2010 brides.........

Omg its coming up sooo soon!!! You must be sooo excited!!! Please post some pictures for us after your return!! Best of luck on everything Rabia!! :)

Aww thats such good advice rabia :) Im happy to hear your brother is doing better now..just wanted to say all the best for your trip to Pakistan..Inshallah hope it goes perfectly and just as you want it! Enjoy the time with your family and hubby ofcourse :D xx

@ rabia: good luck and best wishes!!!

girls i still need some advice on dis…help!

i found this pic in another thread… seems a lot like what i want… but this is still isnt a dress down to the floor.. it still looks like anarkali something… so agn is it possible to get a dress made for reasonable price?

Re: 2010 brides.........

HI Everyone,
I hope all the planning is going well for everyone and it must be an exciting time for up coming brides! IA things go well and I was going to ask, how many people should carry Mehndi trays for the bride?

hmm I seem to be on a posting frenzy today :-) I wanted to pick this thread up again as I think its great, all the advice on it. Rabia, I really appreciate your advice :-) I was going to ask..has anyone experienced a long wait in between their nikkah/engagement and their rukusati?

We had our nikkah last May and just celebrated our one year anniversary. Our wedding will be delayed because of the job situation in the states and I am currently finishing up my Masters program. My hubby is mA very nice and very westernized for being born in Pakistan. We're completely polar opposites of one another as I am more controlling and he's more laid back. SO when it comes to wedding planning or getting started he's like oh it will happen and I'm like omg! we need to start planning now if we want a dream wedding. Another issue is that he hasn't been around much of paki culture so he doesn't get why we need to have 3 receptions when we're all ready married but he has agreed to them with alot of complaining haha.

I think our biggest arguments are over fiances as both of us dont have much and both of his parents have passed away and he's on his own. I'm currently a grad student and don't make very much :-( And mostly it's been me complaining about our lack of fiances and I dont know how I should stop :-(

Any advice would be good :-)

Thank you so much SoonToBeMrsBB … It really means a lot that you like my blog! The reason I started the blog is to act as point of rescource and inspiration for new brides and trust me I really appreciate the feedback! :slight_smile:

Congrats and Best of Luck with the dissertation … completing a Masters degree is quite an accomplishment! Dont worry about stressing out about the shaadi stuff…it usually all comes together wheter or not you stress like crazy …so dont :P!
When you get down to the shaadi stuff I’ve posted some great wedding planning tools on my blog which should help you a lot…I wish they had been around when I had gotten married they would have made my life a whole lot easier :stuck_out_tongue: (www(dot)inspirationalladdu(dot)wordpress(dot)com > ‘Planning’ Category)

Re: 2010 brides…

Hey dulhan2b, firstly Congratulations!! I know how frustrating it can be to look for the perfect dress.

I am a Karachi girl so I can’t tell you where exactly to go in Lahore, but I can tell you with certainty that it is definatly possible to get wedding outfits made for a reasonable price (if you arnt planning on going to a designer). Many markets in Pakistan are well known for doing amazing bhaari kaam and are experts at copying designer stuff. But I would only advise this if you know exactly what you want (the kind of kaam etc.) and are not looking for the consultation services that a designer would offer you. Knowing what colors and cuts look good on you is very important. As is knowing what looks are in right now…So do a lotttt of research… the only way you can know what you really want is by looking at whats out there and what people around you have been wearing.

Even though designers get a bad rep for being super expensive, I do have to say there are many reputable ones who will make bridals to order and stay within the budget that you give them. So it can be worthwhile to look into it, because that way you can just hand over the responsibilty to the designer and thats it. The other route involves way more time commitment, since you will need to constantly supervise the progress of your jora.

However, if you’re all set to get your outfit made on your, (and I know many brides who have done a wonderful job), the other important advice I will offer you is to get your outfit stitched by a trusted tailor. Just because someone does beautiful kaam doesnt nessecarily mean they can stitch well too. The last thing you want is a beautiful jora with bad fitting.

Hope all this helps. Best of Luck with everything :slight_smile:

Congrats and happy anniversary pyarilaila! Planning a wedding can be a nightmare... especially if one has to deal with the finances as well. Many of us are fortunate that our parents take over the finance aspect of it so we dont have the additional stress. I can completly sympathise with your fiance since we all know desi weddings tend to go overboard.

I think its really important for you guys to start with setting a budget. Money can be a difficult thing to talk about but if you deal with it head on, set an amount that you're comfortable spending on the entire wedding then it will be easy to divide it up from there. I think you're smart to want to start planning from now. Early planning is the key to keeping within a budget.
I've posted a great wedding budget planner on my blog which you can try starting with:

www(dot)inspirationalladdu(dot)wordpress(dot)com > 'Planning' Category .

