Worst piece of parenting advice you were ever given.

Inspired by an article in yahoo.

Here is to give you a kick start

“Don’t reach above your head when you’re pregnant or the baby’s cord will get tangled around his or her neck.” - Karla

“Don’t tell the daycare that your kids have autism!” - Mary

“Give your newborn water when he wakes up in the middle of the night so that he will learn that it wasn’t worthwhile to wake up.” - Rebecca

“Squirt your kids with water when they misbehave, just as you would with a pet you are training. Squirt squirt!” - Kymberly

" ‘Let them cry it out, it’s good for their lungs!’ Okay, so I’ve said this too but it’s totally stupid advice. How is crying good for anyone’s lungs?? Sheesh!" - Krista

“I was told by a friend to ‘let them make their own decisions and then teach them if they make a mistake.’ But it ended up in practice just meaning ‘no boundaries.’ We stopped visiting after that.” - Jeff

“When my older daughter was 6 months old, I was nursing her and she bit me with her brand new tooth–hard enough to draw blood. One of my co-workers told me to bite her back. My 6-month-old! The thought of actually biting my child makes me sick to my stomach.” - Michelle

“Hit your kid to teach him/ her that hitting is bad.” - Alexandra

“Let them cry it out. Painful for both of us!” - Lisa

“My doctor told me: ‘Don’t ever let your heart rate get over 140 beats per minute.’ Who are they kidding? My heart rate gets that high carrying laundry up the stairs!” - Megan

What’s the worst piece of parenting advice you’ve ever been told?

Re: Worst piece of parenting advice you were ever given.

"Don't too too much for your children. They'll never appreciate it or pay your back."

Something I will never agree with.

"when your children get a nose bleed, put them under the shower. "

"let your baby eat as much mirchain as you eat"

"children don't need to brush their teeth"

Nj u need to change your social circle asap :hehe:

I remember that :D

Yes, I thought you would :D

"house pets can never hurt children"

"bacha jo bhi khata hai us ko khanay do"

‘nlhane k bad iske mo mai phonkh maro tke talu wapis uper chalajae’:smack:

Dont put your baby in walker before 9 months else her legs will have some problem.

Lolz my baby already started taking step after hitting 9 months so yeah I didn't put her in walker after tht

'give her sugar water when she cries and u cant nurse her' why not formula instead?

Haha devi..and
'dont let her put weight on her legs dant mushkl se niklainge' lol

this has some truth to it. walkers are counter-productive.

"Don't eat any ginger or else your baby will be yellow"

Don’t use a scissors or cut with a knife during a lunar eclipse, or else your child will be born with a birth defect

For colic/gas…put a dab of Vicks on the belly button, put a coin on top of that and wrap tightly around the baby’s waist..the pressure will release the gas

filed both away under WTH :smack:

"let them cry it out"
whatever. you cry it out. i'll raise my child with as few tears as possible*, thanks!

i also hate when people pressure me to do things because "its the norm."
no, i'm fine with co-sleeping until he's ready to move into his crib.
no, he's fine eating solids when i say so, and not when you think so.
**no, **he's NOT going to eat crap just because you think he's "being deprived of fun." please. when you have a child, you can raise them on cake and pepsi and we'll see how you handle it.

the worst is when people who have no kids step up to share their advice**. AS IF. birth one and then you'll see raising a child is about more than the stereotypes you see around you.

insha'Allah!
some people, i should say. lots of other people i know who don't have kids yet are more sensible and have given great advice and help and offered a fresh perspective on things, i'll admit.

A family friend once told me to do that "attaa" massage on my baby to get rid of her baby hair (she had some on her forehead) ... she further explained to do it ALL over her body ... even "down there" and that way my baby would never get any body hair.
I was in shock.

^ ok color me senseless, but isnt atta massage like a norm :P? serious question here

"chorr dou, iss ko janay dou"

"aap iss ko kyon nahi janay de raheen?" with a surprised look on their face ......... when I am trying my best to keep my toddler not get close to the stairs/open doors.

What is Atta massage?:konfused:

i never heard about it

Lolz my baby was already taking steps after 9 months