...now i have no one to do it for me! lol but thats okay we have started today and now just in the process of narrowing down some songs and making the wedding program!
and I completely understand the feeling away from the hubs to be!! ...I'm in Canada and mine is in the states and I havn't seen him since our Nikah which was last Oct!! :( We have been so busy with wedding prep and work and keeping our finances in check that we decided to put off seeing each other till the wedding! :( Khair..not much longer but I still misss him sooooo muchhh haha
Where will your wedding be? In Pakistan as well?? So much more less stress to have weddings in Pak...we don't have to do a single thing as brides...soo relaxing lol...where as over here in the West I'm stressing myself nuts about everything! lol sheeshh
You know its such a weight lifted once the lengha and the clothes are all done..Your Barat lengha sounds divine..My lengha is also red :) and the HSY lenghas sounds beautiful! Maybe practice a day before the wedding with the lengha and heels in your room!!
My fiance is in Pakistan..I usualyl just see him once a year but as it was his brothers wedding I went over there and then InshaAllah he will be coming to London for the wedding..then Ill be ssing him everyday!!! lol
I so know what you mean in PK the girls can just sit back and relax where as here Im just the same as you, have to do everything yourself...its such a hassle..Will you be moving to the States after the wedding?
The Registry,Nikah,Mendhi, Barat and a small Walima will be held in London and then a larger Walima in Lahore...
Well dont worry you can stress out on here..we all understand what your going through!!!
Hellooow girls i posted this before in another thread, but i guess its better over here. First of all congrats to all!!
im new here and i need some advice from u guys. im getting married end of this year. i was looking at dresses to get an idea of what will look good on me.
So here goes im very short, thats like 5.1 and my figure is a size 34-36…
What i want is a nice bridal dress from pakistan, it will not b designer wear…thats nice but too expensive.. anyway
I like this lehenga/shara a lot, what i was wondering is it possible to get dresses made in pakistan and price range shud i b thinking of? (again non-designer). (dresses as in 1 piece dress). coz i think this lehenga wud also look really good if it was a dress.. i like the colours..
The long kameez lehenga and gharara’s i lik are these:
this one i like a lot, but not sure a gharar will look good with my hight.. i think it will make me look shorter, any thougts experiences??
What lenght of shirt can i pull off with my hight??i like the long shirts on the lehenga, but they shudnt be loose. I saw a lot of brides wearing long shirts, but loose. i dont like that..
And what about the farshi ghara’s??
hey, well u can get it made in a dress style...but u have to go to a place where their work can be trusted.
I am also short and i ordered a long shirt with a farshi ghara...I actually tried it before ordering it and it looked really nice. My shirt comes a little above my knees and that too looked nice.
For my valima i ordered a long shirt with an open front style, with a lehenga.
HI everyone,
I'm new to this forum but from the looks of the pages it looks like a great group. I had my Nikkah mA last year and am starting to plan the wedding. I haven't done too much planning as my fiance/husband does not have a job yet. Soo its a little frustrating when my friends who got engaged or had their Nikkah after I did are getting their ruksati done before me :-( Anyway, Rabia can you PM a picture of your clothes. I really want a farshi gharara as I think it would be very unique and not everyone wears it.
hey, well u can get it made in a dress style...but u have to go to a place where their work can be trusted.
I am also short and i ordered a long shirt with a farshi ghara...I actually tried it before ordering it and it looked really nice. My shirt comes a little above my knees and that too looked nice.
For my valima i ordered a long shirt with an open front style, with a lehenga.
hey thanks for d reply!
how long is ur open shirt on the lehenga??
About the dress: i have no idea where i can get something like that made in lahore...do u know any?i dont want to spend designer prices.
anyone else??
HI everyone,
I'm new to this forum but from the looks of the pages it looks like a great group. I had my Nikkah mA last year and am starting to plan the wedding. I haven't done too much planning as my fiance/husband does not have a job yet. Soo its a little frustrating when my friends who got engaged or had their Nikkah after I did are getting their ruksati done before me :-( Anyway, Rabia can you PM a picture of your clothes. I really want a farshi gharara as I think it would be very unique and not everyone wears it.
Congratzzz firstly and dont think that way...i knw how u feel i have been engaged for over 2 years now and during this time 5 of my friends got engaged and married already...4 of my cousins got married as well. My wedding is on June 12th and i cant wait it any more :D...i had to wait cuz my younger brother got really sick over the last two years and mA he is doing great now and we all are going to pakistan for my wedding in 6 days :D
Everything works out for the best. Dont worry and keep on praying.
Is it possible to rewear a Farshi gharara after ur wedding??coz of the trail..
Mine is too heavy...and i dont plan on rewearing it ... (i dont like it when others wear their bridal to someone elses wedding...so i wont do that for sure).
