world famous Toy Train ride thru the neighbouhood...close enuf?

**salaam dosto,

they say “getting there is half the fun” and i affirm that YES, it is! i’m talking about the world heritage railway’s narrow guage line from Silliguri to Darjeeling in India which runs the world renowned Toy Train. Its safe to say that no visit to magistic India is complete without a trip to the wunderland to witness the marvells of engineering in action…that is…the Toy Train.

in this clip that u r about to see is amazing as to how close the tracks are to the stores and how people accomodate the passing of the train which seems like the passage thru their homes and businesses. at one point u’ll notice that the guy is squeezing his body in order to avopid being hit by the train while he is standing in his own business place…nothing can get that close!

Enjoy!!!**

Re: world famous Toy Train ride thru the neighbouhood…close enuf?

I have this on a Video cassette
Its a documentary on Indian Railways by the National Geographic team
its really amazing

P.S.
Dude post this in the video gallery :smack:

yes, me too. i saw this long time ago but posted today…yaar itna Hitler na bano…Ghareeb aadmii huN apni chhatra chhaayaa meN jeeno do :slight_smile: next time … may be! :stuck_out_tongue: :cb:**

i can fight the mods
on your behalf

but you have to pay me :fatee:

oh i can steal their food:phati:

Re: world famous Toy Train ride thru the neighbouhood...close enuf?

wow...cool but dangerous.

that train is so scary and was so close to that guy and his shop!

WOW that’s close :eek:

it would be pretty scary sitting on that train too!

rishwat? :o chalo Theek hai par meraa kaam ho jaanaa chaahiye…pakkaa na? :)**

its safe for passengers inside though lol haha…this train has been running for about 90 years and rarely there is any serious accident coz the speed of the train isn’t high enuf…imagine a derailment if the train had a higher speed :frowning:

yep…i’ve yet to take this trip…i’m going to India iA in January but at that time of the year the service is unpredictable due to snow in the mountains. i just wish i hop on this train today :slight_smile:

yes, u can…but there is police on the train who will catch ya and ask for the bribe…carry some extra dimes N nickles … hehe**

yep…u can rub shoulders with gals on the ground haha :cb:

lolzz

yeah i know :eek:

nah…its fun…loads of fun coz the train loops, zigzags, backtracks during its ascend/descend to/from the end of line 7000+ feet up and taht too at a slow speed and it allows passengers to get off the train look around down the steep mountain and hop back on the train.: here is another clip for u. the operation of this 112+ years old steam engine in itself is quite interesting:

This animated clip gives u fairly good idea from a great vintage point as to what the journey involves, the climb, the landscape, the houses, the road that run parallel, tunnels, viaducts and the famaous GHOOM LOOP which is at a higher level [7, 400 feet] than the destination, the holiday resort city of the indian elite, Darjeeling at 6 800 feet [famous for Darjeeling Tea Plantations…which is so romantic.[/COLOR]

here, two people stand in the front and sprinkle sand on the tracks for a better traction.

along with a tourist narration:

city of Darjeeling traffic alongside the train…Amazing video :slight_smile:

where this BABY steam engine gets its power to climb 7500 feet

Awesome !

thank you Sheyn :)