how true waleeday :k:
hmcq: change from jeans to dress pants is not as drastic as goin from non hijab to hijab… and no.. i wouldnt wanna wear the hijab even if i was given the choice.. i was just saying someone askin me to remove my hijab(which i had worn by choice) to get married would be wrong. true marriage is about compromising, but there should always be room for leniency… u can’t quit or just take up something instantly… without knowin how u’ll feel after doin so… i’m ready to compromise.. im not a strubborn person or a “feminist”… but i never thought i may be asked to do such a thing so it kinda caught me off-guard ![]()
but ya ure right.. and as i have already metioned before.. atleast tehy were upfront bout the hijab issue… no bombshells after marriage.. hehe
Waleed .. true…so true.
kher… the rista is history.. i guess i need to find out more things bout myself… ![]()
thanks for the help all of u lovelies ![]()
*Originally posted by MehnazQ: *
Personally, I think the hijab should be worn if YOU sincerely want to wear it and are doing it for the right reasons .... meaning, for Allah mian. You shouldn't do it just to please a potential hubby or in-laws ..... or wear it just because everybody else in the family wears it (which is what I have seen in some situations). Remember, God knows what is in your heart and if you wear it just to please others .... well, I would feel guilty about that cause it wouldn't be sincere.
I also agree with Anchal. There is a limit to compromise. If you do this for him now, what will he ask for next? Also, what is HE doing for you?
ditto !
True dat :k:
I think all desi girls should do ‘find out more things about myself’ course…
Khud bhi confuse hoti hain…sala apun ko bhi confuse karti aay.. ![]()
True, guiding one another is the most important thing for the unity if Muslim ummah…
Amen to what you said. ![]()
everything in life boils down to a mathematical equation.
there are two variables a, b :
a = how much u like the rishta
b = how badly u dont wana wear hijab
a>b => go for rishta
b>a => dont go for rishta
:Pagri:
*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
agreed, but it is not the my duty force another person to do something what I believe is right.
educate, comunicate, have a dialogue, discuss, convince..but not force
read again sir:) i said "to let the person know" which does not enforce anything :-)
plus read again the part where i said "no one should not and must not force"
Originally posted by CurruptAngel: *
If I were you I would say NO to this rishta because he is **ordering* you to do something before you're even his wife. I wear hijab and think very positive about it, I mean, it's great if my hubby will want me to dress in way that I'll get more respect from the opposite sex
One thing I don't understand is why wearing a hijab will earn more respect from the opposite sex? Most of the Pakistani girls I know, married or unmarried don't wear hijabs (they don't go round in bikinis either) does that mean they should be respected less?
Lajjo's making a decent point for a change, like should stick with like. Hijaban girl and long bearded Jamaati who brushes his teeth with miswak makes a good combo.
I too agree with Xtreme…It would be a bad combination were it to be that man is religious and the woman is not or if the woman happens to be the ‘free willy’ kind, it would be real bad if the man happens to be religious and vice versa…
I know this couple in Connecticut, the guy came to America long time ago and has really assimilated into the culture here. (People who came in the late 70s were easily assimilated). So he goes to Pakistan, gets married, brings the lady over here.
As it turns out, the guy owns 4 or 5 IHOPs and likes to sleep around with the waiteresses that work in his restaurants. His wife finds out about it, there is a big ruckus about divorce and what not.
Long story short, he didn’t give up sleeping around, but his wife started to do so. Well, as it happens, this gentleman finds out about it, but having become so ‘baighairat’, he does nothing about it.
So in this scenario, both the husband and wife are better off with the same mentality. He sleeps around, she sleeps around, they have two wonderful kids, the male kid has started sleeping around, the female kid is still too young. May Allah :swt: give her guidance when she grows up.
So yeah, I agree with Xtreme. Well rooted families with strong religious and cultural background should stick with those of the same kind, while those who blow where the wind takes them, should stay with those of the like. It’s not just a union of man and woman, it’s a union of two families and mindsets.
So your point is that unless the man has a long beard (no muchaN) and the woman wears hijab they will end up sleeping around? Let's see...Musharraf...Nawaz Sharif and begum..Waqar Younis and wifey..who'd have thought it?
Lajawab: kia ajeeb o ghareeb naksha kheecha hai tumnay bhi... as Xtreme points out.. with u its either aar ya paar.... ure thinking... its very twisted...
Xtreme: My post has nothing to do with beards or non-bearded or Hijab and non-Hijabi people…What gave you that idea? ![]()
Khawateen: It is a true nakhsha, unfortunately…It’s a very extreme nakhsha I agree, but twisted? You haven’t seen much, have you…Good for you…
the mind boggles. how is it always the pious of the pious who come up with the most pervy of stories about other "loose" people's lives?
*Originally posted by queer: *
the mind boggles. how is it always the pious of the pious who come up with the most pervy of stories about other "loose" people's lives?
And the mind also boggles when the most pervy of people grab a Mullah by the beard for his slightest indiscretion...:D
Well what was the point in posting it in this thread about hijabs then?
*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
Well what was the point in posting it in this thread about hijabs then?
Replying to your reply and agreeing with you with my own 'twisted' nakhsha...
actually for someone as pervy as me, the choiciest grab would be a lot souther to the beard.. but then again, there's nothing to that...
Another Lajjo flip-flop. Man if they made it an Olympic event we would enter Laj as the GS representative :maulvidis
Originally posted by Anwaar Qureshi: *
read again sir:) i said "to let the person **know*" which does not enforce anything :-)
plus read again the part where i said "no one should not and must not force"
I read that, i was just agreeing with that part and elaborating specifically as it was a bit hidden in your post.
hmmmm marriage shouldn't start on conditions you cannot wholeheartedly fulfil....
if they dont like u and appreciate you for what you are now... they wont later either