Worst piece of parenting advice you were ever given.

Re: Worst piece of parenting advice you were ever given.

it nothing fancy. goondho maida with water and then add olive oil

shukriya. Aap ko aatay kee maalish kerwani hai? :p

no my mil told something else also shid besan pata nhi kya, but 2 to 3 things thi

have you ladies heard of the sack of rice trick to roundify the head of the baby?

oh yes, ppl do this in pakistan n even some ppl put plate under the head

even in my vilalge baby is kept in tht swing made of duppata n tied with charpi or manji whatever

Aap director na hote aur ek member hote to main apki iss Parenting section ka Moderator banane ki purzor Himayat karta:omg:

Bhai you know too much about parenting…good for kids:k:

Shukriya ninja sahab :D

grandma used to do it on the eldest sister ... and she never needed to wax/ bleach or anything ever!! :(

Yes :rolleyes:.

One aunty had asked me to make my baby sleep on a sack of rice so her shapes up. I’m like why don’t u do that woman? :mad:

Thn again we hear to press forehead also for makng it flat

I thought the flatter the back of the head the prettier it is? So confusing. My mom wants to do to it when my son is born...she did it with me and I turned out fine...but I don't want to do it to my son just cos it sounds weird lol.

I'm worried about the hairy baby thing - the baby girls in my family are born looking like porcelain dolls, literally - they're GORGEOUS. But all the boys look like mushed up, old hairy men. =/ Might try the atta thing haha.

Nothing harm in flattening the back of head, it's very common in Pakistan, even simple head support works for me just make sure baby is lying straight

atta waxing of baby fuzz, plate on head, chawal sack, coin with vicks on bellybutton wrapped.. serious wtf stuff.

Queer these are old school remedys you can say desi totkay, but woh buzrg khatay hann k aj kal k bachay inn ko dakya nusi Marty han

well if you go old school enough, they had stuff like giving afeem (opium) to baby so that it doesnt cry at nights. old school doesnt mean necessarily right.

Did I said that they all are correct, I m just saying k these are still practiced in our country, because are elders believe in then, it depends on parents wht they want to do or not.

I dint do tht plate thing, my mil said Han hamari kyun suno gi Hum tu hay h purana zamanay k, thn again give baby raw egg for tummy upset no I didn't.

the atta thing might remove the fine vellus hairs of a baby's face and body but preventing facial/body hair in the future... uh right.

i'd like to know how people claim they know it works. did they do half their baby's body and leave the other half to see if there is any difference in adulthood?

Guilty of the rice sack thingy!! My baby had the toaster head shape going but it helped!!!!

Oh and someone told me many times to shape my daughters nose so its nice n khari.. Uhh no thanks!! Why would I fix Allah's creation. I have a lifetime to screw her up lol I keed!!!

some of the famous advices that I heard are:

1) During the solar or lunar eclipse, the expecting mother and father to be must remain inside and lie flat till the eclipse is over to avoid any damage to the baby. My wife actually strictly followed it for a while for our first baby till she was stiff

2) You must give your infant (less than 6 months) water in addition to milk.

3) Those kids who eat spicy food start talking early

I shaped my baby's head. They sell a pillow that helps with that at babies r us. My son was born with messed up head.. lol.

Also, my son was severly constipated when he was 2 months old... so much that we had to rush to ER.. ahem.. but his doc said its okay to give few ounces of water that'll help him. He was a neonatologist.