Be honest about how much you want to/NEED TO spend on each item! and then look for bargains, Make sure to enter all items in the planner and then stick to the budget!!

Honestly, sooo much money gets spent on such silly things during a wedding. Wouldnt you rather have that money set aside for a honeymoon or to set up your place ... there are so many lasting things you could save up for.

Hope this helps!! Good luck!

I will just have my sisters and close coisins holding the trays for me!!
And where is everyone??? hows everyones wedding preps going?

miss you piyari and duffy!!! :hugz:

Tell me how your preps are going Piyari!!! Mine are at a standstill - there is only so much you can do if you don’t have wedding date yet :crying:

thanks for ur reply! really nice of you!

I know that its possible to get an bridal outfit made for a good price, absolutely! was just worried if it wud b easy to get a DRESS made for same prices... but i guess tehse days its all possible ;)
im thinkin abt not more than 50k, thats y i was asking.

thanks ;)

Miss u toooo PR!! :hugz: Need to send u a looong e-mail and update you..! xxx

Preps are going ahead…just booking a venue at the moment!!! eeekk..and researching some decoration companies..me and mum have sorted the guest list for medhi and barat..well inlaws want to do joint mendhi..also trying to sort out civil cermony..soo much to doo ahhhh

I miss you too PR and Duffy :frowning:

I can so relate to you Punjabirose.. I am currently in same situation

awe Fatso :hugz: … its such an annoying position to be in right?

How come now shaadi date has been set for you?

What do you girls think is the best way to approach this subject to the inlaws without coming off as rude???

I pick the word rude because in my case, they just married off my SIL. So is it too much to ask for them to start thinking about another wedding? I dunno… im kinda at a loss.

pyarilaila

hmm I seem to be on a posting frenzy today :-) I wanted to pick this thread up again as I think its great, all the advice on it. Rabia, I really appreciate your advice :-) I was going to ask..has anyone experienced a long wait in between their nikkah/engagement and their rukusati?

We had our nikkah last May and just celebrated our one year anniversary. Our wedding will be delayed because of the job situation in the states and I am currently finishing up my Masters program. My hubby is mA very nice and very westernized for being born in Pakistan. We're completely polar opposites of one another as I am more controlling and he's more laid back. SO when it comes to wedding planning or getting started he's like oh it will happen and I'm like omg! we need to start planning now if we want a dream wedding. Another issue is that he hasn't been around much of paki culture so he doesn't get why we need to have 3 receptions when we're all ready married but he has agreed to them with alot of complaining haha.

I think our biggest arguments are over fiances as both of us dont have much and both of his parents have passed away and he's on his own. I'm currently a grad student and don't make very much :-( And mostly it's been me complaining about our lack of fiances and I dont know how I should stop :-(

Any advice would be good :-)

Since, you have budget constraints I would advise you to cut one event out (maybe mehndi/dholki) or keep a grip on the guest list and keep it small scale. :))

find us on facebook:Rammal's Photography and Digital Art Hub.

yeah, I guess it would be cheaper to cut an event out but I want to do a full wedding with a mehndi, baraat and walima. This is the first wedding for my family and for pretty much everyone in involved and I don't want to look back on it and be like gosh I wish I had done this and this when I attend other people's wedding. Therefore, we're going to have everything but its just going to be later like next year. The people who arranged us are like well you should just get married right now and we're like umm noo... sorry..

Btw.. did you just post the comment so you could do a bit of advertising? hehe

Hey girls,

I just wanted to pick this thread up again and see how you girls are all getting along...?
I have set the date for the events and wedding prep is in full swing..!
If any of you need help..esp if you are in London..or need any advice where to get clothes or things from Lahore then you can ask me..More than happy to help!

PR and Duffy...where are you guys??!!!!!!

Hey...well Im having just close family carrying the thaals in with me such as sister/bhabi and 2-3 close cousins...

Sweety it really doesnt matter that you guys cant have the most lavish wedding due to money..bcos people will understand due to your parents passing..but Ive been to the most simple weddings and they have been the most beautiful! Aslong as you have your family and friends thats all that matters..
For example of the mendhi you can keep that simple and pretty..with making your own cute deco.. there are so many ideas on this forum and if you need any help Im sure we would be more than happy to help..On my mendhi I have collected bits whereever I find it at a reasonable price or on the net!!
Also I went to one wedding the stage was soo beautiful what they done was basically behind the seats was a wooden frame...you know you see them in the olden days and women get dressed behind it.. and plain white floor and red rose petals scattered on the floor..simple but beautiful!!

Good Luck sweety xxx

im not a 2010 bride..but a 2011 bride!im getting married on the 2nd april next year inshallah..im soo excited but sooooooooooooooooo nervous at the same tym..hope everythin goes the way we plan it xxx