Zulqarnain Haider goes missing/ announces retirement/returns back - drama continues

re: Zulqarnain Haider goes missing/ announces retirement/returns back - drama continues

You guys gave more support to the ones that were caught cheating than the support you are giving the one who refused to cheat. You should at the very least give him more support than the ones caught cheating on camera.

Worrying so much about losing "respect" in front of the world that you are ready to convince yourself that right is wrong and wrong is right. This "respect" thing and "refusing to deal with the facts" is very dangerous. Govts use it to deflect attention from the real issues at hand. Like the way the Indian govt and media convinced the Indian public that the issue during the commonwealth games was losing face in front of the British when the larger matter to be dealt with was why they even decided to host such a costly event in a poor country like India.

re: Zulqarnain Haider goes missing/ announces retirement/returns back - drama continues

so one can’t play county cricket while being in national side?

^ You mean if banned by the Country & ICC ? NO!

So far he is playing his cards close to the chest, his retirement announcement is also a link to his plan
and it seems this retrmnt move came quickly to avoid getting banned by any authority. So far technically he can play for any club or county with out any issues. imo

^ he means that Zulqarnain didn't need 'asylum' to play in UK.

Oh! I don't know abt that,,,, Logically you can do 'anything' if you have asylum except for voting

Zulqarnain Haider was unlikely to play the fifth ODI

[Osman Samiuddin](http://www.espncricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/486634.html#)   

November 12, 2010

http://www.espncricinfo.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/124200/124249.2.jpg

Officialdom in Pakistan has finally made contact with Zulqarnain Haider in a continuing bid to find out the exact nature of events prior to the wicketkeeper’s sudden fleeing of Dubai for London. The PCB chairman Ijaz Butt spoke with Haider on Thursday and Wajid Shamsul Hasan, Pakistan’s high commissioner to the UK, also met with the 24-year-old.
Though Haider told a local news channel that support and assistance had been offered by Ijaz Butt, a board spokesman said the purpose of the communication had been solely “to find out what made him do what he did.” The PCB’s three-man fact-finding committee - comprised team manager Intikhab Alam, the security manager Major Najam Javed and a senior board official Subhan Ahmed - has also been trying to establish contact, without success so far.
Questions, however, are still being asked about Haider’s actions five days after the event. He insists he fled because of threats he received after turning down the approaches of an unidentified man who wanted him to be involved in fixing the last two ODIs against South Africa.
In an interview with BBC, Haider confirmed the approach was made before the fourth ODI, in which his unbeaten 19 helped Pakistan home in a nail-biter. Taffazul Rizvi, the board’s legal advisor, asked why Haider waited until Monday before deciding to leave; the latest the approach could have occurred was Thursday (the fourth ODI was on Friday), which means he waited four days before leaving.
“In our culture, when are you worried about your family’s safety, you run to their side,” Rizvi told the Daily Telegraph. “Whereas he has run to a different country.”
Reports have also emerged indicating Haider was on the verge of being dropped from the one-day line-up. The influential Urdu daily Jang claimed in a front page report, citing team sources, that Haider was not inked in to be a part of either the fourth or fifth ODI. Instead, in a bid to find a better balance to the side, the team management was keen on doubling up Umar Akmal as a batsman-wicketkeeper in his place.
But an ankle injury prevented Umar Akmal from playing the fourth ODI and though he fulfilled that role after Haider’s departure in the last ODI, Jang claims he would have done so regardless of Haider’s status. The report suggests that Haider had been told of his ‘resting’ the evening before the last ODI.
Haider, who has sought asylum in the UK and retired from international cricket, also said that he handed over two letters he received in his Dubai hotel room to the ICC’s anti-corruption unit. ESPNcricinfo understands, however, that the ICC at least has not received any documents yet from the player.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/486634.html

And the Tamasha keeps going on :(

How much credibility has the PCB now claiming he wasn't meant to play the 5th ODI

looks like he's after free publicity and trying to raise his price for the media outlets, home and abroad. also it could be a cover-up for something bad he might have caught with.
running away from a match shows no sports man spirit, no wisdom. if he really wanted to become a hero, and he had such threats, and bookies were after him, he could have exposed the whole scene while staying in the team, right there in dubai, that way all of us may have had enough reasons to support this guy, stand for him and the whole nation could have asked the govt to protect this man and his family. but running away like a coward leaving his family behind to face the threat (as per his claims) and claiming political asylum in the UK, then giving no solid evidence to back his claims, and demanding his family to be sent over to the UK, is nothing but cheap drama, if its all true, he's not worth representing Pakistan at all. Unfortunately its a loss loss situation for this guy, and that only caused by his own bad decision making and immaturity. now he's trying to act like a political leader... he only added to the disgrace to Pakistan

Exactly, as if our super-hero Kamran Akmal had 'recovered and was waiting for 5th ODI. This is ridiculous statement from PCB IMO, this makes me even more suspicious that some officials are involved in the ‘games’.

^^ PCB will do anything and everything now, including getting statements from sports minister and even lutera - in -chief to clear themselves since Zulqarnain has pretty much blown the whistle.....
Inshallah they won't get away if ICC do their part right.....

