Zulqarnain Haider goes missing/ announces retirement/returns back - drama continues

re: Zulqarnain Haider goes missing/ announces retirement/returns back - drama continues

AGNEW on Intimadation on Pakistani players..

[video]http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/cricket/9170706.stm[/video]

re: Zulqarnain Haider goes missing/ announces retirement/returns back - drama continues

The thing is he is not the first player to be threatened, if that is the case. The point is about how he behaved, like A1kashur said above:

Can we get off the diplomatic decorum and protocol stool please?! It really is becoming quite arrogant...
The kid (really compared to a lot of us - my God) grew up in the 90s....and all he knows (so far expressed) is his sense of SELF respect and a very low value to security from Pakistan....

Those who are calling him a clown...should wait ...the STORY is unravelling and Inshallah I pray this time budha butt and his haram khor network won't be able to get away with it....

^ So the rest of the kids in the team grew up elsewhere? wake up.

^^ yes exactly...and 1 of them is showing some guts....

btw in todays team...the young kids are fewer than the seniors...

and if any of the newbies would have this to say...I would doubt they would have done it any different...disregarding some few chalak minded ones who know how to weasel out with LIES...

Any how my point is with his youth..and his circumstances...

I can point out a number of youngsters who are in the team and not running away. Let's say we agree to disagree.

Maybe its better to blow the whistles then keep staying in TWO minds about what is RIGHT and WRONG...
Like Kamran Abbasi said...and I think he was spot on....A whistleblower is always outcasted.....
however when faced with a FORK in the road...very few will choose the path of breaching the camaraderie and voicing out....
He has done it....

Yes we disagree...but it is not about US...its about Pakistan Cricket...So sad....
OMG ...so sad....

Exactly it is about Pakistan and Pakistan cricket and anyone who brings disgrace and shame on the team and the country to further his own ends of gaining permanent residence in another country has no sympathy from me. The trip was too well planned to be spur of the moment thing.

Running away...
yes that is an expression of weak decision making.....
however that is hindsight...

Ideally he could have gone to ICC...DO YOU REALLY THINK that ICC would have patted him on the back and TOLD him to sit put while they GO protect his family and fight his CASE....
COME ON ...Please do wake up as well...
This is Lorgat...with the new kiss and make up going on between ICC and PCB...they would have sent him right back to PCB....

some one who just came back from England and WAS as most of agreed kind of OUSTED without due cause...can't he have a VISA in his passport still left for a month....???

Any how ....I just pray that Inshallah this is REAL and things will come out to REVEAL everything.....

so eshan bhai, you are essentially assuming that every new guy who walks into the pakistani "gang" should be able to deal with life threats (to him and to his family) in a calm and cool manner?....so a new player is excited to play for Pakistan, starts his new future with so many dreams, hits the winning stroke in a tense match and then he gets death threats to his family from criminals….he may overreact as zulqi did…

look, no doubt, zulqi reacted bizarrely thus bringing more embarrassment to himself and Pakistan but every person is different and possesses a different level of threshold when it comes to dealing with pressure…dealing with match pressure is one thing and dealing with life threats to your young daughters is a totally different thing…i have one question for you ehsan bhai...do you believe that zulqi is lying? if so, then i agree with all of your comments....if not (and we need to wait), but then we cannot blame him for what he did becaue as i said above, dealing with life threat could create panic. and people react differently...what we should blame is sad state of our cricket where players have to deal with life threats...

so far, zulqi has maintained that criminals threatened to kill him, his wife and his lovely young daughters in pakistan and he just got freaked out…..why would he trust pakistani board and management when all of them have shown no spine against corrupt players in the past…and who knows who is involved….and we do have a strong historical precedent ….we do know for a fact that Justice qayuum implicated 9 players meaning that the whole pakistani team was involved in match fixing….and there are a lot of indications that in last 2 years, at least 7-8 players were involved…..so how can you trust someone…and just tell me one thing…I ask all of you…do you feel comfortable going back to lahore/karachi and talking about these threats openly to media on that great land of ours?

look, here is the problem…we always take a position that favors Pakistan and I can understand why but it is aggravating the match fixing situation….when butt, aamir and aisf were implicated, everyone in Pakistan started to blame English media and declared the whole episode nothing but a cheap Indian and British conspiracy to isolate pakistani cricket….ok great…with this mindset, we are not going to get to the bottom of issues….now with zulqi issue, we have declared him a bhagora, lalachi, idiot who just wants to have British asylum…by having this attitude, we are again ignoring (and deliberately) the fact that the match fixing involvement in pakistan is way more pronounced than our imagination…

as much as I hated butt’s interview to mubashar luqman, butt made a very interesting poont…..he said and I quote “ do you guys know how many threats do we receive from criminals….if we tell about them, who will take responsibility of my family…..i live here with my wife, kid, young sisters and old parents…...who will protect them”…..that says it all….that really says it all....butt is a very mature guy....he knows what to say and when....he gave a message in a hidden tone....no one talks about those threats and probably at a certan point, players start cooperating (out of fear and out of greed) and then they can never get out of that vicious cycle….

with zulqi's episode, we can get a sense how this whole scam works....when a new players seems to cement his position for next 10-20 matches, bring him onboard because he many not be as talanted but his 10-20 runs can swing the match..so bribe him, threat him....do anything but bring him onbaord....and the gang is so strong that it does not let you play for pakistan again if you are not inline...

but when someone speaks, lets not call him a lalchi bhagora right away just because he did not conduct himself as reasonably as social norms suggest….

How about this news, Zulqi has an offer from english club to play cricket. I think the offer might be already on the table when Zulqi planned to fly UK. He’s proving himself to be very clever so far, but ONLY for himself!!

Still he hasnt accepted that offer i think he wont too

http://www.hindustantimes.com/PCB-chief-contacts-Haider-assures-safety/Article1-624950.aspx

PCB chief contacts Haider, assures safety

**Press Trust Of India**

Karachi, November 11, 2010
First Published: 21:42 IST(11/11/2010)
Last Updated: 21:45 IST(11/11/2010)

The Cricket Board in Karachi has finally got in touch  with troubled wicketkeeper Zulqarnain Haider who also met with the  Pakistan High Commissioner in the United Kingdom on Thursday. Zulqarnain who fled from the team hotel in Dubai last Monday to land in  London where he has applied for asylum                                    

because of threats to his life said PCB Chairman Ijaz Butt had called him up. "I got a call from the Chairman today and he inquired about the  circumstances leading to my decision to leave the team and come to  London," Zulqarnain told PTI.

“I told him everything and he has assured me the board will do everything possible to ensure security of me and my family and will do everything to help me out,” the wicketkeeper said.
The PCB contacted Zulqarnain a day after he held a press conference in London in which he confirmed he had received death threats for not agreeing to fix matches in the just concluded one-day series against South Africa in Dubai.
He also told the press conference that he had taken no money from anyone and the authorities can check his accounts if they want.
On his decision of not returning to Pakistan, Zulqarnain said when former Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto was not safe and was attacked in Pakistan how could he be safe after all he was just an ordinary cricketer.
“I told Butt sahib why I took this decision, I told him clearly I am under lot of mental stress and pressure but there is no way I regret my decision because I could never be part of any conspiracy to defraud Pakistan cricket,” he said.
Zulqarnain later also met with the Pakistan commissioner, Wajid Shamsul Hasan who has assured him even legal assistance.
“The high commissioner was kind enough to offer me legal assistance and also said that apart from seeking asylum if I wanted to stay in the UK they were other ways they could arrange it,” he said.
Wajid said he had met with the player to find out why he took such a big step.

Look at his remarks about coming back and giving example of Benazir. Doesnt it say enough how political he is playing? I'd repeat, isnt it the similar to what Altaf bhai had been giving the the reason for not coming back to pak?

I think every pakistani cricketer should follow Zulqi's legacy and request asylum in UK..

he is setting examples for juniors how to get free publicity , he is such a manipulative junior omg .. :D

He doesn't have any concrete evidence..no names, numbers..nothing tangible. Chances are this episode will go nowhere..just another blemish on our ugly reputation.

He thinks his family is safe now? Think again.
Nobody trusts the system in Pakistan. It is more of a jungle law with no protection to poor and ordinary citizens. Why blame the guy when we don't believe in the system ourselves.

We feel insulted because by going to the white man, he has brought to life the ghulam time of subcontinent.

That is the unfortunate reality.