World Cup 2002 --- Quarter Finals

Originally posted by UMAIR316:
Germany wins wohoo!
What was that, Ronaldinho being given red, really stupid decision by the idiotic referee but Brazil showing their true colors and dominated the match, well played.
Sad to Seaman leave, it was one bad mistake and I'm preety sure he will be remembered for that and not remembered for his great performances in previous matches in this cup.

Tommorrow, I want Spain to win please.
I don't know who should I root for in Senegal vs Turkey match as I like them both very much.

He made a big mistake against the Sweds as well.
Don't forget that.

WatCh youR tHoughtS; they become words.
WatCh youR wOrdS; they become actions.
WatCh youR aCtiOns; they become habits.
WatCh youR hAbiTs; they become character.
WatCh youR chaRactEr; it becomes your dEsTinY."

Originally posted by Peoples Champ:
**USA outplayed Germany... what is with them and outplaying every team?

But thankgoodness, the US are out. They have been luckey throughout, and eventually luck dies out.

It will be Brazil vs. Turkey, Germany vs. Spain tomorrow!**

When US played BAD then won during group matches just by luck and the day the played well, they LOST it...funny !!!!
Definitly USA played better than germany but what matters is the GOAL and GERMAN did it.

[This message has been edited by andha_qanoon (edited June 21, 2002).]

Yeah but i just wanted to reach in the TV and pimp slap the espn commentrators..I mean nationalism is fine but sheesh…I ams urprised those guys dinn start dragging in WW2 in their commentary

surely ESPN can show the public that they really do care for the world cup and get some better commentrators.

ESPN needs anchors who actually something about football rather than the 45 year old MLS rejects who don't know crap about football outsdie North America.

Pakistan Ka matlab Kya?
La Illaha Illalah!
Hindustan Ka Matlab Kya?
Ham Ko kya, Bhatr mai Ja!

Root for Senegal

I am not too certain about this but I think if they advance tomorrow, it will be the first time any African nation will have made it that far. Certainly would be a first for Senegal. They have done extremely well to be in the same group as Brazil, Germany, Korea, Turkey, Spain. I would love for Turkey to win too, I truly respect their team. But it would be such a boost for all of Africa to have Senegal advance that far into the Semis.

Germany won that's real bad, this time I was hoping that USA would win, coz they would have lost their next game, no way they would become world champions, BUT now the Germans are a step closer to the world cup, what I know about Germans is that they would get very ambitious at the end and I think they have a huge chance to WIN, gosh this is depressing first F1 and now Football, next we will see them scoring in winter games, which sucks for us, please someone stop the insanes from winning. :~p

If Turkey wins tomorrow, we all will be trapped at home, one thing for sure the one million turkish population will conquer the streets, hey where is my emergency food kit j/k

We lost!

Never mind though, as they say the best team won, England weren’t good enough, but you gotta feel for the team, specially poor Seaman. As for the people worrying about the riots, I don’t think there will be any, people down here are pretty Proud of their team, for getting this far. For the teams left, I certainly don’t want the Germans to win it, Brazil will be fine.

Now my commentary about the england - brazil match today. England was good, Brazil was better, this one brazilan player who was acting (3 x) as though he was injured was getting on my nerves, he should have shown the red card, I don't like the brazlian team, my vote went for the english team, Beckham was cute in his hairstyle, first time saw him play. BUT at the end they were all CRYBABIES, you guys lost so go with dignity, no they had to cry in front of everyone, they were still cute, they have my sympathy.

You just have no idea what the World Cup means. You probably think ‘its just a game’. Typical woman..

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

Sorry, I’m really confused here - where did the ‘typical woman’ comment come from?

mostly an uneventful match so far btw Korea and Spain... but some close calls for Spain. Wonder if it'll go into overtime?

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/korea.jpg

Koreans gather in the centre of Seoul to watch the match against Spain

Holy $h17

Pakistan Ka matlab Kya?
La Illaha Illalah!
Hindustan Ka Matlab Kya?
Ham Ko kya, Bhatr mai Ja!

Insha'Allah Korea will win... is it just me or were a few of the Spanish players acting extremely immaturely - when for eg., Morientes was caught offside by the Trinidadian linesman and he started screaming at him. I might be very wrong but even if he was not genuinely offside, I doubt screaming at the poor linesman is going to resolve much of anything... Morientes got yellow carded for that. The main referee, (Ghanem Ghanour?) is really good, really like him.

now into penalty shoot-outs..

Korea v Spain was good.

happy for Korea

I was rooting for Korea and glad that they are through. Well played.

Originally posted by SaadiaB:
** BUT at the end they were all CRYBABIES, you guys lost so go with dignity, no they had to cry in front of everyone, they were still cute, they have my sympathy.

I think this is not fair. Every team that qualifies for the WC is some sort of high expectations and that they lost and didn't qualify I think it's human behaving like this.
Same goes for other teams, like today Spain.

I must say I didn’t expect South Korea to win today and neither did they really deserved it. Although totally at their side they didn’t show the game they played in the previous games. The disallowed goal should have been the turning point in this match but as the FIFA officials have shown lack of responsibility the count goes on!
South Korea has been extremely lucky this time. No doubt!
Phir bhi CONgraz to them

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hula.gif

At least I’m HAPPY for South Korea and I hope this team will show more of it’s offensive play and fighting spirit against GERMANY otherwise we’ll see the very lucky Germ(an)s in FINAL.

USA were supposed to win the way they played....they were on attack the whole time n the thing they lack was LUCK....maybe next time.... but if someone watched the match they can say...they would've beaten Germany something like 4-0...

Spain lost to S.Korea in penalty shootout...
Maybe some asian team can make into finals this time...

Italian club kicked out the korean player who scored the golden goal in Italy vs S.Korea game....weird

~~Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam~~
~~Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa~~