yes i am "kali", sue me

Re: yes i am "kali", sue me

"hum kalay hain tou kya hua dil walay hain", i find this song very insulting to sanwlay and black people.

...this discussion remind of a conversation i had with my grandmother, she asked me why i voted for obama, and i didn't know how to explain "why" to my 80 some year old grandmother so i told her because i think he has a cute family, and her response was "magar woh tu kali hai"..........urgh.......

Re: yes i am “kali”, sue me

^:hehe:

education is quite different from derogatory comments towards one's skin color.

Kala hay rung farishtoon key bhool say
aik till laga rahay thay k seha-e bikhar ga-e

lol, ab aisa bhi koi kala rang nahi maira :p

my skin tones olive and my husband is way more fairer than me. it's all fine and dandy here cos I'm living abroad but I'll be visiting my in laws in Lahore soon. the thing I'm most afraid of is peoples reaction to me over there. after reading this thread, my fears are now more than ever.

Black olive or green olive ?

hahaha.. more like Jessica Alba olive. :p

I'm not kaali on sanwali but I like the saanwala rang more, in fact when I take pictures I try to make my skin look darker by decreasing the brightness lol also I find sanwalay guys more attractive than goray :)

plus color shouldn't matter anyways! if for rishta purposes they reject you based on your skin color, then u are better off, why would u wanna be with someone who judges you based on your color anyways.

I think the newer generation parents look beyond skin tone, so I guess society is making some progress compared to the old fashioned ideology about gora rang blah blah!

Parents??? New generation guys/girls want to marry the one they love.....have a relationship....where did parents come in the middle?? isn't that too jaahil already?

Totally agree with the bit in bold.. Also, don't think desi girls are anywhere near as obsessed with getting a fair partner as the boys.. In terms of looks I was always attracted to nice features rather than skintone.. My other half is white but v.tanned with black hair, browner and more bronzey than a lot of Pakistanis :D

@ yanzla. Congrats girl. Ur a very confident girl and that's amazing.

Though i am a little confused on the issue here. Everyone has the right to want the type of the partner they do so i guess at the end of the day if someone wants a fair, tall, slim girl its ok. HOWEVER having such expectations from your partner and denying them the same right is very wrong. We do see often how mostly girls have to go thru this...the guys can be as odd looking as they are but their mothers would insist on nothing but a perfect girl. Now that is ridicoulous.

At the end of the day everyone has to let go of something because nobody is perfect. Some may value the family, education, etc more than the physical appearance while for some it may be the other way around. Each to their own.

you don't just marry the guy or girl you love, you marry their family as well :)

when I was in university, a spanish guy told me that he loved Pakistani girls because their skin reminded him of caramel!

Spanish guys and Kalus, even gorays and arabs hahah I think Pakistani girls are the most beautiful girls in the world ;)

and you haven’t seen the threads about the parents of spouse here?? :faizy:

I may have read a few, but dekha jaye tou a lot of the divorces that happen nowadays are due to too much involvement of the parents in the newly weds lives. That’s why you should look at the compatibility of the guy’s family with your own, and if there’s no match, then don’t do it, even if you love the person…unless you plan on living separate from your in-laws. Every girl I’ve come across whose married and lives with her in-laws, hates it!

^ so you are suggesting that if there is compatibility you can live with ‘his’ parents?? :eek:

if the in-laws are great and there is compatibility and understanding between the families, then yea I’d give it a try lol I really don’t want to live with in-laws though, and I know it’s sad because if I have a son and he gets married, I wouldn’t want him to ditch me and forget about me. But I wouldn’t force him to live with me either, as long as he calls me and visits me I’d be happy :slight_smile:
Fact is, women get jealous, whether that women is your mother or your wife, jealousy arises especially if the son favors one over the other; and that’s when problems come about. This just makes me realize how great fathers and father-in-laws are, they don’t intervene, they don’t create problems, they don’t get jealous lol
Jokes aside, if my in-laws were sick and needed their son to live with them, then yea I would live with his parents, without a doubt.