Re: Zahra Haiders Article about relationships in Pakistan
so let me see if I've got this right.....
she's never going to sleep with someone that thinks she's never going to sleep with them.
hmm....smart.
or maybe she should just sleep with him to prove to him that he's ignorant.....
I think her comment was tongue and cheek, like sarcasm.
I've met many a men in Toronto when I was dating who assumed because I was Pakistani, I was religious. Not just Pakistanis, but men in general, that's who she's talking about. That is ignorance... not one question asked, but just ASSUMES that I must be religious because of my background and completely discounting the fact that Pakistan is a country and not a religion. I would also never associate myself with anyone who is ignorant, much less sleep with them.
People are so bent over Pakistanis searching porn. Who cares.. there are so many other issues in that country beyond their porn watching habits.
But yeah, this chick got what she came for. Attention.
Did I misread something? Where does it state she was being unfaithful?
**How do you know she's not mature enough to protect herself from HIV and STDs? **You don't know that these were one night stands or partners she's known. People don't give the younger generation credit for their knowledge on these things. I knew far more than I let on at her age because I wanted to educate myself because I know my parents weren't going to.
Also, just because of someone's questionable history does not make them susceptible to questionable partners. In fact, I know a lot of girls who've hid their sexual history or intend to with their future partner because they don't want to be judged because it's not what these supposed "decent" guys want to hear. Which, IMO, is worse than being transparent.
Because no one who is actually concerned about this stuff would sleep with this many people. Do you really think all these people she had sex with were shareef seedhay saadhay boys? Would guys in good relationships sleep her? Would religious, traditional, and guys who come from decent families sleep with her knowing she is proud of being a slut? The only ones who would agree to stoop to her level would be people like her. How mature is she if she slept around knowing the risks and the fact that her parents were probably extremely ashamed of her acts? If she thinks she will find a faithful guy after her proclamation of sluthood, she is in for a surprise. Sure, transparency is good but when it's chock full of mistakes and stupidity then it's probably better not to be so transparent.
I am especially mad because she is using her irreligiousness to justify her sexual rendezvous as if being less religious automatically makes one a slut. WTF?
I've met many a men in Toronto when I was dating who assumed because I was Pakistani, I was religious. Not just Pakistanis, but men in general, that's who she's talking about. That is ignorance... not one question asked, but just ASSUMES that I must be religious because of my background and completely discounting the fact that Pakistan is a country and not a religion. I would also never associate myself with anyone who is ignorant, much less sleep with them.
People are so bent over Pakistanis searching porn. Who cares.. there are so many other issues in that country beyond their porn watching habits.
That's what people do, they judge and make assumptions. People assume I am religious too because of my background. I don't get surprised or upset because let's face it, Pakistani is 98 - 99% Muslim so the chances of meeting a non-muslim Pakistani are one in hundred. Does this make them ignorant? I don't think so.
I guess I'm just of a different opinion because I would tend to be flattered if someone I met under the pretext of "dating" considered me religious simply because I hail from a particular background. If anything I would consider that to be a compliment rather than a reflection of someone's ignorance. (She seems to be more focused on others than herself.)
Sounds to me that she's part and parcel of the "judgemental" crew that she is so vehemently trying to speak out against.
I guess I'm just of a different opinion because I would tend to be flattered if someone I met under the pretext of "dating" considered me religious simply because I hail from a particular background. If anything I would consider that to be a compliment rather than a reflection of someone's ignorance. (She seems to be more focused on others than herself.)
Sounds to me that she's part and parcel of the "judgemental" crew that she is so vehemently trying to speak out against.
Different strokes for different folks. It could come off as offensive to someone who's not particularly religious or has issues with their religion.
Kuch hwa na hwa, Islamabadi burger bachay rul gae.. I heard their weddings are getting cancelled now, and many hakeem(s) from all over the country are starting their shops there so that they can provide their khameera as the solution to satisfy all Zahra Haiders..
While ZH is seen on Islo as saying, “haw hae men koi aisi wesi larki nai hun..”
The 12 counterparts of her were seen in this condition..
Ok wtf??? She claims to be repressed and being judged but goes on to judge a WHOLE nation of 182 million people, saying how they are the horniest people and most will engage in premarital sex. The Fudge is this stupidity? I think I lost a few brain cells reading that article, she literally has no solid point and is spewing her judgement on everyone.
This article is a popularity stunt by author. We are Pakistani and know that not everyone is as described in article. Author might over exaggerating her claim but in reality Pakistanis are not horny.
Tharak pan aur horny main bohat farq hai.. Pakistani mard tharki to hain.. mager majority ka level itna nahi hia... Author enjoyed consensual relation. It is not like she was raped by those 12 different partner.
Detials like safe place in hotel, or friend's office are clearly describe her own mentality. aik to chori oper say seena zoori...
Ab khod par control nahi to dosry aesy thori hain.. har kisi apnay jaisa beemar samjha howa hia.
Ok wtf??? She claims to be repressed and being judged but goes on to judge a WHOLE nation of 182 million people, saying how they are the horniest people and most will engage in premarital sex. The Fudge is this stupidity? I think I lost a few brain cells reading that article, she literally has no solid point and is spewing her judgement on everyone.
The article is a purely emotional one, not a logical one. It does not discuss the detrimental consequences of such promiscuity. It's about how she felt pissed that she had so many hindrances to deal with while she went about getting laid with 12 guys....as crass as that sounds. And it sounds like she is trying to make herself feel better by saying that everyone else is also like that...or the classics adolescent reasoning of "everyone else is doin' it too." Again, nothing remotely applause-worthy or intelligent about the article. And if one found Zehra's views to be commendable...then I question if that person would feel 100% comfortable with emulating the author's behavior...of having 12 partners regardless of whether they were one-night-stands or something slightly more than that. And if the individual would not feel 100% comfortable...I want to know why? Cuz that would mean that the author's stance is not all that deserving of taaliyan. Even if the 12 guys were more than one-night-affairs....how substantial could they really be? Most people have around 2-4 serious relationships...or exes. 4 might even be pushing it. And the serious ones are those you invest more time in...at least more than just a couple of weeks. If the author is in her 20s or even 30s and has already been through 12 partners...how many of those could really have been serious, meaningful relationships? It's something to think about.
If the author is in her 20s or even 30s and has already been through 12 partners...how many of those could really have been serious, meaningful relationships?
The author stated that she had 12 partners BEFORE she came to Toronto at the age of 19. It's safe to that the number is much higher now based on the author's own admission that she....umm.....is not repressed anymore.
People are making assumptions about the Pakistani population as if they know ALL of them, that they cannot possibly be horny :halo:. I know many Pakistanis (men and women) who troll Tinder for one night stands, go to clubs for that one hook up, etc. In fact, I knew one guy who couldn’t have sex with a girl because of his “moral” stance but would have no issue getting oral sex from a girl. But in front of people who they know aren’t like-minded act like they’re proper and would NEVER dare.
Not everyone only engages in sexual relations within the confines a serious relationship. It may be hard to believe, but it’s true. Just because someone has had 2-4 serious boyfriends/girlfriends, doesn’t mean that they have had only 2-4 sexual partners. Some people don’t care for substantial relationships to have sex. Why pass judgement on someone who thinks this way? She’s not pointing fingers at people who have only had 1 or 2 partners and laughing and calling them lame… It is who she is.
I think her point in the article was that Pakistanis do have sex in Pakistan outside of marriage. That’s all. Anything beyond that is HER life, not anyone else’s.
Not everyone only engages in sexual relations within the confines a serious relationship. It may be hard to believe, but it's true. Just because someone has had 2-4 serious boyfriends/girlfriends, doesn't mean that they have had only 2-4 sexual partners. Some people don't care for substantial relationships to have sex. Why pass judgement on someone who thinks this way? She's not pointing fingers at people who have only had 1 or 2 partners and laughing and calling them lame... It is who she is.
I think her point in the article was that Pakistanis do have sex in Pakistan outside of marriage. That's all. Anything beyond that is HER life, not anyone else's.
I don't have anything against adults who have premarital sex. What I find disturbing about this article is a TEENAGER having sex with so many partners. We're not talking about cases where 2 mature adults chose to engage in sexual activity. It's horny teenagers who obviously did not have proper supervision and had access to money, and did things that put them and their partners health in danger. Since the author chose not to discuss the health issues related to her behavior and whether she/her partners used protection every time, this is something we can only assume.
She can write about her own experiences all she wants to. However, I have issues with comments like "Most Pakistanis will indulge in premarital sex,", "That statement in and of itself signifies a particular aspect about Pakistani culture: we are horny and desperate for sex,".
It's fine that she and the people she hangs out with are liberal and engage in premarital sexual activity. But it's ridiculous for her to make broad statements like that about the rest of Pakistan without having some sort of reliable statistics to back it up.
I don't have anything against adults who have premarital sex. What I find disturbing about this article is a TEENAGER having sex with so many partners. We're not talking about cases where 2 mature adults chose to engage in sexual activity. It's horny teenagers who obviously did not have proper supervision and had access to money, and did things that put them and their partners health in danger. Since the author chose not to discuss the health issues related to her behavior and whether she/her partners used protection every time, this is something we can only assume.
She can write about her own experiences all she wants to. However, I have issues with comments like "Most Pakistanis will indulge in premarital sex,", "That statement in and of itself signifies a particular aspect about Pakistani culture: we are horny and desperate for sex,".
It's fine that she and the people she hangs out with are liberal and engage in premarital sexual activity. But it's ridiculous for her to make broad statements like that about the rest of Pakistan without having some sort of reliable statistics to back it up.
Not everyone only engages in sexual relations within the confines a serious relationship. It may be hard to believe, but it's true. Just because someone has had 2-4 serious boyfriends/girlfriends, doesn't mean that they have had only 2-4 sexual partners. Some people don't care for substantial relationships to have sex. Why pass judgement on someone who thinks this way? She's not pointing fingers at people who have only had 1 or 2 partners and laughing and calling them lame... It is who she is.
slippery slope.....
at what point do you figure opinions like this will lead to the breakdown of societal morals?
Societal morals have already broken down. Nothing surprises me anymore TBH. Maybe it's my North American desensitized upbringing. Maybe that's why I can relate to this article.
Like I said, there are bigger fish to fry in the world than to get riled up over one person thinking that Pakistanis are a horny nation. Like who cares. I'd rather be thought of as that than a nation that deprives young girls of education (just one example). It's really not the worst thing that can be said about Pakistan.
Societal morals have already broken down. Nothing surprises me anymore TBH. Maybe it's my North American desensitized upbringing. Maybe that's why I can relate to this article.
Like I said, there are bigger fish to fry in the world than to get riled up over one person thinking that Pakistanis are a horny nation. Like who cares. I'd rather be thought of as that than a nation that deprives young girls of education (just one example). It's really not the worst thing that can be said about Pakistan.
agreed...they have already broken down.
that's why this sort of article, and I use the term "article" very, very loosely, doesn't bother those that are, perhaps, half-way down the slope. meanwhile those that are clinging to the edge of the cliff, hanging on for dear life, will still speak up.
^You know a wierdo who happens to have a convoluted sense of morality. Duh
Some people in Pak have sex outside marriage. Duh
A girl claims she was sexually repressed after shagging 12 men b4 18 and people make fun of her. Duh
oh wow...I just skimmed through the comments there.....
it's one thing to say that it's her life and she can do what she wants because it's between Allah and her.....but when she decides to make her actions public in this way and when she decides that she has to berate an entire nation of people, then she has just given everyone the right to judge her as well.