Im going to move to Lahore, I live in Karachi
Then my in-laws have left it on me to select the dress for both occasions. anyone know where long shirts on sharara are in or not. Wht colours should I choose for my Valima dress. I have fair, wheatish complexion
The pics look gorgeous Rabia and thanks for the encouraging words of support :-) I was wondering.. a couple of pages on this thread there was talk of a mehndi book between duffy and piyari (sorry for being stalkerish) does it have songs in it? Can one of you PM a link to the book or the file?
That will be much appreciated :-)
Laila
The pics look gorgeous Rabia and thanks for the encouraging words of support :-) I was wondering.. a couple of pages on this thread there was talk of a mehndi book between duffy and piyari (sorry for being stalkerish) does it have songs in it? Can one of you PM a link to the book or the file?
That will be much appreciated :-)
Laila
I have two mehndi books floating around my computer, one from Sahar and one of my own, I can send them to you right now! :) Oh wait I would need an email...send me an email to [email protected] and I will reply back to it! :)...this way is easier...i always forget to check my msgs on here. :)
Welcome to the forum Laila! Don’t get frustrated hun … such is the economy and you can just pray to Allah that everything works out. I don’t a job yet myself and it is really frustrating. So I can understand what your fiance/husband is going through. Best thing you can do is be super supportive of him during this difficult time… it will only stregnthen your relationship/bond!
I got engaged a little while back and still have no idea when my shaadi will be. Will I be a 2010 bride?? A 2011 bride? A 2012 bride (hopefully not) !?! So I totally get how you feel. I havn’t been able to get too much planning done either due to this reason. I have started the research process to see what vendors and such are located in my area - so once I do have a date, the actual planning will go as smoothly as possible. Plus I am starting to think about my wedding dresses… going thru GS is a great way to help one get an idea of what they like and what they dont like based on all the different designs and color combinations available
Rabia: omg your wedding is coming up SO soooonnnnn. I’m so excited for you Best of luck with the last minute things!!!
Piyari: I am so happy for you that everything has fallen into place so well for you. Shaadi date is set, Most of the shopping is done.. You have the next couple of months to plan everything else for your dream wedding and inshAllah everything is going to come out great!!! And I really do think now that you will be in Lahore by the time I go there for my shopping!!! Ready to become my shopping partner over there
Duffy: GF - its been a couple days since Iv last talked to you… where have you been!!! Miss you! xoxox
Sana: I totally understand what you mean about it being so much stressful over here for brides! God its so hard just finding the right vendors for everything for the right budget!!! That is one of my biggest concerns and worries!!!
Girls - ill be like all of you soon by doing the long distance thingie with hubby to be I’v always lived in the same city as him and now will be moving back home to live with my parents since I can’t find a job here. :sigh: its going to be so tough I know …
Sana-I just sent you an email message
PR-thanks for welcoming me to the forum! There so many ideas here that iA I will use for my wedding. My fiance/hubby and I have done the long distance things for almost 1.5 years and it will be another half year as I have to finish my Masters this fall. But don't worry, it will work out and then iA one day you will be together
HI everyone,
I can understand your frustrations about your fiance trying to find a job. Its sooo tough right now but iA everything will fall into place like Rabia has mentioned. My fiance graduated from his MBA in 2008 and is still working his way up to a job that he is actually rightfully qualified for. Hes working in a company right now but with his background he still hasn't been able to find something of his league in this economy. I never really realized how bad it was until I saw how hard he had been trying to find a proper job for himself. Inshallah though your fiance will and you guys will be able to start planning your future Inshallah Inshallah Inshallah...
At first I wanted to wait to get married till next year because of school...but when I came around my fiance wanted to wait so he could get his finances in order but then after our Nikah last year...we both realized neither one of us were going to be able to wait a whole year to get married so we set the date for this July and iA its coming up! It definitely isn't easy but iA I have faith things will smooth out in the coming months...weddings are so expensive its not even funny! A makeup person recently quoted me $850 for bridal makeup and I almost passed out!! hahaha I've been ranting about it since so hope no one is getting annoyed with my posts of mentioning it everytime lol! I just couldn't believe it...
lol so anyways, like I said, Inshallah it will work out. :_ Its okay if you start planning for your wedding now too...slowly you'll be able to prepare for it and it will make it that much more easier when your time comes around since you already know its coming! :)
Oh nooo you will be doing long distance too??? Awww don't worry I know it will be really tough in the beginning but you will be able to settle into a routine of talking to each other. Me and hubby webcam all the time and it gets tough but you will get through it. :) My fiances in Chicago and I'm in Canada...and havn't been able to see him since our Nikah last October :( so I feel you on that. :(