"you don't look pakistani!"

Re: "you don't look pakistani!"

Njim is right. That happens a lot.

Re: “you don’t look pakistani!”

i like when people say that…not b/c im not proud of my background b/c i am and i always let let people know what i am aftewards, but its fun to see how many different ethnicities i can get…i feel like it makes me mysterious :wink:

haha i get the people speaking to me in Spanish too…and when i can’t respond they look so disappointed…it happened once in Mexico :smiley:

Once a gora total stranger walked up to me and goes"oh wait"
then he tried to remember some thing for for 2 sec.
then he goes "salam salam holy come" (slam twice.)
He was trying to say salam o elekum. That was funny.
I don't have beard on any thing.

Once me and my brother(visiting from pakistan) we walking close to cn-tower(toronto) A gora vendor start chasing us his opening line was"we have halal hot dogs"

^ you look so muslim from your get up maybe :hmmm:

I don't have "get up".

i mean - clothes - sorry - bad english

Jab bhi koii arban aunty mujhe se baat kerti hain mein kehti hoon “I don’t know Arabic” :bummer: us ke baad un kaa chehraa dekhney wala hota hai :omg: The most hilarious part is watching their face when they are disappointed that I am not arab.

For me it generally depends on the person asking the question...on the whole Indians and Pakistanis tend to figure that I'm Pakistani...but I work in a multi-cultural environment where many people have relocated to the UK from abroad...it's these guys that can have difficulty guessing my background...I think it is down to exposure (or lack thereof) to certain ethnicities...

As to your original question though...I'm not sure what a Pakistani is 'supposed' to look like...

:smilestar:that’s exactly what I would do if someone by mistake mistook me for a pakistani:biggthumb

and people talk to me in spanish here by mistake because there are hispanics by the thousands here and desis have just recently come so it makes more sense for me to be hispanic for them

I love femme when she goes all dominantering and warninging on me.

Femme warn me baby!

lolzz…happened to me once.

Afshi beta shalwar kameez pehna karo.

well then thats probably it! I get it all the time… old arab coulpes walking up to me speaking arabic, ppl guessing i’m from lebanon/ egypt/ iran all the time… it doesn’t bother me though :slight_smile:

I can understand South Africa too… shopkeepers in Medina thought that a lot … pata nahi kyouN :konfused:

:cb:

this happens with me when i go to shawarma shops :cb:
but i keep smiling so they wont feel bad :bummer:

In case you don't know it, all "genuine" Pakistanis have a white and green sticker pasted on their forehead that says "Pakistani". If you don't have it, then I am sorry to tell you, that you are not a "genuine" Pakistani; and therefore, you should please stop pretending like one. We "genuine" Pakistanis care about our brand, and we all look the same too. Thank you.

I don't know about that, but I do collection of green boxers.

are you sure its not algae :cb:

people have said i look like a persian jew :confused:
anyways whatever just tell them you’re from Pakistan and you’re desi and move on I guess…people love to guess
us Pakistani’s all have a different look apparently and there isn’t a typical look of a Pakistani

He fits in fourth type(He probably wants to say “other than him”):chai:
4. Pheeny

Something amusing I thought of as I read this thread. Many Pakistanis will argue that Pakistan should be included in the middle east and how we all look like arabs and europeans and are all fair and light skinned and good looking etc etc And then you see some one who actually is very white with light hair e.g. chanda from Life1, and fits the supposed definition of what a Pakistani should look like and you have everyone a little confused over their origin asking, hey are you pakistani? you don’t look Pakistani at all!

:cb:

So the question remains.