And Moyo getting injured is a load of crap...he has bowed out because of the stink...

And the Kamram and Kaneria being stopped as well is a clear sign that ICC will not let PCB off the hook....

All of this is HURTING PAKISTAN TEAM and ITS chances badly....and I am sure anti-Pakistan cricket groups are loving it all the way...

Bland statements without any substance are hardly blowing the whistle. The only whistle he has blown is bringing the name of Pakistan and its cricket in more disrepute.

Uncle Ji how much of a name and reputation is left after the works of 2*Butt & co to brin in disrepute ????

I say we need some sort of cricket loving Dictator-Type Guy (not business/money loving) ..... to clean up the mess and set-up a solid foundation from School level to National Team Level

But then again we r talking about Pakistan :D

we'll see pretty soon if his statements to ICC and his conversation with PCB are BLAND as you suggested...If they are pretty soon PCB and ICC will issue a statement that they did not find anything REAL in Zulqarnains story.

And this is called Whistle blowing. Just a matter of understanding bhai jee..Call it semantics.

So far his statements are :nook: Maybe you can highlight where the high pitched whistles are blowing, or maybe even a siren going off.

^^ Lets wait and see what ICC and PCB have to say about it. It will settle everything.

If he is lying...and this a childish attempt to get attention...then it will come out.

When this whole issue was started, Zulqi got missing and reported to be emerged at UK airport, I’d posted that its all a drama which will do nothing good but ruin Pakistani Cricket and in response many ppl reacted giving a lesson to be patient as if something astonishing is going to come..
Now four days have passed by and where are we:

1. Zulqi is still providing words and words and words about all what might had happened with him. No concrete envidence was provided, and nothing has come up from three important bases: Pakistan, Dubai and UK
  2. UK police has not found anything yet either.
  3. ICC anti-corruption unit has questioned him but they couldnt find anything either except the story that he’s giving everywhere.
  4. Dubai police was not contacted by Zulqi cuz it was not one of his plans so they cant make any move either.
  5. PCB has contacted Zulqi and Zulqi, just a day after announcing retirement, seeking asylum , has shown agreement to be back to Pakistan and play cricket if he and his family is provided security. Although at this moment, he has got the asylum in a country where he says is most secure. But his family is still back in Pak, from where he ran to be safe.
    On the other hand when asked question about going back to pak, he also said that “when Benazir Bhutto was shot after going home, why cant he be!!” How clever!!
  6. He has got offer from English club to play cricket in UK.
  7. He says he’s being offered big money from media to tell the stories about match fixing. Now in next few weeks , there will be stories surfacing where Zulqi will be portayed as a SUPERMAN against all evils of match fixing who were desperate to get him involved but as per him “Pakistan is his mother and he cant sell it” (Ya rite!!)

So, my point is, after four days , atleast we know nothing better has happened for Cricket or Pakistani cricket rather, pakistani cricket is getting worse reputed and there is a strong possiblity that they’ll go through a ban very soon.

O btw, lets also include his FB status updates which prove that he’s playing the game all around in his own conditions. As the paper “The AUSTRALIAN” wrote today:
A Facebook junkie, Haider wrote on October 24, a day after arriving in Dubai with the Pakistan team: “icc doing good things fr stop the match fixxing go icc go we are with u fr stop the bad things in sports? nice?”
The International Cricket Council and its anti-corruption and security unit are based in Dubai, not far from where Haider and the Pakistan team were staying.
Yet instead of informing the team management or nearby ACSU of the alleged threats, he wrote on Facebook on Monday: “Leaving Pakistan cricket because get bad msg fr 1 man fr lose the match in last game.”

The paper further writes:

“The ACSU is baffled why Haider, 24, would announce his plight to the world on social media and do an exclusive interview with a subcontinental television station then go into hiding for two days without contacting cricket authorities or diplomats. He came out of hiding to hold a chaotic press conference at a restaurant in London on Wednesday evening to explain his reasons for abandoning his country’s one-day series against South Africa.”
[Courtesy: http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/sport/the-icc-is-still-waiting-to-hear-zulqarnain-haiders-match-fixing-claims/story-e6frg7mf-1225952320231]

Enough said!! :slight_smile:

^ you have summed up just about everything I wanted to say. Couldn't agree with you more on that! this guy is just out to gain popularity and bring more disgrace to pak cricket...nothing more!

I said this before and I'm saying this again (I'm pretty good with this,,,lol ) This guy has nothing - zilch-zero matters to blow whistles ,, the only thing he loves to 'blow' right now are the 'British Border Services & Asylum Board'

Zulqarnain Haider has nothing to substantiate his actions/events

Playing for one's country was such big thing. This match fixing gangs have put paid to even such patriotism in Pakistan. Every match becomes suspect!

nizam ^ I thought you were bit brighter than this ^ ,Guess not so !

What Patriotism has any thing to do with accepting flaws and then punishment ?

All these threads you see on current affairs are for Pakistan and for its People, you may go
cash on the situation as you wish.

Any ways most Hyderabadis are pizzed off with Pakistan since ‘Nizam’ days :smiley:

:jhanda: